3.7

Created with Sketch.
232 reviews
60%
would repurchase
3.5/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

I do not like the mint flavour. Moreover, the mint is not good for my dry lips, it makes it even worse. I will go back to my absolute favourite: the sisley lip balm - nothing can beat this one!

About reviewer (315 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesHazel



5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

I have chronically dry lips and am constantly trying (and reviewing!) products to help. I don't know the cause of them, and I've never found anything that made a longterm difference (many thanks to everyone here who has given me recommendations though!). At one point in time, Jack Black, AmorePacific, and Hourglass lip oil have helped, but even those don't work anymore. I held off on trying La Mer because, you know, $65 seems a lot for a balm. But then again, when you look at how much I've spent on products that don't work, I realized it was better to try La Mer, because if it worked it would save money in the end (or at least that's how I justify it). I wasn't extremely convinced it would work, but to my pleasant surprise, it has saved my lips. They used to be so dry, cracked, and peeling that I couldn't wear lipstick anymore because it applied so unevenly. So mostly I've had to stick with glosses, which is a bit of a bummer because I love lip products. This balm gave results almost immediately, and my lips look semi-normal again. I realize it's unrealistic to think a single product could fix the problem, so I'm just happy that my lips don't feel painful, have become more smooth, and that I can start to wear lipstick again! NOTE: I suspect if your lips aren't very dry, this balm may not be worth the price. Before having this chronic issue, I got by with Jack Black just fine. But, if you're in my position, looking desperately for something to help when no other product has, this may be worth a shot. I do wish it came in stick or tube form, rather than a pot, but oh well. I think the effect is worth it anyway. I suspect the jar will last at least 3 months when used every day, and I do plan to repurchase when it's used up.

About reviewer (137 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

$50 for lip balm seems crazy. But I believe every woman should treat herself so I decided to shell out the cash. I've been using this for two weeks and I never want to buy cheap lip balm ever again. My lips have never looked better or felt softer. This is no miracle, I still get dry skin at times. However I find there is a considerable difference in the condition of my lips when I do not use this for a day or two. If you use a toothbrush and exfoliate your lips (gently) and then put this on at night. Your lipsticks will look flawless. I rated this only 4 out of 5 stars because I had to buy a lip brush because dipping your finger in this is unsanitary! This feels great, has a very faint but pleasant smell, and I would repurchase it again.

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Medium, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Other

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

For the results I experienced way too expensive! Just because its a luxurious brand doesnt mean the product is wonderfull. I have very dry chapped lips and this product just coats the lips for a short period. Average blistex quality! I have better results with Toyomilk dark lip balm. Save your money...

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I'm not a La Mer fan at all because Ive tried the products and just never really noticed the amazing results everyone else seems to. I think the whole product line is just over hyped. However, I really do love this lip balm. It goes on smoothly, and leaves lips super soft. You don't need to apply much at all either. I just wish it wasn't so darn expensive.

About reviewer (255 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Medium, Neutral

HairOther, Straight, Medium

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Firstly the bad: unhygienic packaging, it's not always possible to wash my hands before applying so I end up using a cotton swab to apply which wastes some product in the process. Despite that (and the hefty price tag) I do love this lip balm and have re-purchased several times. It goes on well, not too oily and not too dry. You definitely get the minty taste if you lick your lips and I've found that it lingers for a few hours after applying. When I have to travel anywhere cold this is a staple for my trip as it helps to alleviate chapped lips and soreness. For what it does I can't fault it, although from an ingredients perspective I do feel it is overpriced, especially as there are lip balms a fraction of the cost out there such as Jack Black Intense Therapy lip balm that works just as well. Selena x ~ My HG list ~ (I've sampled 100s of skin, hair and m/u products over the last decade and a half, as I love trying out new stuff all the time - usually sample sizes via e-bay, also plenty courtesy of a friend who works at Sephora. Thought it might be useful to share my top 10 must-have products, subject to change if and when I come across something more effective) 1. Hair Loss Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Hair Oil 2. Lip Balm: Jack Black - Intense Therapy 3. Pigmentation + Anti-Ageing Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Facial Treatment Serum 4. Cleanser: 'Aveda' - Purifying Gel Cleanser 5. Concealer: ‘Mac’ - Studio Finish Concealer 6. Lash Growth Serum: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Divinelash 7. Foundation/SPF: ‘Juice Beauty’ - Stem Cellular Repair (warm glow) 8. Face Scrub: ‘Sisley' - Botanical Gentle Buffing Cream 9. Moisturizer: ‘Antipodes' - Rejoice Light Day Cream 10. Hand Cream: 'Origins' - Make A Difference Rejuvenating Hand Treatment

About reviewer (567 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Tan, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Basically a sugary tasting version of Jack Black lip balm (<$10) in a less hygienic container. Save your money (and dirty fingers) and go for the Jack Black.

About reviewer (51 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination

HairBlack

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Not a bad balm, but nothing special. Other brands do just the same, even better for only a small fraction of the price. Also the smell is a bit weird, it's kind of citrusy I guess, but not exactly...anyways...I don't like it. I suspected that it will be waist of money and sure enough!

About reviewer (27 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I prefer to use lip balms at night, and the La Mer website claims that "applied at night, lips are renewed by morning". This is so ludicrously untrue - I've consistently found that the product is completely absorbed within the hour, and my lips are no more hydrated than before application. It would take me so many consecutive nights of using this balm to achieve the same results I could achieve in just one night using Elizabeth Arden Eight Hour Cream As many have already pointed out, the packaging is unhygienic and cheap-looking, the mint scent is not particularly pleasant, and the main component of the product is petrolatum - no wonder La Mer doesn't list the specific ingredients on their website! The only positive is that there is a significant amount of product within the jar. My take-away message is not to be fooled that this product can be used as a remedy for dry lips. If you have very dry to dry skin like myself, ensure you filter these reviews above so you're seeing the opinions of other dry-skinned people - you'll noticed that the overall rating drops dramatically.

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Dry, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This is the only la mer product that i didn't hate. Actually that i loved !! I have very dry lips and i bite them all the day this is thick and very good moisturizing. And mint extract feels fresh

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairSilver

EyesHazel