3.7

Created with Sketch.
62 reviews
66%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

In a whim I purchased 9 of these on clearance, Thank goodness I didn't pay full price. These are mostly a miss/pass. For instance, some are pigmented others are sheer, takes 2-3 coats and looks patchy. The worst problem is that the lipstick pills up, and the inner part/rim of your lips disappear. You're left with a weird look. Applying more didn't help. Also you have to keep the lips hydrated or it pills up and feels grainy and chunks flick off.. I'll try to use them as a base and top with a cream lipstick or gloss. If that doesn't work, in the trash bin. I hate wasting money!

About reviewer (30 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Medium

HairOther

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I love this stuff. I have Everlasting Caramel and the Nutmeg one. This is pretty much like every other 2-step lipstick I’ve owned, but the formula is the longest-lasting I’ve ever tried. Unless you use oil to remove it at night, you will wake up with your lipstick still on and still perfect. Many of the other reviewers here are complaining about the product flaking off; however, that has never once happened to me. I apply it as directed, let it dry completely for a few minutes, then apply the balm, and only reapply the balm. And when I apply the colour, I do so very carefully: it needs to be applied thinly, quickly, and in one motion. It’s like paint, not like gloss. This is one of those amazing products that does exactly what it claims; unfortunately some people may be using it incorrectly and having less than optimal results. My one complaint about this product is the colour range. The colours are kind of meh, and some are shimmery in a not-cute way.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

This was such a disappointment I was so hopeful about this one but it is the worst of the 2 step lipsticks I have ever tried! They go on so sheer that u have to put on 2 or 3 coats and it looks uneven.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBlond

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I am writing a review for the color Everlasting Caramel. this is HG for me! I LOVE LOVE LOVE this color. Though it has the word "caramel" in its name on me its more of a pink. It stays on all day and brightens up my face. Definitely worth a try.

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I have the 'henna to heaven' shade. It is very shimmery and with the gloss on top it becomes too much shimmery/shiny for my taste. The good thing is that it can last all day and it doesn't leave marks on other surfaces (glasses, cheeks and lips of my husband).

About reviewer (24 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I have this in Continuous Crimson and a pink color (don't remember the name and don't like the color) and it truly does stay on FOREVER so long as you don't eat anything with oil or fatty foods like a steak or something. It is super drying once it dries down but the glossy end works very well to make the color glossy and it's really hydrating. This honestly works better than most of my high end liquid lipsticks. I plan to buy more colors soon!

About reviewer (111 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Curly, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

My HG! Have about 12 different shades. Exfoliate well first. Apply in light coats to build. Perfection.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I am the "kissed cup queen". My friends, family, and coworkers can always tell which glass, mug, cup, etc. is mine because of the tell tale red lips on the rim. But after I had a coworker suggest this product to me, my "title" has been revoked. I have to say, I'm thrilled I picked this up. The lip color stays on all day. All I really have to do is reapply the glossy end every now and then, (Side note: the glossy part is actually nice enough to wear with or without the lip color). I can eat and drink without worrying about the color fading. And when it comes time to take my makeup off at the end of the day, a simple lip scrub works wonders to remove the product. This has become my new go to lipstick, and I couldn't be happier.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Dry, Fair, Not Sure

HairRed, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I have this in Continual Crimson 213. This lipstick holds right up. I apply it at 6am, eat breakfast, eat lunch, drink coffee and water - it doesn't fade until after dinner. There is a bit of a learning curve, so I understand where others have run into to flaking issues. My very first application, the color came out kind of insipid - as if I had used Kool-Aid powder as lip stain. I loaded up the color to get what I wanted. The extra product came off in massive flakes as soon as I used the accompanying gloss/balm. On my second application, the color came out of the tube better and I didn't need to use as much. I do notice that there is minor flaking when I use the balm, so I don't use much of it (two applications a day, well after the color has dried keeps my lips comfortable). My co-worker marveled at watching me drink my Starbucks and seeing zero color come off on the cup.

About reviewer (34 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBlack

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

I have this product in 506 Red Infallible. I bought it on a whim in Boots for GBP 9.99 whilst on holiday in the UK - I never wear any colour apart from a sheer gloss, so for me this was a big change! I figured since I was so far from home it didn't matter if I looked ridiculous for a couple of weeks, heh. Turns out I love it (and I am not usually a drugstore brand girl). Through a bit of trial and error, I found these things really help the colour last: 1. Your lips should be smooth before applying. That means taking care of your lips even when you're not wearing this colour. Use lip balm/chapstick everyday, drink water, exfoliate them... whatever, but do something. This product is NOT nourishing or restorative, it's primarily a colour product so it follows that if your lips are smooth to begin with, the colour goes on better without catching on the dry skin, and lasts longer because your lips aren't peeling! 2. Take your time in applying this product. It only takes 5 minutes for >12 hours of colour! I can't say for sure if it lasts 24 hours but I have fallen asleep after wearing it to find it still in place 18 hours later with only minor areas of deficiency. I outline my lips (like a lip liner) with the very tip, then I fill in the colour from there so I don't overextend. I use a cotton bud tip to correct if I go outside my lip line. I also don't layer it on thick, at least with 506 Red Infallible I don't need it for the colour payoff anyway. 3. If you "mwah" your lips like with a normal gloss or lipstick when you try to evenly spread the colour, it won't work! It's something to do with how this product dries (tacky), but if you press your lips together it makes the colour spread weird. So don't do it, just rely on the brush to spread the colour. Wait about 2 mins, then apply the gloss. It will set and you'll be ready for the day. 4. Don't chew your lips during the day if you can help it. Obviously all you're doing is removing the layer of skin on which the lip colour is attached! I do this a lot and have to think consciously about not doing it. I've had no issues with eating and drinking, the colour remains intact completely. Some reviews have said it comes off with oily food - this would make sense I guess but I haven't had this happen. 5. I agree you need an oil based make up remover to get all this off. Please bear in mind the above is just my own experience, and yours may vary! Hope you guys end up loving it as much as I do. I docked a star because of the packaging - The closure on the pigment end feels flimsy and I'm always afraid I'm going to look in my purse and find it full of red goo. :)

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Coarse

EyesBrown