4.0

Created with Sketch.
549 reviews
73%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range
$35.00 on Nordstrom
Shop Now

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a month ago

Mac Strobe Cream; Shade Redlite About a week ago I purchased , for the 3rd time- a Mac Strobe Cream. (4th time, if you count my first purchase which was the OG Strobe Liquid! Anyone remember that!?, 2nd was the original Strobe Cream. 3rd was Pinklite, let me just say that to me, (idk if they changed the original Strobe Cream formula now, but when I bought it , it was almost EXACTLY the same shade as Pinklite, except I feel that it had a little more metallic pink lustre to it. I have read that others have noticed this, but upon talking with a Mac Customer Rep, she insisted the formulas haven't changed, but according to my own eyes and a ton of others- they do look different..anyway a week ago I purchased Redlite since I wasn't THAT thrilled with "Pinklite, what little pinksh hue of a metallic glow it had to it did fade pretty quickly. But let me tell you I ABSOLUTELY LOVE how Redlite looks on my skin. I do have light-light medium skin right now, but I am Olive in shade (think Macs NC 30.) The glow is OUTATANDING. I HATE the whole DISCOBALL look personally, but I also don't want to look all one dimension without any glow at all. Well this fits, for me, in-between. Redlite, has the PERFECT intensity of glow for me. I apply it after my holy-grail ride-or-die, mattifying moisturizer (Formula 10.0.6) & a matte spf.( I live in Miami= humid & sunny.) I only apply Redlite on my cheek bones & on top of my gel blush as a Blush-Topper. As a prior Celeb MUA (I say PRIOR = no thanks to PTSD:(, -let me tell you it looks absolutely STUNNINGLY BEAUTIFUL, hence making me FEEL pretty!!. It makes me look so dewy and glowy when the light hits, but by NO MEANS greasy or like an oil slick. You can even put a little powder highlighter over the top of the highest point of your cheekbones if you would like more intensity, but I prefer to use a liquid highlighter over the top for more Pazam! All in all , yes it's pretty expensive at $35 on Mac.com (in my humble opinion) but considering it lasts FOREVER bc a LITTLE GOES A REALLY LONG WAY!! Butttttt being a babe on a budget I did purchase it on Amazon for only $28 & change. That's almost 10$ less. Prime too, free returns, can't beat that! 5 stars for aesthetically pleasing I dropped a star on packaging as a lot leaks into the screw off top being that the thing is made to stands up on its cap, but hey no biggie. I would definitely purchase this shade of Strobe Cream whether your super fair, or have a darker complexion. Would look divine on the darkest of skin tones for sure :) Ps- Pro Tip- mix some with your fave foundation for a lovely, glowy tinted moisturizer DIY!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily, Olive

HairBlack

EyesGray



1.0
Created with Sketch.

a month ago

I had heard amazing reviews about it and happened to have a sample of the Pinklite version so I decided to give it a try. Unfortunately, it didn't work for me. It made my foundation and concealer go on in a very patchy way and I couldn't even blend them on some areas of my face. It didn't break out my acne prone skin though.

About reviewer (83 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

I actually got this as a free sample when buying online, and have been really pleasantly surprised. It comes out of the tube as a white cream, but when tapped on the cheekbones just blends out beautifully to a glossy looking shine. Obviously if you don’t like that look this isn’t for you, but I prefer a no powder, more ‘moist’ look for my make up as I age. This works really nicely over a more matte foundation and creme blusher.

About reviewer (257 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Curly, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

I’ve bought this again and again, starting way before it was called “pinklight” (that is the original one). I’m usually nw20-30 give or take. Besides this being a great light weight moisturizer (check beautipedia), it’s gorgeous!!! Not glittery just RADIANT! Of course I love the OG pink one; matches my undertones. Peachlight is an amazing under eye primer. When I prime my face I add a dab of this under each eye before corrector/concealer and the peach neutralizes blue circles and looks so bright and alive. Goldlight is my current fave for my whole face as it warms me up wonderfully! Also you can mix it with stuff. I love it mixed with pro longwear concealer to use as a foundation!!!

