3.2

Created with Sketch.
371 reviews
51%
would repurchase
3.9/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

This polish looks A W E S O M E on tan/olive skin. It's so pretty and elegant, not streaky at all for me.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Tan

HairBlack

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

8 months ago

For blondes, this is perfect, I love two - three coats. Very flattering on all skin tones. Neutral enough to be very classy and elegant, it's not too pink or too white. Just great.

About reviewer (132 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

Hey! I’ve tried a new tactic that seems to help a lot: 1. Replace the skinny brush with the big rounded one from the Essie Couture line or Sally Hansen Salon line 2. Apply two coats to one hand at a time. By one hand at a time, I mean paint all five nails with a thin coat once and then go right back and do the second coat. Try to *slightly* float the second coat. Then do your other hand, two coats.Topcoat of your choice. I still had to redo two of ten, but it still saved me from pulling my hair out!

About reviewer (103 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I honestly bought Ballet Slippers because of the hype but didn't use it for a long time after reading the reviews, I was sure I was gonna hate the formula. Well, actually it's surprisingly not really streaky on me and I don't consider myself talented in applying nail polish. Granted, it's not an one-coater but after the second coat things look pretty even. I do three for more saturation. The semi-sheer white pink looks pretty and delicate so I don't have much to complain. I just prefer opaque nail polishes the way I prefer proper creamy lipstick to lipgloss and that's the only reason I don't reach for Ballet Slippers often.

About reviewer (952 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Curly, Medium

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Tried this several times because I like the color. Unfortunately it is very streaky and looks a mess even with additional coats. Guess the queen of England has someone to apply it for her since this is her favorite. I personally am surprised Essie is selling this junk.

About reviewer (81 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

As read in The Devil Wears Prada, 2 thin coats of Essie Marshmallow, 2 thin coats of Ballet Slippers: magic. When I have time I do base & top coat with Nails Inc Kensington Caviar. With the 2+2 though, it isn’t necessary and looks the same but lasts a little longer. I posted with the weird rings on short nails (don’t judge I’m sloppy)

About reviewer (389 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is hands down the worst nails polish I have ever purchased.. I returned it to the store the very next day.!! It cost $20NZD and was a complete waste of time , the lady at the counter said she had a lot of the Essie polishes come back and she was disappointed since Essie has such a solid reputation and is very pricey! I brought four wet n wild polishes to replace this crap one and will never touch the brand again .. streaky and does not have any coverage I did 5 layers on one finger and still streaked ! Shocking for the price

About reviewer (24 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair

HairBrown

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Looks a little light but once one it's a lovely pink. Problem is the formula. It's awfully streaky and takes about five coats before it's a solid color. Takes forever to dry because of this, though I notice it's a bit slow even if you use a single layer. Wanted to make this one work because it's so popular but could not... if it's just the color you're looking for, look elsewhere.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I bought some of this because I had heard a lot about it and didn't have any similar in my nail polish collection. It went on OK but I wasnt struck on the colour so I doctored it a bit. I added a few drops of dark red and a few drops of grey until I got a sort of "ashes of roses" colour. I must have got it right judging by the number of compliments I've had

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

I have tried several times to get this to work, as the color draws me in with how pretty and soft of a pink this is. However the application is awful. Tried it with base coat and without. Even one sheer coat leaves streaks and is patchy. So I add another coat thinking it will even out the streaks, but nope, it just adds another streaky layer and takes forever to dry. I've never worked with a more difficult formula, had to get rid of it.

About reviewer (339 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us