3.0

Created with Sketch.
544 reviews
51%
would repurchase
2.6/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a month ago

I know this foundation hasn't gotten great reviews but I really love it. I have the 2 lightest shades-505 and 510. The lightest one is light enough but slightly pink so I add a tiny bit of the 510 to add the yellow I need. A lot of people complain about the bottle but I like it-it looks kind of retro 50s-60s to me. I use a q-tip and scoop out what I need. The foundation has an almost gel like consistency and leaves a beautiful finish with medium coverage. My skin is extremely oily and acne prone with giant pores and texture. Applied over a primer and it looks beautiful. Considering how my skin's oils eat through foundation and powder this holds up pretty well, through an 8 hour workday with touchups. If I had normal or even just slightly oily skin I probably wouldn't even need to touch it up throughout the day. I don't notice any oxidization with the colors I use ( unlike the Clean powder). While not quite Holy Grail it's on the verge of it and I will continue to use and repurchase.

About reviewer (48 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone

HairBrown

EyesBlue



1.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

Looks orange !!! Don’t use

About reviewer (57 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

This is one of my favourite foundations. When I try something else, I always come back to this one. It doesn’t make me breakout, or make any hormonal acne I have worse. It has a decent coverage for the price without becoming cakey. It also doesn’t dry out my skin. The one downside is that I find it doesn’t last throughout the day.

About reviewer (22 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair

HairBrown

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

I don't hate this, but it barely qualifies as foundation. It is matte, and it actually does last quite well (for what it is). It's more of a sheer tinted mattifier than a foundation, though. If you want that - you want to feel less oily and don't want coverage particularly - then this is cheap so it's not a wasted step. But for me, this isn't particularly useful. Also, the range of shades is very limited, and my particular shade doesn't seem the same in this formula as in other Cover Girl formulas, so test if you can. Although with it being so sheer, there's a lot of room for error! I can actually imagine using this in summer, when my skin tends to be clearer, just to keep some sweaty greasies at bay. But I doubt I'll bother buying it again.

About reviewer (265 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

This is a great little foundation and so underrated. I bought this while on vacation a couple of years ago when I left my more expensive one home and now it’s all I use. This reminds me of luminous silk at 1/8 of the cost and minus the drying alcohol. It has a light weight skin like finish, quite decent coverage, a perfect color match (Ivory), works for mature skin, no strong odor or irritants, and easily lasts through my work day. My skin is quite dry so I do moisturize really well. I have tried just about every foundation out there from high end to low end but keep using this one, it’s that good.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

My skin type: combo but mostly oily, especially in my T-zone. Very pale with mostly a pink undertone in the winter, a little less pale with more of a yellow undertone in the summer. Okay so I’ve been using this foundation for probably about 7 years now. Throughout the years, I’ve tried many other foundations & bb creams, thinking that maybe I’d find something better. But so far, I haven’t. It seems like all other foundations I’ve tried either end up being too cakey, too oily, not blendable, not lasting long, not the right color, becoming darker as they oxidize, or a combination of any of those qualities. I always go back to this one. This foundation doesn’t have any of those issues! In the winter, I wear the 505 ivory shade, & in the summer, I go a little darker with the 510 classic ivory. Despite having combo skin, I always stick with the oil control matte ones. First of all, my skin breaks out sometimes, & this is one of the only foundations that rarely ever breaks me out. Even if I fall asleep wearing it, it doesn’t seem to cause problems. Second of all, this foundation lasts all day!!! Like I said, I’ve been using it for many years. One of those years, I was a senior in high school with 3 P.E. (Physical Education) classes. The coaches didn’t allow us to use the showers after class because those were for the other kids doing actual sports. That meant that I’d show up to my next class super sweaty. But somehow, my foundation wouldn’t budge, & so kids would always ask how my makeup was still so perfect even after running laps around the school in the brutal Texas heat. What I do is I apply this foundation with my fingers. No beauty blender or brush. I just blend it in. Then I set it with covergirl’s trublend pressed powder #1. To give my face a little more color, I go over my neck, forehead, chin, & nose with the covergirl trublend pressed powder #4. Then I add some blush to add even more color/depth. I’m sure there are other powders you can set it with, but these seem to work for me without getting too oily throughout the day or being too cakey. It actually looks very natural. Pros: Lasts all day (I mean ALL day) Full coverage Easy to apply & blend Not thick & cakey Good for oily or combo skin Good for sensitive skin Good price Cons: Each bottle starts out being more liquidy/runny the first few uses - I recommend shaking well before the first few uses To get the most use out of it, I also recommend leaving it upside down wherever you keep your makeup