About reviewer (389 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

I have the original Pinklite. This is what I wanted the Becca FirstLight and Backlight Primers to be. Gives lots of moisture and a non-glittery ethereal sheen, like the inside of a shell. The shimmer is so fine you can't even see microshimmers when staring at it closeup in the sun. Its so elegant! I like using to give a fresh illumination to the backs of older hands. Try it :)

About reviewer (1264 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is a product that I frequently repuchase from MAC. I did temporarily switch the strobe liquid but have since returned to the Strobe Cream - Original Pinklite. It is a very versatile product but I predominantly use this for mixing in with foundations and heavier tinted moisturisers to make them slightly more sheer and radiant looking. It can also be used as a highligter on top of foundation and can be used on various parts of the body to add more sheen. It just gives a natural looking luminosity. Once I finish my current tube, I may try one of the other shades that are now available, I'm NC20 so if anyone has used the other shades, I would gladly welcome recommendations :). I do however highly recommend the original and it is also arrived in a smaller travel size if you wanted to try a smaller size first.

About reviewer (112 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Stopped by at a MAC counter for a top up of my trusty Studio Finish Concealer, plus their Prep & Prime Fix. At checkout I was given not one but two little sample pots of the Strobe Cream in 'Goldlite'. "This will give you that J-Lo glow" I was told. What can I say...couldn't wait to get home and try it out for myself! The lightly perfumed cream has a pearlescent appearance which gives your skin a shimmery look. For comparison I tried it on the back of one hand and yes it did look so much nicer than the other. The effect is of course temporary until washed off, but whilst it's on it did give a nice shimmery glow to my skin. I use it as a highlighter over my foundation (cheekbones and cupids bow) and it just makes the area where applied look illuminated, I love it. Although a little too heavy to use on my face daily, I did discover that for bare arms and legs this is a good way to give my skin that bit of 'oomph' on days when I don't want to use a body oil or anything too glistening, but don't want to be completely 'bare' either. The effect is subtle but that's also what appeals about it so much to me. You cannot tell anything has been applied, it just looks like you have naturally good skin! And yes I did return to the MAC counter and purchase the full size product the second my sample pots were used up!  Also tried out the Strobe Body lotion as a more economical option for my body (as you get double the amount) but found it wasn't as effective as the original strobe cream so will stick to that instead for both face and body.  Selena x ~ My HG list ~ (As I've sampled 100s of skin, hair and m/u products over the last decade and a half, I thought it might be useful to share my top 10 must-have products, subject to change if and when I come across something more effective. I love constantly trying out new stuff - usually sample sizes via e-bay, also plenty courtesy of a friend who works at Sephora) 1. Hair Loss Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Hair Oil 2. Lip Balm: 'Nuxe' - Reve De Miel Lip Balm 3. Pigmentation + Anti-Ageing Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Facial Treatment Serum 4. Cleanser: 'Paula's Choice' - Skin Balancing Cleanser 5. Concealer: ‘Mac’ - Studio Finish Concealer 6. Athletes Foot Treatment: 'Margaret Dabbs' - Foot Hygiene Cream  7. Foundation/SPF: ‘Juice Beauty’ - Stem Cellular Repair (warm glow) 8. Foot File/Callus/Heel Treatment - 'Microplane' - Colossal Pedicure Rasp Foot File 9. Ingrown Hair Treatment - 'Priva Shave' - Post Hair Removal Treatment 10. Hand Cream: 'Origins' - Make A Difference Rejuvenating Hand Treatment

About reviewer (566 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Tan, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I use this in the peach color for my NW20 skin. I mix a small drop in with my moisturizer, to give a little extra glow, and especially on days when I'm not topping it off with a foundation. My skin is oily and prone to breakouts, and while I'm glad that it doesn't lead to any breakouts, it does make me look a little shinier. In some lighting I also notice that it also gives a slightly unnatural glow, not lit from within which I would prefer. I'm using mine up but won't repurchase.

About reviewer (140 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I love it! I have it in pink during the winter months and in red during the summer I have normal skin but it gers dehyd skrated easily I use it as a primer and it gives me a glowy well moisturised skin all day When I don't want to put on make up I use it alone and it makes my skin look healthy and smooth

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBlond

EyesHazel


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Super light which is good...blends in nicely...but I find this a useless product

About reviewer (1039 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.

The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us