3.9

Created with Sketch.
2206 reviews
70%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range
$23.00 on Nordstrom
Shop Now

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

I've been using this on and off for a good ten years. I now find it too cakey for under-eye use, and it tends to break out the sensitive parts of my chin. For these areas, I use my Bare Minerals Foundation Stick. I use this on sunspots, and it works, layered with a dab of powder. Will use this up, but I find that my foundation stick, coupled with the powder and a bit more patience, would probably do the same job with fewer products.

About reviewer (133 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesGray



4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 months ago

Bought this last week after a break of about 10 years during which I mainly used wand concealers. I stopped back then because I found it made my undereye area look very dry and lined but I do like the coverage of a thicker product so I thought I'd give it another go. I use C40 Studio Fix powder but the MAC artist matched me with NW25 as the red tones are better for covering dark circles. I bought NW30 because I often wear concealer without foundation and this shade was a better match to my skin tone. I love the thickness of this product because it stays where you place it, unlike wand concealers which I sometimes find easy to overapply and then spend far too long on a workday morning trying to blend. To compensate for the thickness you do need to apply a decent amount of moisturiser/eye cream (but not too much) and wait a few minutes for it to absorb, to help the concealer go on smoothly. I use my ring finger or a brush to apply, then tap and blend with my ring finger. This concealer is quite matte so you need very little powder, if any, to set; too much will definitely highlight lines. I tend to apply the concealer, leave it a few minutes, then pat it down again before the lightest dusting of powder if it looks as if it's settled into undereye lines. It always takes me a few attempts to get a new concealer to work for me, but less is definitely more with this product. You don't need a lot for good coverage, and I've found it wears well through the day without caking if I get it right. I've got a couple of wand concealers on the go but I will continue to use this product on days when I need more coverage or don't have a lot of time. Glad I've rediscovered this classic!

About reviewer (126 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Olive, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

I have very dark under eye circles and this product really does the most at covering it up. I’m NC40 and use NW35 as a concealer. It doesn’t cover the circles completely (colour corrector needs to be used too) but it’s really does a great job. The consistency is almost like a clay, it’s thick but applies smoothly to the skin. I’ve had my pot for almost 6 years! You really don’t need to use a lot of product so it lasts a loooong time. I bake with this concealer too and it works well. The packaging is so durable, almost indestructible!

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

10 months ago

TL:DR If you have ever wondered how other people use concealer and their flaws disappear and they look incredibly natural- this is that concealer for me. Perfect consistency- Waxy, Stiff and dry. Good packaging. Decently inexpensive. Blendable without disappearing. I recently tried a list of concealers: Clea De Peau which was too dry, Kevyn Aucoin which blended away to nothing, Maybeline Fit Me that did nothing, and Nars Soft Matte Pot which left me confused. All the while I was comparing them all to this gem- backwards logic apparently. I've used this off and on the past 10 years and whenever I'm on again with it I wonder why I ever stopped. Whenever I think of the perfect concealer consistency for my skin it is: Waxy, stiff and just a little bit dry. This stuff manages to tick all the boxes. While the NC-15 foundations no longer match me perfectly, somehow the concealer in this shade does. It blends in perfectly over bare skin and over makeup. This is 100% my skin but better concealer. That unicorn that just blends in and hides what I need to hide and I can go coverage free elsewhere. The plastic lid will pop out if you arent careful but, otherwise, I love this format. So easy to pack and go for quick touchups. Price is decent for how much product you actually need to use. 10/10 HG

About reviewer (107 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I have the shade NC10 which is rather pink toned, so not a good match for my yellow/ neutral toned fair skin. I only use a little bit for concealing pimples and hyperpigmentation marks OVER foundation. It's creamy. I'd say it's medium coverage. I have also tested this as an under-eye concealer but it creases like no tomorrow. You have to pat it in way too many times to get it to sink in and not crease as much (even with powder on). It doesn't work under foundation as a spot concealer for me because if you spot conceal and then apply foundation, the foundation will move the concealer.

About reviewer (83 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I have used this in both NW 20 when I was pale and in NW 30 as my current color; no creasing whatsoever. Also, why don’t all concealers have SPF in them that is such a great feature! I apply this very heavily under my foundation, whether it is the powder plus or one of my many liquids. Then I just blend blend blend my foundation on top. I make sure I use a nice moisture eye cream underneath —- total perfection. This is one of the few that actually does not crease at all despite the many claims of others! Also, it is so easy to get your specified color once you know your true Mac shade!

About reviewer (389 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I use this to carve out my brows. Once i actually cried and it messed up my undereye concealer ( pro longwear in nw20) so i dabbed a bit of this concealer in nc20 under my eyes and it worked pretty good. The reason i use a nw under the eyes is because i feel its more brightening. Nc20 looks a bit too yellow for under the eyes. Anyways this concealer is on the drier side so i dont tend to use this for under the eyes. I only would spot conceal or carve the eyebrows. Its wonderful for those purposes. Edit- its too drying. Ive been using the Soft Ochre paintpot to carve the brows and it works fine. I no longer need this. Will be returning.

About reviewer (425 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

Have bought a few times in the past. Does not last very long even after setting with powder. Also settles into creases and accentuates any lines. Doesn't cover dark circles will need to use colour corrector in conjunction with this

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Olive

HairBlack

EyesBlack


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

This is another great concealer by MAC. I bought it because I wanted something that is easier to apply than Pro Longwear. This stuff is definitely easy to apply and you only need the tiniest amount so it is great value for money. That tiny pot will last for ages! This concealer lasts the whole day and gives good coverage. I find it to be particularly suitable for us oily types. As other people have pointed out, it WILL crease under the eyes, which is the reason I won’t give it 5 lippies. You will need to keep your under eye area well moisturized (which most people should be doing regardless ;) ) but even then it will crease a bit. But I can live with that. Good stuff!

About reviewer (113 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

I have very dark under eye circles and the occasional isolated red/whitehead pimple and I find this concealer to be one of the best out there in addressing these problem ares. It is very heavy duty but not too cakey and tends to stay put for much of the day. I find it's also a great multitasker: it makes a perfect eyelid primer before applying eyeshadow, and I also apply a small amount around my lips which prevents lipstick from bleeding. The main con (and it is a big one) is that it creases quite easily under the eyes. You definitely need to keep your skin well moisturized before applying. It's also not the easiest to apply. You can most likely use a brush if you loosen it up with a bit of fluid first, but I tend to simply apply with the pad of my middle finger as this heats it up easily and gives it a looser structure. It's not the cheapest of concealers but equally it's not one of the most expensive. The packaging is fine and robust, though there's no applicator included, and I've got through at least ten of these without ever breaking the small tub. I've been using this for years and it remains my go-to concealer but I would love to find something that gives me all the pros of it while also addressing the creasing issue. I use NW20 and find this is the perfect match for my skin. The shade range is fairly decent.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.

The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us