3.5

Created with Sketch.
22 reviews
64%
would repurchase
3.6/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

The essence mousse foundation works the best on me when I’m blending it in with my fingers or a damp sponge as it will give me a light-weight but even finish. It stays on all day long, and it's very affordable.https://youtu.be/ee9dTVsHN2A

About reviewer (239 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

I discovered the brand recently and I am gobsmacked as someone who applies makeup not every day you can't keep up anymore with all the new brands on the market.. The thing is that I don't trust them. Most of the products are looking overpriced but not this brand. Seems to be a very good quality and it's affordable because not everybody has lots of money. I am a single mom and i have 3 kids so have to work really hard everyday..anyway this foundation feels so soft on my skin and has a "mom" coverage if you know what I mean. Love it can recommend it, my daughters love it as well. I can recommend it 😘😍

About reviewer (36 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

I bought this product a while ago, and I had no idea about what a mousse foundation was. The person who was selling it told me how to use it, and that I didn't need much for the application. So I gave it a go, and I bought the lightest shade, well at least it was the lightest shade that they had which was 04 matt ivory. It feels so soft on my skin like "mousse" very fluffy formula, not too heavy I have dry to normal skin, and the coverage is fantastic. Not sure why not more companies are producing mousse foundations. I love it very affordable, and I can recommend it. 😀

About reviewer (41 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Important; i have dry skin. I actually felt so dumb for the amount of money ive spent on foundation when this was out there the whole time, omg, €4.90!!! I haven't used mousse since my very early teens so i didn't know what to expect, i know with mousse you ought to use a small amount and not overdo it, its very easy to get cakey wheb usinh mousse so use sparingly, plus a little goes such a long way! It makes you look all porcelain smooth and i love how it dries, the finish is beautiful! I have shade 04 which is perfect for when i have fake tan but for when i don't I'll pick up some lighter ones. It covers anything up nicely and BONUS, contour and highlight look beautiful over it! The mousse formula makes blending countour that much easier, (i can NOT blend lmao). I dont know what it is or why but my highlighter just sits over it so perfectly. Dries quickly but not instantly so you can work around with it, ive had mine on for 9 hours now and still looks like when i first put it on. It feels very fluffy. Its very light but the coverage is VERY full and like i said gives a dollface look. It blends in so easily, i wasnt sure how to go about blending mousse so i finger blended. Not heavily perfumed either. Ill be using this from now on!

About reviewer (31 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

For a cheap make up product this is fantastic for my skin, I have a very oily T-Zone and was weary about putting on mousse but it covered my skin completely and even hid the usual blemishes and dark spots perfectly It does oxidise after about 4 - 5 hours so it does require touching up, however it has a very light feel and doesn't become patchy which I get with other foundations such as Rimmel and especially L'Oreal A very worthwhile buy

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlack

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I love this foundation it has a nice matt finish covers well.for me at first when I decided to try it I was a bit hesitant just looking at it I was "not gonna match" but I was pleasantly suprised to the point of not wanting to use it up .maybelline also has a similar product but I find the essence brand to be better .loving it for a drugstore foundation and I have oily skin

About reviewer (96 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Medium Brown, Neutral

HairBrown, Other, Medium

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

When I was younger Essence was my favourite brand. Probably because it was the only brand I could afford with my pocket money. Everything I owned makeup-wise was Essence. I still love the brand. But this product... It's just no good. I used it for years as a teenager because it was Essence. I tried different colours, but mostly used Ivory. All of the colours were just too dark and almost orange. The texture felt nice, but didn't lay on the skin well, it got in the smile lines and the sides of my nose. As I remember the coverage was okay but not really what I was looking for. I was having quite a lot of acne and it didn't cover that at all. It actually made the acne stand out more! After a long time and a raise of pocket money I finally bought another foundation and never looked back to my orange days.

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinVery Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Pros - It's easy to apply - Gives a soft and smooth powdery finished - Good price - You can layer it on top of liquid foundation - You can apply powder on top of it Cons - The packaging makes the product hard to scrape off on the side rim of its container - It's more suitable for dry to combination skin types

About reviewer (20 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

My Shade: Matte Ivory 04 Other shades that work for me: TF BTW Porcelain, EL Doublewear 1N2 Ecru, MAC C1. Essence Soft Touch Mousse foundation is my first foray into mousse foundation and I was pleasantly surprised. This foundation was only $5AUD which is incredibly cheap so I didn't have great expectations. However, I only had to use a very little amount of foundation in order to get full coverage. I simply scooped a small amount out of the container with my fingers and then used my fingers to apply it to my face, sort of like applying a BB cream. The consistency of the product is very nice, it is air light and does not feel heavy on the skin. It gives a flawless, airbrushed finish. It provides a full coverage with a matte finish. I have dry skin and it did not dry out my skin or cause any irritation, redness or sensitivity so I was pleasantly surprised. The foundation stayed matte all day and did not separate or fade. The colour match - Matte Ivory 04 - was a good match for my skin. No oxidation occurred. The product comes in a small glass tub with a screw on lid. It is very sturdy and will be great for traveling or throwing into your handbag. This is a great buy for beauty lovers on a budget.

About reviewer (740 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

Shade I purchased: 04, Matt Ivory I will never purchase this again, as it broke me out. It feels as if it would blend into the skin nicely, but it accentuates dry patches. It's a low to a low/medium coverage foundation. I broke out around my nose with white blocked pores. It doesn't smell odd though. This is a foundation that has pink undertones that didn't work out for my beige and yellow undertones.

About reviewer (13 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Relaxed, Medium

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us