4.4

Created with Sketch.
365 reviews
88%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

8 months ago

EDIT MARCH 26, 2020 I don't use this for my face anymore because I think it may have actually been drying me out, and thus making my skin overproduce oil. But I am leaving my rating unchanged because it's still a great multiuse product. I still use it in a forming pump bottle (diluted) for hand soap, I wash my makeup brushes with it, I use it in my shower as body wash... I still love it. If I was desperate I would use it on my face, but I prefer it was a body product now. --------------------------------------------------------------------------- I absolutely love this product. I have been using it for the last 6 months as my face cleanser and shower gel, and I haven't looked back. I love the smell of the peppermint, and a little goes such a long way. I find it so convenient to use, and it's so much easier to have ONE product to travel with. I don't love using it for shampoo, as I find it leaves a weird film. I use this product to wash my face in the morning and night; it makes such a rich, satisfying lather. It removes makeup really well, so it is also a great product to wash my makeup brushes or sponges with too. It's my shower gel as well! I buy the giant bottles from Whole Foods and just refill a tiny 2 oz one for my sink, and a larger 8 oz one for my shower. I find it easy to shake a few drops onto my palm, rather than having a pump dispenser. A great all-around natural product that helps to simplify my routine. Just don't get it in your eyes, it seriously burns!

About reviewer (229 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Olive, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown



4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I've been using this again. Backstory- I used this over 6 months ago with some other products recommended by YouTubers skincare routines. I really wanted to clear my acne. Involved was oil cleansing with coconut oil, using this cleanser with or without a spin brush, witch hazel toner and Aloe Vera moisturizer. This worked well but I swore off it a while because while using that routine I had the worst breakout ever that lasted months. In retrospect I realize now it was all to do with PH. This cleanser is basic. Your face is acidic. This coupled with coconut oil, filled with fatty acids and it's heavy overall, caused a fungal acne breakout. Now I'm reintroducing only this cleanser because I truly believe it made my skin look amazing and cleared my acne before the breakout. Basically my skin got to its best ever point and then crashed down into its worst. Tragic. This time, I'm making sure I tone with a gentle acid after to return my skin closer to its natural PH. I do think the biggest mistake was the combination of coconut oil (which I realize now my skin dislikes) and the basic cleanser. Using it alone may be fine I just want to be careful. Pros- -cheap and lasts a long time. - I love peppermint and it's a natural product. - really clears my acne and calms my skin. Makes skin feel very thoroughly cleaned. I enjoy the cool feeling. -lathers beautifully and is very easy to use. -works amazing with a spin brush but I've stopped using mine. -can also be used for basically anything else. Dishes, cleaning, hand soap etc. Cons- - a lot of people say peppermint is irritating to skin, but I've personally noticed the opposite reaction in my skin. - the pH still concerns me but the acid toning should help. I use the Pixi glow tonic I'll update if anything changes drastically.

About reviewer (40 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I love, love, love Dr. Bronner Peppermint Castile Soap. This is the miracle product that does it all, and does it well. I clean with it, wash dishes, laundry, body wash, floor, you name it. I wash veggies with it. I don't know exactly how but when it says Magic Soap, it is absolutely no baloney. Love it!!!!

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairOther

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

So far I've been LOVING this!!! Thanks to my fellow MUA'ers <3 This soap works great for removing ALL makeup, and as a refreshing body wash.. I have been using this with an electric face brush and following up with Bio Oil and my skin has never looked better!! Save your pretty pennies on expensive cleansers and give this a go, a beauty holy-grail for me... and I'm PICKY with products!! Oily, Combination, Acne Prone, Hormonal acne approved!!!

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

So far no complaints. I have been using this soap as a face wash to help my cystic acne. I have not seen any clear up but it does sooth my face . I love the peppermint and I mix a little of this stuff in my shampoo before peppermint helps hair growth. It is a bit expensive and that's why I expected more.

About reviewer (16 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I LOVE this stuff. Been using it for years and just bought another bottle. I mix a little of this with baking soda to make a really minty scrub for my body. I am one of those people who thinks the mintier the better. Sometimes I will make it so strong it brings tears to my eyes in the shower. It can be a little drying so I only use it a couple times a week. It is also not cheap but well worth it.

About reviewer (1039 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This stuff is a miracle worker! I get REALLY bad migraines, and had read that peppermint is a great natural treatment. Luckily I live in walking distance from a natural food market & they sold their biggest bottle 64 ozz? for 10 dollars on a semi annual special. A little does go a long way, and lasted about 4-5 years. I've used it for baths, laundry, cleaning my cat litter box, spot remover on carpet. This is amazing. There's always a great sale on these. I've even bought the unscented Baby (light turquoise) bottle & use that as well for laundry, spot treatment, and washing my pets.

About reviewer (14 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Fair, Cool

HairRed, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I kind of owe this stuff my livelihood. I've have very thin hair that is incredibly prone to greasiness. I had a hard time growing it out too, kind of just accepted that I'd always have short hair. There was a point where I was also scared I was going bald (from how thin my hair is). Anyway i did a little research and somehow stumbled across this. I started using it as a shampoo and my hair has drastically improved. I have long hair now, something I thought I'd never have. I no longer worry about balding. The peppermint stimulates my scalp which leads to healthy hair growth. In just 2 years of use my hair has grown to a length that i never thought possible. Also helps with the greasiness as well, which has improved my self confidence greatly. It leaves a weird feel in your hair after you wash it, but that goes away once you use conditioner. Only thing that sucks is that it burns like a mother f**cker if you get it in your eyes on accident. Small price to pay for such a wonderful shampoo. It has been a miracle product for me, and you can't beat the price. 12 bucks for a big bottle that will last you months.

About reviewer (23 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This product is so versatile. And safe especially if you have pets. I use it to wash my face, hair, floors, tub, makeup brushes, etc. I love using to wash my hot yoga clothes which can get pretty stinky if they sit too long. It really does feel squeaky clean. A bit drying and tingly but I still love it.

About reviewer (25 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This stuff is classic, has basic ingredients, and very multi-purpose. I always have the tiny ones in my bag for travel, and I refill them with a bigger sized bottle (it's most cost efficient that way). My favorite scents are rose and mint. You can technically use these for any purpose in a pinch, but it's better for some tasks than others. I've listed a few ways you can use this soap below and how well it serves that purpose: SHAMPOO: Gets the grease out, and I mean it really gets your hair squeaky clean, up till the point it can be a bit drying. If my hair really needs a good wash, I may mix this in with my shampoo, but generally, a milder hair product is probably more ideal. BODY SOAP: Perfect for this purpose. Super refreshing and clean; the peppermint one makes your skin feel so fresh and tingly! FACE WASH: Similarly to shampoo, I find this can be a bit drying for my sensitive skin. However, I've never had any severe adverse effects or rashes to this, so it can be more suitable for oilier skin types. I still use this when I have nothing else on hand to wash my face. HOUSEHOLD CLEANER: Really good! Perfect for dishes, messes, etc. Free from toxic chemicals that you wouldn't want to ingest. Also makes things smell good. SHAVING CREAM: Pretty okay in a pinch; it does what it needs to do and you can simultaneously wash your body and shave, which is nice. But I generally prefer my shaving products to be creamier and more moisturizing. So in conclusion, it is not the BEST at doing every task, but for the sheer amount of multi-purpose uses, this classic castile soap gets a 10/10 in my book!

About reviewer (5 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us