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Lately almost everything, including my ride or die bb cream has been breaking me out or irritating me. I decided to try this on a whim since it was only $6. I specifically wanted something lightweight, light coverage (but it's buildable to medium), and water based. This just works. The matte version I have doesn't have any scent and isn't so mattifying that I look like a caked up raisin. It leaves a smooth natural finish and evens oit my skin tone. It legit looks like I have no foundation on. I have sensitive, rosacea and eczema prone skin amd this doesn't irritate it. I'm ~ NC20 and 535 Buff Beige matches pretty well

About reviewer (16 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I'm very pleasantly surprised by this foundation! Haven't tried drugstore in years because they never really worked for me, broke me out or I couldn't find my match. I stuck to Urban Decay Naked Skin for years. Then I stumbled upon a peronal blog by a gorgeous girl I know and she recommended this foundation and said she's been using it for years. Next time I was at CVS, I thought, why not try it? It was about $7 and I could always return it. My skin: Break out prone, clog prone, sensitive, oily in t zone and kinda dry everywhere else. I'm on Retin A now, beginning stages so it's totally out of whack at the moment. This foundation applies beautifully. I always apply with clean fingers and blend it. Medium coverage, looks very natural. Lasts a good amount of time on me as well, 8+ hours before shine shows through and I don't even apply powder over it. All in all, I'm so happy I took the advice of that awesome girl! One negative thing is the bottle. It needs a pump. Currently I use a q tip to scoop some out. But that's the only thing I can think of to complain about. Another thing I'm worried about is breakouts, since my skin breaks out from EVERYTHING, no joke. So far, so good *knocks on wood* Will update if anything changes!! Update: 11/6/17 Wow! Had to update this after a couple of months and upgrade to five lippies. This foundation is amazing!! Since I started wearing this foundation, my skin has cleared up a lot. I wore Urban Decay Naked Skin for years and always had little bumps but nothing too crazy but since only using this, the bumps are gone. Can't believe I like this foundation sooo much better! That's about $32 savings for me :)

About reviewer (80 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Love this foundation. I have a few different brands of foundations for a couple different skin type combinations, but I find myself reaching for this one more often than not. Recently, my skin has been much more on the oily side, and despite my best efforts, I look very shiny by the end of the day. Saw a YouTube video and the girl recommended this foundation. Went to my local drug store and found it on sale. I have another foundation by CoverGirl and the colour names are the same across the brand (best thing ever!!) so I picked myself up a bottle and zipped home to test it. My face starts matte, and by the end of a 15+ hour day, it's more of a dewy finish, but that is a far cry from oily! It is buildable, but one application does the trick. I still do need concealer for the circles under my eyes, but that's a constant requirement for me. No scent, creamy liquid consistency, lots of applications in the bottle and regular sales on this stuff in stores. Only downside is that this bottle does not have a pump and the foundation doesn't like to come out on its own. I end up shaking the bottle upside down for a moment, taking the lid off and scooping out a small amount with the end of a Q tip and put it on the back of my hand. I apply with a makeup brush, but have used a beauty blender and it has worked out nicely too. Have repurchased. Will continue to repurchase.

About reviewer (27 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Other, Fine

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I have combo skin and this just did work for me. It supposed to be clean feeling and help with oily skin but I did not find it did either of those things. It never really dried down and left my skin looking very wet and sticky. As for the color, I find the oily range to always go orange on me no matter what color I try to use. The clean foundation for normal skin works 100 times better for me.

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesHazel