3.4

Created with Sketch.
51 reviews
47%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Starts off extremely herbal at the top, a bit like Fernet-like in how medicinal it is. It then settles down into a very subtle powdery smoky wood. It wears a little too quiet for me, by the time I had this on for an hour I had to bring my arm right up to my nose to see what was happening. Still a very original fragrance.

About reviewer (20 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesBlack



4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

Notes: Lichee, Cardamom, Peony, Iris, Tea Leaves, Incense (from luckyscent.com) For a supposed spiced incense and tea fragrance Dzonkha starts incredibly boozy--like a single malt scotch with dry woods and peaty smoke. The opening accord is intoxicating but short lived, and gives way to the cardamom and tea that I expected from the beginning. Soon after, the tea accord evokes a leathery quality, and combined with cardamom, woody notes and some smoke gives the impression of a dry leather chypre such as the classic Estee Lauder Azuree. Peeking out within the mid notes is an unexpected dose of pepper which carries the spice impression as the cardamom fades. The drydown is spicy, aromatic and slightly sweet with hints of unburned incense resin--at this stage, the leather quality persists along with the pepper. Dzonkha is a very enjoyable ecclectic fragrance, more dry and understated than the equally boozy, leathery, tea-tinged Parfum d'Empire Ambre Russe. Dzonkha is slightly formal in its leather character, but as easy to wear as a well-loved pair of jeans.

About reviewer (155 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Olive, Neutral

HairBrown, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

celery! yes, that is it exactly. and not that it's a bad scent, but if I was going to pick a garden scent to go with, my preference would be tomato vine. Waiting for the miraculous dry down on this one...it's taking it's time. Still celery, baby powder, spice cabinet going headache strong 1/2 hour in (which is incredibly rare on my hot, oily skin) So, lasting power is phenomenal. -------------------- ...just weird. Perfume Court, where I bought this in a sampler of Milk Notes, has it listed as containing: spices, incense, tea and milk. Spices, sure, as long as celery salt is the main spice, the rest? This is such a funky scent. I'm sure it's someone's hg. For me though it's going in the recycle to friends pile- a little too 'comfort soup' smelling to wear and feel sexy.

About reviewer (27 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Cool

HairOther, Other, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

Oh this is another love/hate one. I LOVE. It is so green on me, I get iris, incense, tea, and for some strange reason cocoanut. It is very unusual and would be edible on a man. Very evocative and I can think of nothing else like it except Timbuktu. Did I mention the smokey vetiver? no? well that too - fabulous

About reviewer (325 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

it really evokes voyage......it's a scent of ambiance, of a certain time, a certain place. I would say it is more an interesting aroma but not so much as a perfume. I would not want myself to use Dzongkha, but the scent itself is evocative, it speaks of a time, a place, a memory. if specifically decompose what Dzongkha smell like, aside from the romantize interpretation of above, it smells like rubber, wood, incense, milk tea, some distant flower. i will not buy full bottle but it is definitely a very interesting, a scent that worth you to try out.

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Dry, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlack, Curly, Fine

EyesBlack


1.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

I liked this on a brief sniff at Bluemercury, so had them decant a sample for me. Thank god I didn't buy a bottle! To me Dzongkha smells very strongly of celery with incense underneath. I'm surprised no one else here has mentioned the celery; to me it is very aggressive -- as much in front here as the green fig is in Philosykos. Anyway, I can appreciate the creativity that went into this fragrance, but emphatically not for me.

About reviewer (54 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairRed, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

As others have said, the scent truly does recall certain Buddhist temples in Asia (I'm thinking of one in Vietnam, in particular). I smell smoky tea, incense, spices, iris, and fragrant wood; after awhile it's all very dry but still delicious. I find it uniquely appealing, maybe a little cerebral, but worth owning.

About reviewer (186 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair, Warm

HairRed, Other, Other

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

I have been sampling Dzongkha and all I can smell is vetiver. My skin must just amp up vetiver. That being said this smells to similar to Coeur du Vetiver Sacre which I already own. If I didn't own and love that one, this would be FBW for sure but on my skin at least they are too similar.

About reviewer (88 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Other, Not Sure

HairRed, Other, Other

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

This must be a nice fragrance on someone. To me, it smells exactly like the chinese medicine tea I was given in Korea. AWFUL! It's got that sweetish, fennel-like, rooty, fresh-from-the-garden-with-dirt-still-on-it smell. I do NOT like that scent on my body, nor do I ever want to smell like it... but now I do! Woohoo!! And I'm on the road and can't scrub it off... glorious. However, I do give it props only because it captures the earthiness of vetiver combined with a really carroty, rooty, anise-fennel aroma with some fruitiness on top: and it completely captures the scent memory of Chinese medicine tea. A+ for effort! It's an exact replica of Chinese medicine in perfume concentration. IF you want to smell like that, here it is!!

About reviewer (255 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Other, Warm

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


1.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

Maybe it was my sample. maybe it was my chemistry, but this smelled like straight up roach spray on me.

About reviewer (80 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Dark, Cool

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown