Sephora Professional Smokey Eye Brush 24

Sephora  Professional Smokey Eye Brush 24
Professional Smokey Eye Brush 24

4.3

9 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 10/17/2016 10:42:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Grey

So, this apparently no longer has the platinum handle, but a black handle; it is still called the same name, minus 'platinum' (I tried to upload a pic of the black handle version, for reference sake, but so far the photo is not showing up).

I picked this up online at Sephora for $7.00, not sure if it is being Clearanced out or just on sale, but it says the regular price is $17.00. For $7.00, this is surprisingly a very nice brush. It is "intended" to be a smoky/liner brush, but I have used it for a crease brush, to apply eyeshadow in the corners of my eyes (both inner and outer corners), and also a one-shadow brush in a pinch (my eyelids are small). It is firm yet not scratchy nor too stiff or too hard, it is soft enough, yet can pack on the shadow if needed. Quite surprised how well it works. I have not had this for a long time, so I cannot speak to any shedding, but so far, I have not experienced any shedding. It does come with some kind of plastic 'case' that covers just the brush's bristles, and that case is a bit of a pain to remove.

But all in all, if you can pick this up for $7.00, and you feel it might serve a purpose for you, I think it is a nice little brush!



on 8/9/2012 9:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this brush expecting it to work as the MAC 219 - to apply shadow on the lower lashline. It doesn't really work for my purpose. It's so stiff and has such a sharp point, it's like trying to apply eyeshadow with a toothpick. However, it is a very well-built brush, I just need to find a good use for it.


on 11/14/2009 11:48:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have lots of eye brushes, but when I wanted to achieve a softer, smokier look with my black gel eyeliner, I decided that what I needed was a "pencil" brush, and that was one eye brush missing from my arsenal.

At first I thought I'd go for the MAC 219, since I LOVE MAC brushes, and the 219 seemed to be exactly what I was looking for.

However, I'm an animal-welfare advocate, and once I found out that the MAC brush is made with "natural" fibers (a MAC artist admitted that this means animal hair), I knew I'd need to look elsewhere.

A helpful MUAer, shells08, directed me to the Sephora Smokey Eye brush, a Taklon pencil brush, and it's perfect! It even cost a few dollars less than the MAC brush.


The Sephora Smokey Eye brush is shaped like, well - a pencil. It's slightly smaller than a number two pencil, then the brushes taper to a point. The point is small, but not what Id call fine. But you wouldnt expect a fine point from a brush thats intended to produce a smudged, smoky effect, anyhow. The Taklon bristles are firm, good for blending/smudging, but soft, which feels good against the eyelid.

I use this brush in tandem with my MAC 263 small angle brush. I use the angle brush to apply my gel liner (Bobbi Brown Black Ink) right along and into the upper lash line, then I immediately(I do one eye at a time, since I need to work quickly) go over it with Stilas Ebony eyeshadow, using the Smokey Eye brush. The result is a defined but soft and natural-looking dense lashes effect.

Though I normally shop MAC when I want a great brush, I was very happy to find a good alternative in this case. I expect my Smokey Eye brush to get lots of use. I fully intend to buy this one again, when my original wears out.

This is a classic case of not knowing you needed something until you got it.
UPDATE: I have used this brush a number of times, and it is *wonderful!* It glides across your lashline, placing the liner or shadow precisely where you want it.
Knowing that it's synthetic helps me enjoy it even more.

Anyone who wants a softened effect with eyeliner should BUY THIS BRUSH, RIGHT NOW!
continued >>

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 1/24/2008 3:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this brush. I bought it for no real reason but now it is my HG brush. I like to put a light color right on my upper eyelash because it helps give the illusion of a crease (i'm asian.) This brush does it perfectly, the bristles are soft but stay in shape. The brush is thick enough so that the bristles stay firm and keep the eyeshadow right where I want it. I was shocked the first time I used it because the bristles didn't flatten out and put color all over, like my eyelashes. Most of my brushes are Shu Uemura and if this brush broke, I would run to Sephora to get another!


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

PROS: I love to use this for concealer for small areas (where I don't want the concealer to be spread on with a bigger concealer brush.) Very precise application possible. .


CONS: Came with a sliding hard "cover," but I would like better protection than that. But then, most brushes come with nothing.


ALTERNATES: If you're using this for powder application, the MAC 219 Pencil Brush is a little less "pointy" than this.


on 6/28/2010 11:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this brush,it is the best smudge brush I have ever used (include MAC219,NARS15,Laura Mercier smudge Etc.). It is soft but keep the shape very well afer washes. I use it everyday and it does its work soooo well. I will repurchase it.


on 8/14/2007 11:48:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Good quality brush, however it is identical to the eyeliner side of Stila's double ended brush, which I have also, so I won't be repurchasing. If you have Stila's brush skip this one.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 9/4/2007 4:00:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is an excellent brush for a thicker lash line and to smoke out the liner. It's super soft, dense and moderately stiff. The tip allows for precise application but not so small that you have to keep applying more product. I can use this everyday, as well as for when I want to create a more dramatic evening look. It's versatile that way. I use it with both powder liners and with loose mineral liners.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 12/18/2007 4:55:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Last time I went to Sephora, I was looking for another of their lipliner brushes to use as my liner brush for cream/gel liners. To my dismay, the store I went to didn't have it! So I picked this up instead. It is a taklon brush that starts off looking like a smudger, but comes to a fine point at the end. While this does a superior job of making *either* a thin or thick line, it is virtually impossible to get anything in-between, which is actually what I want/need. (You vary the thickness of the line based on how much you depress the bristles against the skin, much like a felt-tip pen) Nevertheless, this does get the job done, and is the superior choice for a thicker line on the upper lid. This brush actually makes quick work of starting out with a thin line on the inner corner, tapering to a thick one at the outer. While it's nice to have a specialized tool like this, for me, it wasn't 100% necessary. I still need my "thin-to-medium" line, so I still have to buy my lipliner brush. Wouldn't cry or repurchase if I lost this one, but it's nice to have and use in the meantime.

2 of 3 people found this helpful.


Popular Makeup Brushes


make-up brushes
make-up brushes
25 Reviews
#217 Blending
#217 Blending
990 Reviews
Flat Top Brush
Flat Top Brush
11 Reviews
Core Collection
Core Collection
259 Reviews
Back to Top