4.7

Created with Sketch.
217 reviews
96%
would repurchase
4.4/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

Im giving 1 point, its only because they dont have a back 2 mac program in my country(turkey), its so frustrating,we re already paying so much cuz of the currency, and still we dont have privilage,i asked many mac employees and they have no idea why Turkey stores dont have that... ive lots of finished mac products in my drawer, im collecting them in case we have that program in the future or i go abroad.

About reviewer (28 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown



1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Yes, it's free - but really annoying that they have specific rules for counters and stores. If you can trade in for lipstick, lipglass or eyeshadow at the free standing stores, you should be able to trade for them at counters. It isn't fair that people who don't live near a store have to trade for lipstick. I don't use lipstick. I use lip glosses and eyeshadow. Really frustrating.

About reviewer (21 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Nice program so plastic and glass doesn't go to waste but Mac products are becoming too expensive especially the lipsticks... There are many other companies making better quality lipstick same and more colors for a fraction of what Mac is charging and lately I haven't seen my local Mac counter busy as what it once was I think they are loosing sales even online I've noticed they have lots of left overs from past collections and also put them on sale which is something I haven't seen from them before it used to be that the collections sold out and that was it.. To pay a lil over 100.00 for 5 lipsticks is downright foolish so I won't anymore the only two items I'll purchase is foundation and concealer but I get my foundation free each time and if you want to know how then message me and I'll clue you in because I'm tired of paying high prices to make a million dollar company even more wealthy and they don't give anything free unless you buy 6 items first smh ridiculousness to feed into it.

About reviewer (126 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

Original 5 lippies review from 2012: Love this program, we can choose only lipsticks but it's still great! I got Syrup, Sea Sheer, Hug me, Sandy B, Pink Plaid, Cockney, Rebel, Russian Red, Cosmo and Diva this way and had no problem with missing pans to date. Current review: Switching the rating from five to two lippies. I've been a MAC devotee for years partly because of this generous policy but now I've moved on from many of their products simply because I've found alternaties that suit me better. Of course I have benefited from this recicling program a lot and I'm thankful for that. Last year I got an eyeshadow which I was pleased with although I prefered the lipsticks. My 15-pan palettes were already full and I don't like too many single eyeshadows lying around, got Blanc Type which is my Holy Grail matte highlighter to depot and replace the current pan when it's empty. A few months ago they altered that as well in my country and you can only get lipgloss. We all know that lip gloss isn't selling much at the moment and I totally get that; partly because it's more or less a trademark of the past decade and partly because glossy lipsticks have saturated the market anyway so why bother with the sticky gloss, right? Still, MAC makes some lovely glosses - like those in the Cremesheen Glass line - and I'd be happy to get one of those. But nooo, here we can only choose a Lipglass which is known to be MAC's stickiest lipgloss. I bet those don't sell anymore. So no thanks, I don't want a product I know I won't use even if it's for free. I kept my six empties and will take them back when they decide to switch to a decent gift. Is it petty to complain about a freebie? Maybe so but it's also tasteless from the company to reward its loyal customers by unloading the stuff that doesn't please the market for a good reason.

About reviewer (952 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Curly, Medium

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

this program is BRILLIANT. I find that Mac products last aaagggeeesss and I have lots and alternate lots so it takes me a very long time to finish anything, but when I do I always exchange them for the freebie. And people are complaining that some countries have switched to a free eyeshadow ??? It's FREE why are you complaining

About reviewer (5 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Great program! Done it three times. I wish it could be only 5 products = a free lippie but beggars can't be choosers!

About reviewer (186 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Dark, Neutral

HairBlack, Relaxed, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

A great program that I have been recycling my used products with for many years now. The fact that you get a free product in return for doing this is fabulous. I don't care if they change the freebie and becomes something other than lipstick that you get back, I would be grateful for any product. I am sure they have some very impressive stats to reflect how much packaging they have recycled and kept out landfills. Go MAC!

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

In Greece they have a new policy. You only get an eyeshadow, not lipstick.Lately a lipgloss.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I love this program. I live in Hawaii and the associate at the pearlridge Mac store told me that if there wasn't a metal pan in the eyeshadow pot, they do not consider that as part of back 2 Mac. She told me it was because a bunch of fake Mac products were being distributed so they require the pan to be in the pot.

About reviewer (732 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I love the idea but I'm so sad they don't do this in the Belgian mac stores.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBlue




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us