4.3

Created with Sketch.
8 reviews
75%
would repurchase
4.5/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

I like this for what I do with it. I do not think of this as a hair spray because it’s too light, I use this as a setting spray for my hair. Out of the shower, I use a styling cream and heat treating spray before I apply heat styling products. I apply this last to set my hair. I use this flex spray on light waves and I love this product because I can achieve very touchable hair that stays all night. I would not use this for an up do or if you need tighter control for more formal hair styles.

About reviewer (343 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown



3.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

Performance-wise, this hairspray is fine, but I was not prepared for the strong, odd fragrance despite reading about it in the reviews and even testing it in-store. I've used LP triple detox shampoo, full conditioner, and TBD styling cream so I'm familiar with the usual fragrance, but this hairspray has the oddest musk-y floral gourmand scent that at times smells like Play-doh. If LP changed the scent to match the other products I've tried from the line, I would repurchase. However, I gifted my can of this hairspray to my hairstylist because I would never use it due to the overwhelming scent.

About reviewer (1635 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other, Warm

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Just one use of this product had me convinced. I used this to hot curl my hair and the curls were maintained ALL day and into the next. If I didn't use this hair spray my curls would just drop into waves by the end of the day. I love the versatility of this product and being able to use on damp hair or to style or to finish. No horrible, throat scratching chemical smell either and the hair does not feel full of product; just soft bouncy hair. Yes it's not cheap but I shopped around and was able to pick it up for £12.95 at Allbeauty and at that price I'll definitely repurchase. Love the sleek, sophisticated packaging.

About reviewer (27 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Relaxed, Fine

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Wow, I was a little surprised at the good reviews for this product thus far. I got a nice sample of this in a Sephora favorites hair care set. I have tried a few Living Proof products, and overall, thus far, I've been somewhat impressed. But this product really did nothing for me. When I use it, I don't feel it doing anything, no hold, and if it has any affect at all, it just weighs my hair down. Maybe I'm not using it correctly. I will try using it with damp hair before I let it dry to straighten my hair. I've even used it with my hair curly. Just does nothing. And others have commented on the nice scent...but the scent gags me!! Believe me, I WANT to like this product, but I'm not liking it so far.

About reviewer (238 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

My hair is not easy to work with. I have really frizzy, greasy, dry hair. I have been looking for a good hairspray for quite a while because many drugstore brands makes my hair feel sticky and so greasy. So I bumped into this one at Sephora . I bought the travel size to test it out because this is kind of an expesive product. The travel size is 99 ml and it retails for $14. It is used to style,set, and finish dry or damp hair. I use it with my flat hot iron to set my hair. It has a nice smell not overwhelming and does not smell like chemicals at all. My hair does not feel sticky and greasy and it set my hair well, it gives just the right amount volume I need. It is very easy to apply and just with a one time spray over the whole hair you are good to go. I will be repurchasing this product because it has been the only one who does not cause my hair to develop that greasiness that is so uncomfortable. It makes my hair look naturally beautiful with a healthy shine.

About reviewer (109 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Olive, Neutral

HairBlond, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I have pretty fine dry hair that’s generally unmanageable and fairly difficult to style. Its natural texture is on the wavy (frizzy, really) side, but it doesn’t really hold styles that well without a bit of help. I usually curl it with a hot iron, but it tends to lose curl pretty readily. I’ve tried traditional heat-protection sprays before (Tresomme, usually) and while they sort of help, they don’t really offer any kind of significant long-term hold or styling help. Which is fair, really, since I don’t think that’s their primary purpose. I came across the Living Proof Flex Spray a couple of years ago after venturing into my local Sephora looking for a styling product that would work well with a hot iron (or hot rollers, which I sometimes use). Once I explained the situation, the Sephora rep immediately suggested this stuff. I balked a bit initially because I thought it was “just” hairspray, albeit more expensive, and wasn’t at all keen on using hairspray as a styling product. Sounded like a weird idea and a recipe for a crunchy hair disaster. Turns out that this is actually quite a different product than your usual hairspray. It’s not a traditional “finishing” hairspray of the sort that you’d use to set things after styling but rather a “working” hairspray that’s meant to be using *during* the process of creating the style. It really helps things hold much better without being stiff or sticky, and is surprisingly easy to use. You can use it again after styling as a finishing spray, though I’ve never felt the need to do so. While it can be used on damp/wet hair (for styling with a blow dryer, for example), in practice, I use it primarily on dry hair when I curl it with a hot iron, and I think that’s actually the best way to use it. It’s a very lenient product and you don’t have to worry too much about whether you’re using too much (I’ve never once used it and then thought, eep, used too much, must wash immediately!). You also don’t have to be super-precise about dispensing it. I basically spray an approximate section of my hair with a light spray of product and brush through; alternatively, sometimes I spray it directly onto a brush and then comb it through my hair. Either way works just fine! I then curl as usual. The end result is a style that holds up much better and for far longer than it would otherwise. Even on a typical San Francisco late afternoon, when the ocean commences its daily assault against the sunkissed city and the fog and wind roll in, I’m always surprised that it hasn’t fallen flat. It’s not going to look the same as it did many hours earlier, but I can definitely tell that it’s withstanding a fair amount of punishment and quite well, actually. I've been using the Living Proof Flex spray off and on for about two years and while it's initially on the expensive side (more than what I'd usually spend for a styling product), a bottle lasts a surprisingly long time and I'm still working on the second bottle. I also find the scent very pleasing: kind of a slightly earthy, sweet sugar/vanilla smell that somehow manages to not be cloying. Some people find it strong, but I think compared to most hairsprays, it's pretty mild and plays well with other scented products if you're using more than one. PROS: -Great product if you have hair that doesn't hold styles well, especially when using a curling iron. -Flexible hold that isn't sticky or stiff. If you don't like the feel of traditional hairsprays, this is a great alternative! -Easy to use and can be used to style wet or dry hair. It's a pretty lenient product meaning that you don't have to worry too much about overdoing it or being super precise. -Since it can be used to style dry hair, I've often used it to fix/restyle a bad blowout. Best product I have for this purpose, actually! -Smells great (vanilla-ish, but in an earthy, uncloying way). Of course, this one is subjective! CONS: -More expensive than drugstore-priced styling products, but not aware of any offerings that offer quite the same functionality. -If you want a truly strong hold that barely moves, this is probably not going to be enough. REALITY CHECK: -If you don't have long, healthy, smooth, thick and lustrous locks in the first place (neither do I!), this is not going to be the product that changes that. No product will. My hair is not amazeballs and never will be. Just expect easier styling with heat-based tools, longer hold, and curls that don't fall out in less than an hour. Everything else is gravy.

About reviewer (66 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Part of a set, of 3 products, that was marked down at Sephora. As far as hairsprays go, I love this one. It smells sooo good, not like so many others that gag me with a strong chemical smell, although I'm sure this one has just as many. Anyway, it does the job on my fine, thinning, highlighted hair. The price is more than I want to spend on hair spray, but I did buy the regular size, so that I could save what's left of the sample for travel.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I got a mini can of this as an impulse-buy $10 add-on item when checking out my online Sephora order. I have had mixed results from this brand in the past, so I wasn't sure how well it would work. Background: I have a ton of babyfine hair that won't hold a curl ever, no matter what hairspray I use on it. My hair is long (about five inches past shoulders) and cut in layers, highlighted blonde, naturally curly and very tangly, dry, frizzy, and just overall damaged. I wash it twice a week and blow dry it straight, then I go through and curl sections. I use a lot of defrizzing/moisturizing/shine-enhancing styling products as I blow dry. The problem is that those smoothing products, combined with my superfine hair, make my hair slippery and it won't hold a curl unless I use industrial-strength hairspray that makes it tangly, dull and dirty-looking. This product has been one of the only hairsprays that (as its name implies) holds my curls but allows for some flexibility. There's no stiff/dull/hard effect with this product, just shiny, bouncy perfect curls that hold for most of the day. I do have to use a lot of it, which along with the price, is the main drawback. I just ordered the full-size can - I can't live without it! And trust me, after trying them all I can tell you there is no drugstore dupe of this. While I do not love everything from this brand, this one is for sure a keeper. At least until L'Oreal or Pantene make something similar....

About reviewer (504 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us