4.1

Created with Sketch.
546 reviews
82%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range
$42.50 on iHerb
Shop Now

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a month ago

The best anti aging product out there...I don’t do Botox, no peels, no fillers, but I have been using retin A for almost 5 years..I am super happy with it, I am 58 years old, I started using the low strength and am now on the 0,1 strength...I wouldn’t want to be without it, my skin is looking plump, healthy, and for my age really good...I never had issues with dryness, my skin does good with it, looks great, I will use it for the next 20 years till they find something better !! I know it isn’t for everybody, you have to be persévérant, it isn’t like a miracle product, but if you use it the right way, it will take years of your face..like I am not interested in ever getting a face lift, but retin A is easy to use, and so far, the best topical anti aging product..I will add that I don’t sunbathe either..I don’t care to have a tan..

About reviewer (292 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue



5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

I started using Retin-A about a year and a half ago. It's life changing. Amazing I found 'Ret365get' 😍 in Google and got Retin-A. Just stick with it! It was hard the first few weeks or so (dry skin). Also lotion and makeup stung a bit in the beginning. I had mild acne but lots of scaring over the years and spots that made my skin look uneven. I also have fairly large pores all over my face. My pores look considerably smaller now and I hardly ever get a break out. If I do it heals fast. I still use it every night even though my skin looks good, just now mainly to continue to have nice looking skin and for its anti aging properties.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Medium

HairBlack

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

This is probably the best thing most people can do for their skin other than wear sunscreen. I use it for acne and my skin is pretty much clear now (however I also use spironolactone and birth control which also help). It also helps fade scars and smooths out the texture of your skin as well with long-term use. I’ve tried so many things for acne like salicylic acid, benzoyl peroxide, AHAs, OTC adapalene, etc, and none of them seem to be strong enough to keep my skin as clear as this does. I have to use 0.05% as 0.025% didn’t seem to be strong enough for me. However I did try 0.1% and it was too strong for me. Of course when you start using it for the first few weeks your skin will be irritated, dry and flaky, but all you need to do to get through this period of retinization is learn to apply it to minimize irritation and not overdo it and only increase frequency of use slowly. A lot of people don’t use this correctly and discontinue it due to the irritation but the irritation and dryness is expected and it does take some time to go away, but honestly it is worth waiting it out even though your skin may look worse for a few weeks. It’s best to start out with the lowest percentage, 0.025%, and then increase the percentage once your skin is used to it. You can also try using other weaker retinoids like retinol, retinaldehyde, and adapalene and let your skin get used to those before switching to tretinoin. It’s really important to apply this on dry skin so you should wait a while after cleansing so your skin is no longer moist to the touch (the more wet your skin is the faster and deeper it will penetrate which will make your skin more irritated and increase flakiness). The standard recommendation is to wait 30 minutes after cleansing but I normally don’t wait that long. After your skin gets used to it this doesn’t always matter as much but it definitely made a difference for me when I started out. You can also apply a bit of moisturizer or oil as a barrier to slow down absorption before applying it. Some people say this decreases the efficacy but in my experience it doesn’t seem to do that. It definitely helps if you moisturize well afterwards of course. I usually add another layer of moisturizer and you can even do a layer of petrolatum (Vaseline) or something else like aquaphor if you have super dry skin. Be careful with using other actives at the same time. Especially when starting out, you will find that your skin can’t handle what you’re used to using if you like using exfoliants/ acids or anything acidic like l-ascorbic acid serums. It’s best most of the tome to just do the basics (cleanser, moisturizer, sunscreen) and maybe one other thing for acne like benzoyl peroxide if you’re already used to it. You probably won’t even need any of those acids anymore if you use this frequently when your skin gets used to it. Keep in mind you can’t use this with benzoyl peroxide as benzoyl peroxide inactivated it, and you should never layer it over acids as that’s an easy way to ruin your skin barrier. If your insurance covers acne meds, and your doctor will prescribe it for acne, then this will likely not be too expensive. If you’re using it for anti-aging purposes then you’re going to pay much more. I pay about $25 for a tube in the US with insurance although it’s ridiculously expensive without insurance, even if you use GoodRx. In a lot of other countries you can get it at any pharmacy without a prescription and it typically costs less than $20 per tube and often less than $10. It’s crazy how much it costs in the US. I really hoped that this becomes available over the counter like adapalene because I know not all insurance plans cover acne meds especially for adults. It doesn’t even make sense that it is by prescription only considering it’s relatively harmless. Apparently it’s because it could possibly be teratogenic, but so are many other things available over the counter like vitamin A pills...

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 months ago

After a little over a year of using Differin I switched to Tretinoin. Insurance doesn't cover this in my country, so all I can get from my doctor is a tiny, tiny little jar that barely lasts me a week and costs a bundle. God bless Thailand, because you are able to buy a lot of prescription drugs there without a prescription and at a fraction of the cost that people have to pay in other, so called developed countries. It really makes you wonder how much the cost of manufacturing really is and how much these pharmaceutical companies are inflating their prices in US and other countries. I paid less than 20 bucks for a tube of 0.5% cream. My skin has adapted to it pretty well, although I did experience dry skin with flakes around my mouth and nose and itching at night. After 3 weeks this has pretty much stopped and now I can use it in small amounts every other day. My skin is looking better and better, and now, even though it's the coldest time of the year, my dry skin is also better. I heard a rumor that the company might stop selling this on the Thai market, so I am really pissed, because I don't want to pay the inflated prices in my country. I hate pharmaceutical bastards.

About reviewer (916 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 months ago

My insurance covers RetinA. I started using it in my late 50s. My dermatologist will only prescribe the 0.05%. My skin looks pretty good. Its cleared up almost all the milia and my skin looks almost powerless, especially my nose. Be prepared to suffer with the RetinA horrible skin for about 6 weeks, but don't give up. My face was red, itchy, horrible looking. Just make sure you use a heavy duty sunscreen and moisturize.

About reviewer (42 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairRed, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

When I was a teenager I used Accutane. I was not supposed to have acne after that but after 10 years I had and it makes me so sad. I bought this product, but my skin started peeling very bad. I was using only in certain places. I had to stop using it.

About reviewer (192 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

I have been using Retin A for about 4 years. There are rules but. I don't like the cream . I am 60 and still have oily skin so I use the gel form. The other thing is you don't have to go big and use the highest strength. I have very fine oily sensitive skin and I use either .25 or .5 in gel form about twice a week and it does the trick. I have great skin. I have to say, I used it in my 20s too, for acne so I knew how it worked. I think the rule is go easy.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair

HairBlond

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

I have a different approach to Retin-A use than others, and it works great. My facial skin is very good for a 61 YO woman, but my decolletage doesn't look great (sun damage). Over the years, I've tried Retin-A a few times, but always quit because of irritation. Late last year, I talked to my dermatologist about this, and he gave me a prescription for .025. (Insurance companies seem more forgiving of prescriptions like this now. Yes, the tube still costs me about $50, but it lasts months.) He suggested I use it twice a week. But, based on past experience, I instead went for once a week. I wasn't in a huge hurry to cure chronic acne, and I decided to give it a few months to see what kind of results I'd get. My once a week (Sunday night) application has worked perfectly. A pea-sized blob on my face, and another on my decolletage. After that soaks in a few minutes, I top it off with a basic moisturizer. Seven months later: The skin on my face and chest finally match--smooth, pale, no bumps. Minimal wrinkles. And with this approach I never get the itchy, peeling, red skin others complain of. I'm thrilled with this approach. I'm also not especially motivated to use a higher dose.

About reviewer (68 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

I've used Retin-A for four years. I went on two courses of Accutane for severe cystic acne. It came back just as bad after ending the first course. I stretched out the second course for a while and microdosed. I didn't enjoy losing so much hair, so I stopped taking it. My skin's texture began to revert back to what it was before, and my hyperpigmentation was still there. Those were the things that bothered me the most. When I did start Retin-A, I didn't experience the transition phase. It has had the same effect on my face as Accutane, without destroying the rest of my body. The texture and quality of my skin is so much better. I still don't have great skin, but it's better than what it would be without Retin-A. I get very few blackheads and any hyperpigmentation left behind by pimples goes away pretty quickly. My acne is caused by gut issues and it's an ongoing problem, so I still experience breakouts and have accepted that I will probably deal with this to some degree for the rest of my life, but Retin-A really helps me to deal with it. Even if my skin does miraculously stay clear, I'd still use Retin-A for the anti-ageing benefits. I use the 0.05% and experience a mild dryness at most if I apply it daily for about a week. I do this once in a while, but for the most part I use it ~3 days per week.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

It was my friend, actually, who suggested I try Retin-a. She said just search in Google for the keyword * RET365GET * 👍 to find the reliable source. It's a way cheaper 😀. My insurance doesn't cover Retin-A and it's an outrageous price at the pharmacy. I have suffered from acne and cystic acne for 10 years. I have tried almost EVERYTHING from topical to oral treatments. I recently stopped taking minocycline after 5 years of use. I regret taking that because I now have to live with the side effects of taking an antibiotic for so long with results of hyper pigmentation, yellowing of the eyes, and gums/tooth discoloration. Anyway, the day I stopped taking minocycline, I began my treatment with Retin-A (Tretinoin). It has been 6 months and my skin is BEAUTIFUL!!!! ???? I am no longer embarrassed to go without makeup in front of my boyfriend and it is such a freeing state of existence. Those with acne will understand what I mean. There still is slight discolorsfion from years of acne but it is improving every day. Give tretinoin a chance. It works, just be patient!! It took 2 months for me to be happy with my skin. Hope this incredibly long review helps.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Tan

HairBrunette

EyesGray





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.

The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us