3.3

Created with Sketch.
175 reviews
51%
would repurchase
3.6/5
package quality

price range
$34.00 on Macy's
Shop Now

Reviews


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

I got this as a free gift from Ulta. I generally wouldn't ever buy such a mask, because peel-off masks have ALWAYS seemed like a useless gimmick to me. Literally, from I was about 10, when I first got to know about them. The reason: they don't supply the skin with anything useful - a moisturizer would be 100x more effective. Second, they don't remove anything from the skin besides some tiny hairs and oil (temporarily). They don't even pull out sebaceous filaments (gunk and hair from pores, not really necessary to remove) - stretchy textures aren't useful for that. They can irritate the skin because they pull on tiny hairs on the face - the skin doesn't like that. Also, the are unnecessarily messy - they take time to dry, and then there's always some tiny pieces that have to be washed away, and that to me is just annoying. At least, this mask dissolves fairly quickly. I guess the only useful thing about this could be that if you have flaky skin, this could peel off some of that and make your skin feel smoother, but if you use good skincare, that shouldn't be the case. Last thing: why is this SO EXPENSIVE?? I would much rather just use good skincare that I can apply and leave on my skin to work. Don' know why I even opened the tube of this - should have given it away to someone who likes seeing their face with a layer of black on it. Maybe it could have brought some joy to some person who doesn't know much about skincare.

About reviewer (567 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown



1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

Cheap, plasticky peel-off mask. This is a black mask. Meaning, this will stain EVERYTHING. I found it to be a goopy mess to apply to skin. Took longer than 30 minutes for it to dry. And then when I peeled it off, my skin looked exactly the same. No difference whatsoever.

About reviewer (3091 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairOther, Straight, Fine

EyesOther


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

While this did make my skin look rather bright(er) and overall fresh, it’s not worth the price. This did nothing for my pores nor “deep cleansed” them at all. Not to mention the amount of product you have to use to get it to work properly? You get maaaaybe 5/6 masks out of the whole bottle. For $36 plus tax you’re better off going to your local CVS and getting a clay mask that works and does better. I recommend the Amazonian clay mask in the large white tub. ;)

About reviewer (19 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

Thick black gel like mask....my skin looked fresh after

About reviewer (1023 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

OK, I purchased this product a week ago and I’ve been using it as suggested on the packaging (1-2 weeks). I have noticed a slight difference in my skin but not enough to be worth the $45 CAN (the retail price at Sephora). First of all, you need to apply a generous layer of product to the face so it can dry and peel correctly. I find that the amount of product needed is a lot, so you’re not getting many uses out of the bottle. I’ve used it a few times and think I’m about 3/4 through. So, the value isn’t great for the little product you’re getting. Secondly, the smell is BAD. It reminds me of the white school glue we all used as children. I felt like I was putting glue on my face. I don’t know what it is, but something in this product makes my eyes sting terribly. I have to close my eyes if I’m using this mask because it legit feels like I’m chopping onions. I’ve read tons of reviews online where many people complained about the same thing. The bottom line is, it’s an expensive school glue that hurts really bad. Yes, my face feels slightly nicer. I feel like it might remove some whiteheads, blackheads or other gunk lurking in my pores but not as much as a good clay mask like Queen Helene’s Mint Julep (a fraction of the cost of Boscia’s mask) or GlamGlow if you’re feeling fancy. The peel off option is what drew me the most to this mask because it’s easy to remove compared to the hassle of washing your face. But even then, I find it was difficult to peel off around the edges and I had to use cotton pads and toner to scrub the bits that didn’t come off. Save your money and your tears, buy a good clay mask that would do the job more effectively - not a fancy school glue.

About reviewer (24 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

HairBlack, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I am not a fan of this mask: If I use a small amount to form a think layer on my face, it is an absolute pain to peel off. If I use a lot, I get a thick enough layer that is easy to peel off, but the chemicals in the mask actually release "fumes" that irritate my eyes. Plus, it get stuck in my hairline, making it even more painful to peel off. And, I just don't like the feeling of it my skin. I now use locally, on my nose and a bit across my cheeks. I think this is still better/less harmful to my skin than the nose-strips. (such a shame nose-strips are actually bad for our skin, I liked using them.) I don't think this is any more effective than a drug-store brand is. My skin isn't left anymore luminous after using it than it usually is before using it. Last but not least, the regular size tube is expensive. After this is finished, If i feel the need for another peel-off mask in the future, I am going for a drug-store brand (preferably a gentler variety).

About reviewer (84 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I thought this mask was a gimmick but it actually works. I purchased the Sephora Skin Food kit and it was included, so I had to try it out! I actually used every other product before bothering to give it a shot. It's my first peel-off mask and I like that it's actually able to be peeled off, though it takes a pretty thick layer to make it happen. My first application was on the thin side, so I ended up rinsing off more than I was able to peel away. The second time, I applied an extra thick layer which was just the right consistency to properly peel it away. My skin felt softer, smoother and any breakouts were reduced quickly and faded away. I keep hoping to see more "goo" in the peel but considering all the masking, scrubbing, exfoliating in my routine, I guess I should be pleased I don't. I like this mask and will buy the full size.

About reviewer (448 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinVery Oily, Dark, Warm

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Black Elmer’s Glue anyone? This feels and smells like I’m spreading glue on my face only it’s a very glossy black and kind of fun. It’s surprisingly easy to spread and in fact I had it dripping all over my bathroom counter because I didn’t realize it was thinner than I anticipated. The pros: easy to apply, spreads evenly, not much required to coat entire face, dries fairly quickly, easy to peel off/remove once you get it started, skin feels super soft afterward, very clean, once removed and air hits your face it has a cooling sensation. The cons: heavily scented (glue), stings a bit when peeling off - like a bandage, if you accidentally get a drop of water on the mask it will go back to gel state but does dry down again, skin can be a bit red afterward depending on sensitivity of your skin. I have dry skin and while it wasn’t that harsh, it did pull quite a bit of dry flakes from my skin (pretty decent exfoliator) and also deep cleaned my pores.

About reviewer (950 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

(Let's be honest, this product is hilarious. Sometimes -- just for fun -- I'll smear on a mustache and beard and waltz around my house and terrorize my family. It's great.) REVIEW: This Boscia Luminizing Black Mask gets novelty points for making the majority of my face a rift in the space-time continuum (if only for <30 minutes). It's a pretty nice product, I got this as part of a GWP Sephora kit packed with other get-ready goodies. It works best after steaming your face and opening your pores if you want to evict those blackheads from your face. The most satisfying thing about this product (and all other peel-off masks) is stripping it all off and looking at all the gunk and residue that it took with it. It's okay. We all do it. It's basically a Biore pore strip for your face with a punk aesthetic.

About reviewer (194 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This mask is dangerous; especially if you tend to have some soft facial hair-which most of us do. This review goes for any black/peel off mask on the market. The act of peeling the mask will pull out the tiny hairs on your face which leave the pore irritated and more open for other bacteria and dirt to get inside causing deep cystic pimples and irritation. I used this mask specifically for black heads around my chin and jaw line, and ended up with some serious pimples that took me at least 30 days to get rid of. Gentle exfoliation and an alcohol free toner will do just as good of a job without the risk of creating more pimples and clogged pores than before using this mask. ANALYZE YOUR SKIN PRIOR TO USING PEEL OFF MASKS!!! I promise it will save you a month of staring in the mirror hoping that you could take back the skin you peeled off in the first place.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.