4.6

Created with Sketch.
258 reviews
88%
would repurchase
3.6/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


2.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

I had been wanting to try these very pricey cotton pads for quite some time, so when I saw them on the clearance shelf at T.J. Maxx for $3.00, I grabbed them. What an overpriced and overhyped product! I've tried using these to remove eye makeup, apply toner and also for correcting makeup mistakes all to no avail. The cotton squares are simply too thin and flimsy to do anything. I am so surprised they have been so popular for so many years. I will stick with my 2 dollar a pack generic cotton rounds that have much stronger cotton and do what I need them to do.

About reviewer (360 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Other, Fine

EyesBlue



3.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

I was all hyped about these but to be honest I'm not feeling they are really that great. I heard about cutting them in half, which I planned to do, but the ones I received are already pretty standard size and small. They are soft and I like that there is no hard bits in there, but they also aren't worlds different to me than the regular ones I get from Ulta when I'm trying to make my purchases enough to use a coupon. Some people claim you need less product for these and I'm not really seeing that. They do separate pretty easily being that they aren't sealed, which does make them "softer" but some that are sealed aren't extremely rough either. The Ulta squares I use have a long ovals embossed and they seem to have a soft side and a rougher side (they are not the bumpy exfoliating round ones though, just one side a bit softer than the other) and I have gotten used to that. So while these are nice, they're not worth buying again for the price to me. I noticed in reviews that there was a drugstore one that's similar, but I don't even know that I want this type over what I'm already using. That might be a good option if you're looking for a completely flat one though.

About reviewer (703 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairOther, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I think the first time I bought the sadly now discontinued Shiseido Mascara Base, I got a packet of 50 as a gift. Love them. So soft, don't shed, perfect for applying my Biologique Recherche P50V. I stock up on Sephora VIB or on the rare times when other department stores that carry Shiseido have 20% off.

About reviewer (315 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair, Warm

HairRed, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

Since I have oily skin, I've always had some type of cotton pad to use for applying toners. I purchased these from Sephora online in an attempt to get to free shipping. I like them, but not enough for repurchase. First of all, I don't find them to be that much better than other cotton pads stocked at drugstores. Secondly, they are expensive. Because of that, I used to limit myself to using them in an attempt to make the pack of them last longer. However, I have found ways to make the package last longer by either cutting them in half or separating the pad into two halves. While browsing through CVS, I discovered the dupe that others here have found. They are very similar. In my opinion, the quality is the same if not better. Better in the fact that they are more tightly woven and therefore stay intact. They don't break apart or thin out like Shisiedo. Here's the link: https://www.cvs.com/shop/beauty-360-extra-thick-premium-cotton-squares-150ct-prodid-2200116?skuId=362110 They are not restocked often or in a large quantity at the CVS store. When I found them, there were only 2 packages left which came to a total of $7.00 US. CVS often has sales on their brand so these can be purchased for even less than what I paid. I will definitely repurchase CVS' brand of these squares.

About reviewer (111 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Dark, Warm

HairBlack, Other, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

For removing eye makeup these are fantastic - because the texture does not pull at the fragile skin around my eye area. Never before had I imagined that normal drugstore cotton pads were not adequate for this purpose until I purchased myself a pack of these. Now I only use these to remove mascara, eyeshadow and eye SPF and have absolutely zero redness or irritation which I used to experience quite often with normal pads. I don't use these for the rest of my face as they soak up a lot of the micellar water I use and I can find myself going through a bottle much faster. For other areas I just stick to regular drugstore cotton. The other use I have for these is when I have a troublesome patch - rough/dehydrated area or acne mark. I simply cut the pad down to size required to cover the area, soak it with the right serum for the purpose (always the more watery type i.e Missha or SK2, even plain old rose water) and place it over the area. The pad adheres well so long as I'm not moving about and by the time I've removed it 10 minutes later I've had an intensive spot treatment that no amount of layering products would have achieved. It's why I'm a big fan of sheet masks as they literally 'hold' the liquid against your skin until it is absorbed, however they can be awkwardly shaped especially the Asian brands that are not really designed with Latino features like mine in mind! When I don't have time for sheet masks and have a small area to tackle, these are just perfect! Selena x ~ My HG list ~ (As I've sampled many 100s of skin, hair and m/u products over the last decade and a half, I thought it might be useful to share my top 10 must-have products, subject to change if and when I come across something more effective. I love constantly trying out new stuff - usually sample sizes via e-bay, also plenty courtesy of a friend who works at Sephora) 1. Hair Loss Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Hair Oil 2. Lip Balm: 'Nuxe' - Reve De Miel Lip Balm 3. Pigmentation + Anti-Ageing Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Facial Treatment Serum 4. Cleanser: 'Paula's Choice' - Skin Balancing Cleanser 5. Concealer: ‘Mac’ - Studio Finish Concealer 6. Lash Growth Serum: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Divinelash 7. Foundation/SPF: ‘Juice Beauty’ - Stem Cellular Repair (warm glow) 8. Face Scrub: ‘Sisley' - Botanical Gentle Buffing Cream 9. Moisturizer: ‘Antipodes' - Rejoice Light Day Cream 10. Hand Cream: 'Origins' - Make A Difference Rejuvenating Hand Treatment

