3.6

Created with Sketch.
343 reviews
60%
would repurchase
3.6/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is my moisturizer of choice. I have combination skin and came to use this product as a result of having a facial done where the Esthetician used all Dermalogica products and recommended this one for me. It provides the perfect amount of continuous moisture for me. I have absolutely no complaints.

About reviewer (641 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Other, Warm

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown



3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I was drawn to Active Moist mostly due to all the plant derived ingredients. The beautician at my salon whittled it down to just 2 moisturizers that she thought were suited to my skin type, and based on the ingredients list I settled on Dermalogica. Having just stumbled upon the long-forgotten tube I'd stuck in the back of a pile of half used products, I thought I would finally do a write-up on this. My first attempt at applying it was on a morning - bad idea, I found it did not sink into my skin at all and just sat there, making any sunblock applied over it an impossible task. I found this unusual as the product is oil-free right? Thinking I had perhaps applied too much product I removed with a makeup wipe and applied even less this time around but the effect was the same, albeit less pronounced. The next time I applied was on an evening, at the end of my cleansing routine. This for me was more ideal as I had no other products to apply over this and could let it sink in (or not as in my case) overnight. What I liked about Active Moist the most, apart from ingredients, was the fact that it did not cause any adverse reactions - breakout, itchiness etc. It hydrated well - very well in fact, but I do feel more could be done to improve the formulation so that it doesn't sit on the skin and absorbs more readily. Reading the other reviews though I seem to be in a minority so please read my experience with an open mind. For reference I used this in May 2016 Selena x ~ My HG list ~ (As I've sampled 100s of skin, hair and m/u products over the last decade and a half, I thought it might be useful to share my top 10 must-have products, subject to change if and when I come across something more effective. I love constantly trying out new stuff - usually sample sizes via e-bay, also plenty courtesy of a friend who works at Sephora) 1. Hair Loss Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Hair Oil 2. Lip Balm: Jack Black - Intense Therapy 3. Pigmentation + Anti-Ageing Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Facial Treatment Serum 4. Cleanser: 'Paula's Choice' - Skin Balancing Cleanser 5. Concealer: ‘Mac’ - Studio Finish Concealer 6. Lash Growth Serum: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Divinelash 7. Foundation/SPF: ‘Juice Beauty’ - Stem Cellular Repair (warm glow) 8. Face Scrub: ‘Sisley' - Botanical Gentle Buffing Cream 9. Moisturizer: ‘Antipodes' - Rejoice Light Day Cream 10. Hand Cream: 'Origins' - Make A Difference Rejuvenating Hand Treatment

About reviewer (567 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Tan, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

In the summer I have oily skin, but during winter I have very dry skin on parts of my face. So when I went to a beautician in February, she recommended me this moisturizer. Directly after she applied it on my face it felt good, so I let her talk me into buying the original sized product. But unfortunately, the pleasure didn't last long. After a week of using this moisturizer, my skin began to dry out more and more. After two weeks, big, horrible breakouts started to show up (usually I never get breakouts). I thought at first that my skin has to get used to the new product. But the breakouts didn't stop after four weeks, they got worse. The pimples were so big and hurt so much! Plus, I had to use a lot of product because my skin was extremely dry. I stopped using the moisturizer after the four weeks, changed to Eucerin Dermopure and after a few weeks the pimples were all gone. Thanks to that horrible experience with dermalogica, I now have lots of ex-pimple marks on my face and no idea how to get rid of them. I can only advice everybody to stay away of this moisturizer! Or test it several weeks on a small part of your skin to see how it works for you. As for me, I will avoid dermalogica in the future.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

i have sensitive and acne prone skin. my skin is also very dry. it gives the right amount of moisture to my skin however i wished it would give me more moisture. this is the only moisturizer that wont break me out AT ALL! and it also calms my sensitive skin so overall i do like it!

About reviewer (2 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBlack


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I can't say that I am impressed with this product but I am content with it. It works ok for my combi skin. It controls my oil even without powdering for the whole day. Since it is quite expensive, I tried looking for a more cheaper alternative that will do the trick but to my dismay I could not find any :( I've tried Neutrogena, Olay and Avene but they just made me oily midday. Olay was the worst as it made me break out! Hence, I would still continue to use this product until I find a more cheaper alternative that will give me the same effect.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

An amazing product, and it's great to have in your Dermalogica collection. However, if you have very oily skin, you're better off leaving this for bedtime rather than applying it before your make-up routine. It won't help your foundation last, and I'd recommend you use Dermalogica's Oil Control Lotion instead.

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Oily, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

I purchased this moisturizer after seeing it recommended by a YouTube beauty vlogger. I was looking for something that wasn't heavy and really sinks into my skin, leaving it feeling nice and soft rather than like a tacky, uncomfortable oil slick as so many other brands do for me. Dermalogica Active Moist fits the bill. It's a lightweight formula that doesn't feel heavy at all, and it does soak right in. I can't feel it on my face after I've used it. I deducted one star from my rating because it's *slightly* irritating for me. My skin turns a little red after I use it, not sure why. It's not uncomfortable and it doesn't itch, but I do get some redness afterward. But overall, if you're looking for a good quality moisturizer that isn't heavy and feels good on your skin, this is it. I may buy it again after trying out some other brands first.

About reviewer (47 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This should not be allowed the title of 'moisturiser'. I wanted to write this really quickly as a warning to those who have been recommended to use this. Now this post isn't anti-Dermalogica in general because I have used some of their products in the past and loved them. But! This post is completely and utterly anti the products targeting oily skin, including the special cleansing gel, multi active toner and active moist (oh God the active moist). I got my oily skin type professionally analysed and was told to use these products to correct. Luckily I chose to buy a pack of travel sized products to trial before buying full size. These products have completely drained the moisture from my skin as they are far too correcting. I've been using for two weeks to allow for an adjustment period and although it's great to not have a shiny t zone come midday, I now am flaky by that time instead. My skin is sore and feels as though it will crack. The whole system is all wrong and treats oily skin like a skin demon who needs to be excorcised. I expected gentle correction but instead it flipped me to the opposite problem. And can I just say that I've never experienced this with any skincare product before. If you still would like to purchase, please save yourself the potential and highly likely regret and buy the travel pack for oily skin. It's the same price or cheaper than one full size product and allows you to make your mistake and move on.

About reviewer (26 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Olive, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This is an odd moisturizer for me. I didn't feel particularly moisturized, and I didn't care for how it felt near my eyes. They didn't burn, but they felt tight, until I washed it off. It feels good on my cheeks and chin, but again, they felt dry. It felt heavy, but not moisturizing. It wasn't moisturizing enough for winter, but too much for summer. I doubt I will repurchase.

About reviewer (61 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairRed, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

The lotion is quite expensive however i think it either works or doesn't work for you. I used the clinique gel before this, from the 3 step system however i felt that was not moisturising at all. However this lotion is very moisturising in combination with the toner. I feel like for this lotion to be most effective, it has to be used in conjunction with the other products in the line. I don't have very dry skin (except around mouth sometimes) so this was perfect for me. It was lightweight yet moisturizing enough for the climate i live in. This moisturiser doesnt break me out, and it is good before my makeup, since i put a primer as well anyways. I will most likely be purchasing the salon size next time, since it is cheaper and more worth it! :D

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown