4.2

Created with Sketch.
10 reviews
90%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

So I copied one of the other reviews and did it with dry hair for 45 minutes and it colored great but stains everything. My bathtub, hands, and sink had to be scrubbed with nail polish remover and magic eraser. The red is more of a pink and is kinda hard to squeeze the tube with slippery hands. Cheaper than most dyes though.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinOily, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue



1.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

Never buy this product. I used it like conditioner and didn’t let it sit on my hair hair because I was only trying to tone my hair, and well I only left in on for under 30 seconds my hair was purple, which is good it works but in just 2 washes it faded to a turquoise color and it will NOT come out!!! I’ve trued multiple hair color removers, vitamin c treatment, bleach baths, and full bleaching my hair and nothing get it out. It stains your hair permanently and there is no way to get it out unless you cut off all of your hair. Even if you fye it a darker color it comes out looking muddy.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinOily, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Okay. I totally didn't use as directed. Instead of using in shower on wet hair I used it as if it were a direct dye on dry hair. I left it in for about 45min. Omg. The color was super bright, left my hair shiny and so far has lasted a month without redoing it. Warning. If used this way super hard to fade out. I used the color Sky Blue and I love it. I've already bought their Titanium for my next hair project. Super pigminted please use gloves!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Tan

HairOther

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I’ve has purple highlights for a few years now and anyone who has bright hair knows it fades pretty quickly. I’ve tried Arctic Fox, Manic Panic, Punky Colours, and love them all but bought this on a whim at Sally’s one day. This is a conditioning mask so it’s a little different. You shampoo your hair first then apply it to your hair when it’s still damp, leave it on then rinse. It will deposit color so if you have that yucky fade thing going on which happens with bright colors every few weeks you’ll be please with this. I also leave this on for longer than the bottle directions say, usually 30 minutes. It makes my hair feel incredible. The only downside is that you’ll probably only get about a week of nice looking color from this, it’s not very long lasting. Overall a good product.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairOther

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I’ve used this in neon purple (when my hair was dark purple) and natural brown (as my hair is now medium brown). It's a very good color depositing conditioner that moisturizes and tones. I leave it on about five minutes but you can go longer and you should if you want deeper/richer results. For purple, I definitely prefer Overtone deep treatment (in extreme purple) as it is extremely pigmented and I love the smell, but this is a good locally-available alternative. Unfortunately Overtone doesn't make a brown conditioner so this is my choice in the brunette range. The scent is pleasant, fairly neutral, and it rinses out clean without staining my towels. Good stuff.

About reviewer (166 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I’m very pleased with this product. I bought three colors: the red, neon purple, and auburn because I wanted to create a custom neutral auburn shade and they were buy 2 get one free. I knew the red would be less natural than what I really wanted and was afraid the auburn wouldn’t be red enough. The purple was to soften the shade a bit. I mixed equal parts red and auburn with a conditioner and a touch of the purple until I get a sort of raspberry colored mixture and then use that as a mask. It gives me just enough to brighten my faded olia light natural auburn 6.43 colored hair. After I have rinsed well I coat my ends with the neon purple full concentration. I end up with an auburn that softly blends to red violet tips. I’ve wanted to experiment with some “fun” colors but wanted to still be kind of subtle. Also the shine is amazing! ????

About reviewer (18 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 years ago

This peroxide-free, ammonia-free temporary color masque/toner is a unique product. The package says it was formulated in Italy. It comes in a squeezable tube and the texture is gel-like. It is 1.5 oz. and it will take most of a tube to do shoulder-length hair. The Beige Blonde shade #405074 looked rather brown in the tube so I was needlessly a little worried I would get drab light brown color. The package says it will tone in 2-3 minutes and lasts 2-5 shampoos. I think I will leave it on about 10 minutes next time because the toning was a little more subtle than I prefer. FYI, my hair is a mixture of gray and dark brown but I use an ultra-blonde box coloring to prelighten (either Nutresse Ultra Color in Beige Blonde or Revlon Buttercream in Lt. Blonde). This product does tone and especially conditions so well without weighing hair down. It would be worth the price for the conditioning alone. The scent is not unpleasant, either. Unless your hair has been exposed to peroxide, I do not think this would impart much color but might still condition. It is available in multiple shades. I bought it at Sallys. UPDATE: Still love this product. I tried the Neutral Blonde shade but found it to be a golden blonde which was not exactly what I wanted. However, my hair does look like spun gold because it is so shiny.

About reviewer (308 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I thought I would share my thoughts on this fabulous product. For ladies like myself with over processed hair from bleaching/frying your hair to the point you fear to use a permanent or even demi dye mixed with developer because you know more breakage will happen lol. Ion's color masque is perfect for that. You can mix the colors to create other colors. It can be a bit tricky. I tried putting some on paper to see what color I have created, it doesn't show the color on paper to how it will turn out on your hair. I don't mind so much because I love experimenting and can live whatever color I have for a couple of weeks. Right now I have brown hair. My regrowth is dyed 5a with a pernament dye because my natural hair color is a very ginger red. As for my midshafts to ends, I won't ever dare attempt putting any developer with dye on them, I have a lot of breakage because I used to be platinum/whitey blonde. My midshaft to ends do not hold color well at all. I have been using Dark Warm Brown color masque and it evens out my hair. I am shocked how well the color masque colors your hair. Now for me it does stain the hair, it doesn't 100% wash out but I assuming it's because of how severely bleached and overly processed my ends are. I have never had success with it covering up my natural hair/regrowth. Although my natural regrowth is ginger red, I do know ginger is hard to cover up hence why I use 5a permanent dye. Even though the masque stains the hair, it does wash out to a very faded color, it's not a bad stain say like Manic Panic kind of stain. It does fade to a very very light shade. Almost back to blonde but with a tinge of whatever color masque I used. I can't complain about that, it's so easy to cover up with the next masque. I have used all the browns by Ion's color masque. Even though Dark Warm Brown is very warm compared to their other browns, I wouldn't say it has a warmth base, the base is still very green and at one point because my ends were so light to begin with, when the brown faded, it looked like I had very light brown with a green tinge. Didn't bother me because the next time I used these products, I mixed a bit of the hot red with the warm brown but beware the hot red is strong lol. Yes it does stain green and your bathroom. Bleach did the trick to get it off the tub. I just scrubbed with soap on my face to get the stains off my skin. It took me a couple of tries to figure out a good cocktail to create the perfect brown that didn't fade with a green tone. You need literally a pea size drop of red, it's very over powering. The first time I used a whole tube of dark warm brown with about a teaspoon of hot red thinking it would do the trick. My hair came out a nice dark burgundy color, I did love it and it did fade very well. Just warning people if you do decide to mix it to warm up the brown or the other browns, a little goes a long way. I live by these color masques. It saved my hair. I can be whatever color with no damage now. I like how I can mix it because my midshafts to ends fade so much, one month I can be a red head, next brown or even burgundy. I just wish they would sell the exact same product but in a bigger bottle at a reasonable price. And would love to see more colors. My mother would love to see one for black hair with a green base.

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 years ago

I picked this up to tone my fading purple, lavender and magenta hair (Ion Brights) which I did not want to dye over. I washed out as much of the bright colours as I could and used some hot oil and cassia treatments to get it to a faded mauve, rose and peach beige blonde. Some of it was brassy and some greyish-mauve. I then used this in beige blonde and left it in for an hour and afterward my hair was really soft with lovely tone and gloss. It's really pretty multi-tonal dark blonde with the mauve and rose and some lighter blonde still peaking through but not brassy :) I am going to continue to use this to give my hair a break from harsh chemicals. Overall, if I can keep it a dark iridescent beige blonde with a touch of rose-lavender highlights using the pastel brights then I will be delighted. Can't say how it will last or what to do with new growth and greys but will see how it goes over the next couple of months. I may have to add some of the brown to touch up my roots and run some through the lengths for some lowlights. It's a nice temporary gentle colour and so far I love it. I was worried that my fragile hair would break off if I added anymore harsh dyes. And I did not want to chop it off or bleach it. The smell is pleasant. So far so good. I am going to gentle wash my hair once or twice a week so hopefully this will not wash out too fast. I am hoping it lasts over 2 weeks. My hair is dry and porous and when I have new growth it is light brown with about 25% grey. My only issue thus far is that it does have silicones in it and I have been cone-free for a few years. But I suppose it is the lesser of two evils at the moment. I recommend this as a temporary colour boost or toner.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Olive, Neutral

HairBrown, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I picked up 2 tubes of these at the beauty supply and I had to write a review. I have dark blonde ombré hair that frequently needs to be toned. I wanted to try something gentle as my hair is a bit fragile and I find Demi toners can be drying. I purchased beige blonde and neutral blonde and decided to mix the colors together. The product comes in little tubes almost exactly like the Ion Demi and Permanent colors, but you do not mix them with developer. They are basically a color depositing conditioner applied to clean damp hair and left on for 3 or more mins depending on how much color saturation you are looking for. I left my mixed colors on for 15 mins and got a gorgeous cool blonde on my light ends. It blended my natural color with my lighter ends and left my hair smooth and super glossy. It did no darken my color at all. The ingredients are also fairly gentle and there's some great natural oils in it. It's a bit pricey for the small amount in the tube but I love the results and I will continue to repurchase.

About reviewer (35 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue