3.7

Created with Sketch.
147 reviews
69%
would repurchase
3.4/5
package quality

price range
$12.00 on Lookfantastic
Shop Now

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

Let me start off by saying, this powder is NOT meant for baking with. It is a finishing powder, I use a light dusting of it all over my face and particularly on the places where I apply concealer (under eyes) and it helps my makeup last longer but most importantly prevents creasing and helps with oil control. My skin gets oily very easily and I find that this helps keep my skin matte throughout the day without being too drying. Since this isn't meant for baking, if you do try to bake with it it will give you flashback in photos. A light all-over dusting is what this is meant for.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther



4.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

When I first got this powder I tried applying this straight on top of my foundation and it ended up looking mega white in patches which showed up in photo's and different lightings. It also made my foundation transparent which was not good. So my advice is dont use as a setting powder if you use a dewy liquid foundation like I do. But I found this to be an excellent powder for putting on top of my standard setting powder as it really makes my pores pretty much dissappear. It is also excellent for touch ups on my oily t zone during the day because it doesn't make me look cakey. I will definitely be buying again especially since its so cheap and you use very little each time.

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairRed, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I wanted to love this. Honestly, I'm getting ready to go to Asia for 2 weeks this fall with my husband, and I bought this because I wanted to save some money (rather than re-upping on my trusty Makeup Forever). Eeek. I don't even have particularly dry skin, and this stuff is a dumpster fire. In an effort to give some perspective -- I moisturize as part of my cleansing routine, I prime and I use a tinted sunscreen/moisturizer (Tarte) in lieu of a foundation. My face feels so hideously dry that I'm honestly debating washing my face and just going barefaced at work today -- it's that bad. It isn't particularly finely milled and the smell is somewhat off-putting (although I could get around all of that if it was a good product -- it's not). I used a light hand and a very fluffy Sephora Professional powder brush, so it's not an issue of not understanding how to apply it/use it. I'd like to think I just got a bad batch, because this is the first NYX product I haven't loved -- let alone loathed. If I still had my receipt, I'd be returning this, but I don't, so it's going in the trash. I can't (in good conscience) give this away to anyone. Yikes.

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

The powder has a little bit of a smell, not much though. It’s only bad if you accidentally inhale a large amount through your nose. The powder has some flashback, and if you turn your face a certain way, it becomes flashback Mary. If you use it in light dustings it’s not too bad, but there’s still that “flashback”. It also sticks. Like I’ll be brushing away the powder after a baking and there will be this patch that won’t go away. Saying that... DONT use it as setting powder, ie baking your undereyes. You will end up looking like a polar bear. Though, saying that, it’s not a setting powder, it’s a finishing powder and is not meant for setting makeup. But you know, if you don’t have your setting powder, you gotta use the next best thing. Other than that. The powder is extremely silky and soft. When I first got it, I put some on my hand as a swatch test, and I was mesmerized. So smooth. It is also very matte, for those oily skin users. In addition, I’ll use the powder under my makeup (over liquids) to blur redness and acne, because it does a great job at that.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinOily, Fair, Not Sure

HairOther, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is a FINISHING powder. Not a setting powder. Those saying not to bake with this are clueless. Finishing powders are not meant to bake with and set foundation. Finishing powders are meant to FINISHING your makeup. A light dusting at the very end. Use a SETTING powder to set with. Educate yourselves before leaving cap reviews. When used properly there is no flashback. Nice silky texture.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

Second Update 2018---- I have a ton of drugstore powders and this is my favorite one for setting. I love using it with matte foundations because silica is super absorbent allowing me to quickly set areas with concealer using a small amount of product on a brush (I use the Elf Blush brush). Whatever is left on the brush I distribute on the rest of the face. In this small amount, it's almost undetectable but still effective. Using a lot of powder with matte foundations can be a disaster, and with this one you don't have to. As I've gotten older my tinted loose powders make my fine lines look worse, and if the powder is too heavy (like the Maybelline Fit me powder) it just adds unwanted texture to my skin oftentimes). What I do now is use this HD loose powder to se my liquid/cream products, and then I use one of my tinted powders conservatively, on unwrinkled areas, for the blurring effect. Will repurchase :3 Update 2018 -------- I'm bumping this up to five stars. There is absolutely nothing wrong with this powder. It's translucent and when applied properly close to undetectable. What you WILL see is the mattifying effect it has. From rotating my powders I've noticed this one is SUPER absorbent. You only need a little. It seems Silica (the sole ingredient in this powder) is waaay more absorbent than say, talc. The best way (and the only way I would suggest) to use this to set makeup, is in a THIN layer. Do not bake with this, you will look super dried up. You also need a soft brush. Most of my brushes are not soft enough and when I go to sweep powder on, they remove foundation and cream contour; you get one of those "where did the coverage go?" moments. So aim for a thin layer and use a VERY soft brush to sweep it on, or EVEN BETTER use a soft flat brush, a velour puff, or a dry sponge and PAT PAT on the powder all over before sweeping softly. To set concealer I use the WET N WILD fluffy Crease brush (white handle) which is amazing for applying a thin even layer of powder around the eye area to set concealer and eye primer, or just any flat foundation brush. The other great thing about this powder, besides its invisibility act and incredible absorbency, is that its ONE ingredient. A dream for my acne-prone skin. So I tested this powder on its own and it didn't clog my pores. So silica milled to this size is ACNE SAFE (for me). What that means is that I can use this powder to test foundations and color products for comedogenicity, and know FOR SURE, this wasn't the culprit. Which is awesome. I Prime my face with a thin layer of this over my skincare, and I finish my makeup with a thin layer of this which is great for my oily skin without committing the sin of piling on too much of such an absorbent powder. If I put too much my face feels dry and tight, and I have oily skin. Also concerning shimmer, it doesn't have any. The NYX MINERAL setting powder may have some, but not this one. The mineral setting powder breaks me out, this one doesn't. I have repurchased already and I would repurchase. The only skin type I would not recommend this to is Very Dry skin. You don't need such an absorbent powder, you need something weaker with less silica, or no silica. Probably something Talc, or Mica based, or even a luminous pressed powder, because those can have oils and silicones added to them, which makes them even less absorbent/drying, something like the Charlotte Tilbury Skin Perfecting Micro-Powder.

About reviewer (350 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

seems to set the makeup just fine but i just cant get past the little chunks of shimmer in it. no desire to look like a disco ball. the search continues....

About reviewer (101 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Feels nice on the face, easy to apply but gives a horrible flashback. Never bake with it.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Leaves a white filter on your face & FLASHBACK!

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I want to love this product. When applied the powder to my foundation as the last step, it really helps smooth out my skin. However, during application with a big dome brush, the powder falls off everywhere: my table, my shirt, the floor,... Also, the powder evaporate and i inhale it (because I applied it on to my face) and that is not pleasant at all.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Tan

HairBlack

EyesBlack





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.