About reviewer (566 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Tan, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I used these pads while I was living in Asia. This is one of the most popular pads brands over there and it isn't expensive. I don't like them at all. They are indeed super soft, they eat up any product I put on really fast. The border of the pads is not sealed, so the pads tend to separate. I don't like the way they're packed, I prefer the tubes. I don't like the rectangular shape, because I don't ever use their separating corners. I prefer premium cotton rounds from Target that are for the same quantity cost about 50% less.

About reviewer (666 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is a great facial cotton, but not quite what I need. The pads are so soft and can’t compare to anything else on the market. However, and this is a big con for me- I need to use so many cottons to remove my makeup/sunscreen with micellar water. I prefer large oval drugstore pads that I get at target because I only have to use two of those. For these shiseido pads I use at least 5. I also feel like they soak up a lot of the micellar water and I end up going through it a lot quicker. And considering I use pads/micellar water every day, the cost adds up just too quickly. I have repurchased the facial cotton but have decided to not repurchase for the time being and stick to my up and up brand pads.

About reviewer (43 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Tan

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Yes, it's just facial cotton. But it's totally worth it. I finally caved and bought it. I saw the reviews over and over again, and I was so curious about what could make cotton worth spending more on. I ordered it from Sephora, and I won't be without it now. It is so amazingly soft, it just feels luxurious to use. No roughness at all on my face or eyes. (I didn't even realize how rough my cotton rounds felt until I tried this.) I use my old cotton rounds for nail polish remover now, and occasionally I will try one on my face, just to see if it was really that big of a difference, and that's enough to make me keep reordering it. But really, I spend $10 on the package, but it really does last a long time. It's not like it's something you go through that quickly. There is a lot in the package, and it's truly totally worth it. Try it once, and you will most likely be hooked.

About reviewer (500 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesGray


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I read many reviews on these cotton pads and to be honest, my experience is that their flaw is that they’re great ‘super soft lil squares’. I prefer the large oval/square quilted drugstore pads. I find these lil squares to be super absorbent, they soak up product, loosing their billowy-down thickness quickly into flat square sheet that barely gets half a face cleansed. Which leads to using 4-8+ squares per night not to mention micellar water product waste. Then, there’s the softness issue. Now I don’t have sensitive skin, but when I cleanse, I cleanse! I don’t ‘gently’ rub the micellar water soaked pad, in hopes that the pad picks up all debris and oils accumulated from the day on a gentle sweep. I am quite assertive in my performance to cleanse and get the days gunk out. For the record I don’t wear heavy full-on makeup during the day, more so on evenings out. But environmental exposures, facial oil/sweat and all day skincare needs to come off at the end of the day. The larger drug store quilted pads may not be super soft but get the job done at less the waste. And they’re not that rough on my face. To be frank, I use these Shisedo squares to remove my nail polish, I prefer them over cotton balls... lol

About reviewer (248 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

If I hadn't won a pkg of these in a gift basket, I would never have made the initial purchase due to price. But OMG these are the most incredible cotton squares for removing v long wear eye makeup. My lids are easily irritated and these are amazing. Well worth the price!

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesOther




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us