4.3

Created with Sketch.
96 reviews
82%
would repurchase
4.8/5
package quality

price range
$37.00 on Saks Fifth Avenue
Shop Now

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

I have No. 44 Nude Lavalliere which is described by Sephora as a pinkish brown. I'm fair with a cool leaning skin tone and this shade actually muted my natural lip color rather than enhancing it. It is also very shiny, has a thin, oily texture and a scent that is unpleasant to use...it's hard to place but perhaps like cantaloupe or honeydew melon. I don't care for anything with too much shine on my lips so between that and the "my lips but worse" effect it conveyed this was a big miss. The packaging serves its purpose but I find it dated and tacky looking. I've also tried using it to tone down some of my brighter lippies but the unflattering sheen combined with the nauseating smell make it mostly useless in that regard as well.

About reviewer (39 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel



2.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

This is an okay lip product, but I can’t justify $40 for it nor highly recommend it. It has the same consistency of the L’Oreal Colour Riche Shine lipsticks (L’Oreal owns YSL). I gave that product 3 stars because it is extremely sheer and not what I personally look for in a lip product. However, because the consistency is so cool and different from other products I would be willing to buy one of the L’Oreal products again. I couldn’t be so flippant with the purchase of another $40 YSL and since the YSL can be duped out for the L’Oreal one for a lot less, it lost an additional star. On the positive side, I definitely like the application and smell is definitely mangoes as another reviewer mentioned. It also does have a nice smooth consistency and would be a dry lip person’s dream. However, for me, wear time is extremely important (this comes off quickly). And I also prefer less sheer lipsticks. The packaging is definitely very luxurious, but what matters to me is what’s on the inside - not out. If you want to try this legit just go for the Color Riche. Complete dupe.

About reviewer (110 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

10 months ago

I got the vault from Sephora when it came out around Christmas. Need I say more? I really like this formula. It's so hydrating and the colour is a really nice balance of being saturated without being over done. Particularly with a moisturizing formula, I don't want a super pigmented lipstick because then it gets everywhere. This stays put and the hydration really lasts until it wears off. A lot of other balmy lip colours tend to dry out my lips by the end of their wear time so I'm not sure how this manages to stay so smooth (might be the oil versus other ingredients). It smells really nice, like mangoes, but isn't over powering. Packaging is gorgeous (as you can already see). If you can stomach the price, would definitely recommend.

About reviewer (121 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I have No47 Beige Blouse which is really a nudey pink leaning cool, quite "bridal" looking. This "oil in stick" goes on very glossy, leaves a nice layer of color which feels very balmy and comfortable while managing to let the natural color of your lips peek trough. I use it either on its own or on top of other lipsticks that are too matte to make them look more lively or too peachy to neutralize. Also works great as a glossy blush. This lipstick smells like mango and the packaging is divine. I can see some color even after the sheen has faded. My main issue is that it doesn't last more than 30' and almost all seem to have noticeable brightness which makes it harder to pick shades.

About reviewer (944 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Curly, Medium

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

There are so many YSL "Volupte" items that I had to check several times to make sure there wasn't yet a category for this new "lipstick" - the names are getting so long and convoluted! And given my experience with the product so far, I wasn't sure whether to place my review under "lipstick" or "lip gloss" but as YSL calls these "lipsticks" (and this has affected my review), here's where I've put it! I fell in love with the look and colour of 3 or 4 of these beauties when I first saw them online. Rouge Cape, Red Cassandre, Tuxedo Red and Burgundy love all caught my eye. They're pricey little gems here in Canada so I started with one - in the colour Rouge Cape. This is a gorgeous colour - a bright, rosy red - and it's not surprising that it's sold out online but my local Sephora had it in stock. The product feels gorgeous going on and silky and hydrating on my lips, something I especially appreciate in the depths of winter. And for all its silkiness, it stays put and doesn't bleed or smear all over the place. If this lipstick (they DO call it LIPSTICK) stayed on for more than 15 minutes, I would be dashing back to Sephora at my first opportunity to purchase a few more shades but, honestly, this stuff is GONE in no time. It does leave a bit of a stain behind but only a bit. For the price, it is a let-down and I'm better off with Burt's Bees tinted lip balms for $6! The packaging is typical YSL lipstick packaging and not really my cup of tea (too busy looking). If these were $15 or 20 each, I'd purchase a few more but not at $40 in Canada. Just too expensive for what is basically a drug store lip balm.

About reviewer (1489 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Very disappointed with this. It looks very pretty once applied for about 30 seconds, then quickly loses shine and colour on my lips. Also, the shade I chose (6) morphs from a lovely medium pink, to a muted pinkish-orange colour on my lips which is so not flattering. The packaging is gorgeous and elegant as with all Yves Saint Laurent cosmetics, but I don't think I'll be purchasing much from this brand in the future as the quality just is not there beyond the packaging.

About reviewer (358 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Other, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

overall: 7.5/10 This is extremely expensive for a lipstick, but if you really want to get one, I do recommend them. I have the shade #19, which is a pinky-purple. It's a very glossy, light formula - not sheer, but not fully opaque either. It feels like nothing on the lips, but still manages to be hydrating. There is a floral-y fragrance as with all YSL products. I think this is a great, wearable product - it doesn't feather, and fades gracefully. Good for work. I would purchase more shades. The packaging is stunning and feels expensive as it's quite sturdy.

About reviewer (156 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I have lipsticks than run the gamut- from Tom Ford Nars, Chanel, Mac to Rimmel... and I think most of the hype around this product is the beautiful case and scent. The formula just doesn’t feel good on the lips after a few minutes. I’ve bought two colors and while the colors were very nice the formulas of both were not impressive. The formula feels like a cheap drugstore balm. #44 was a very pretty nude pink, and felt fine at first but after a few minutes it felt slippery all over my lips like Vaseline or something you would expect from a drugstore. Then it dried out after 10 minutes and I could feel every line and flake on my lips, seemingly worse than if I had nothing The cases are like art, but I can’t justify the price for mostly a gorgeous case and scent. Ive had Rimmel, Revlon and Loreal lip products that felt better :/

About reviewer (162 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Olive, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Okay. Is this worth $40? Of course not. Do I care? Of course not! This is an absolutely gorgeous lipgloss/stain. I have it in #8Pink in Confidence, a soft, luminous pink and in #9Nude in Private, a peachy, natural MLBB color. Love them both. Tried #44, but it looks very muddy on. This formula is very unique in that it seems like a gloss, but doesn’t bleed at all and lasts quite well. Even when it’s worn off, it leaves a nice soft stain behind. Not to mention the beautiful tube it comes in!! If you want subtle, beautiful lips get this.

About reviewer (173 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Other, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Bought this in No 44 - Its an amazing color and I have bought a few more as this is such a perfect 'Lip' shade and a very soft shade of pink. It is nourishing for lips and although it is not a lasting lipstick, it is one that I wear every day. I just hope they never discontinue this color. Gorgeous and of course, amazingly lovely packaging. Looks like a jewel case - But, there is no dupe for this one in cheaper lipsticks. The 'In-oil' formula and colour are unique to YSL.

About reviewer (164 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesBlue





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.