3.9

Created with Sketch.
17 reviews
88%
would repurchase
2.6/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This oil is legit saving my hair. A small backstory: I have mostly straight, thick hair and I know I really don’t have a lot to complain about. If I had one tiny thing though it would be about how quickly my scalp gets oily. So I’d read about this trick wherein you add a teaspoon of sea salt to your bottle regular shampoo. This trick supposedly helps in keeping the oil at bay. I followed the directions and it worked a little too well, as in my scalp became dehydrated and my hair started falling out! I figured out that my little shampoo trick had been a terrible idea and figured the only way to re-hydrate was with oil. My initial thought was to pick up some good old V05 but then I noticed this one at the drugstore so I figured it could do the job as well. My method of application is that before I shower, I massage it into my scalp. I then put on a shower cap so as to not wash it off. The steam of the shower also heats up the cap, ergo the oil on my scalp really penetrates while I stand under the water. After about 5 minutes (sometimes longer depending on how much time I have), I remove the cap and shampoo my hair (I’ve replaced my salty shampoo with Maui’s Coconut Milk shampoo, which is helping as well since it cleans without stripping my hair). I then follow with my conditioner as usual. My hair has stopped falling out and looks and feels infinitely healthier than it did prior. I know the oil has a lot to do with this change since I had already switched to the Maui shampoo before having purchased the oil. Considering the price of this product (the quantity is little but I honestly don’t need to use a lot of it to get the desired effect) and it’s efficiency, I will continue to buy this for even after

About reviewer (112 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Tan, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown



4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Smells divine like a sophisticated vanilla and spice. Doesn't really do that much for my hair. Seems like just a regular serum to me!

About reviewer (446 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Let me start off by saying how amazing this smells. I absolutely love it! I also wish the results were as good as the scent. It does soften my hair and adds some shine but nothing amazing, you do have to be careful because it can weigh it down or look greasy if you apply even the slightest bit too much. I use a very small amount on wet hair and blow dry. It only softens the hair a bit but does not help all that much with smoothing, straightening, or frizz when I use it this way. It does not add any shine when I use it before blow drying. If I use it after it really does not do a good job smoothing at all. I love the small little glass vials but I also hate them because they are inconvenient and not very practical. Maybe if they had a flip or twist top??? Either way, I would not repurchase.

About reviewer (1081 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Oily, Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I like this product because it smells delicious and softens my dry ends and calms my frizzies, but it doesn't actually do anything beneficial long-term. As soon as I wash my hair, the frizz and dryness is back. The macadamia oil can't really help your hair because this stuff is loaded with silicones that make it difficult to absorb--it's more like a coating/seal. But the price is good, it doesn't weigh my hair down or make it look greasy, and it's great for a nice smelling quick fix. I wish it came in a larger bottle, I'd buy it for sure.

About reviewer (56 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

I really like this product. I bought it for the first time recently and use it almost every night. It's thick so you don't have to use a lot. It smells good as well. I use it to detangle my hair.

About reviewer (14 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

My hair is oily at the roots but bone dry at the ends. I have been experimenting with all the hair oils out there and have found two issues with all of them. One, they are expensive and two, they make my hair look greasy. This product is the only hair oil treatment that I like. It is not expensive and doesn't make my hair look dirty and gross. My only issue is it takes multiple applications to really get my desired result. I put it in my hair while it is still wet but when I dry my hair it still needs more. So I put another application in after I blowdry and sometimes I put a third application. I know this sounds like a lot but I like the fact that I can use a little or a lot and it still looks not greasy AT ALL!!

About reviewer (1023 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

(this review is for the Hask Argon oil treatment, same bottle exept blue cap) I love this product! honestly it makes my hair soo soft. Right when I apply it I can feel a difference in my hair, my hair feels silkier and I can actually run my fingers through it without it getting tangled. A month ago I bought the Morrocan Oil Treatment for 40.00$ somthin dollars, it works great too best oil treatment iv tried, but its so expensive. THIS makes my hair feel exactly like that, So much softer and it only costed around 3.00$! Iv tried the Mark anthony coconut oil and shea butter oil treatment for 10.00$ and it didn't make my hair feel or look any healthier if anything It felt drier :/ so I threw it out. Then I bought this one and my hair looks and feels healthier like I just got a hair trim cause the ends are so soft...for only 3 dollars! I told my sisters to try it and they loved it too. Its a thick consistency like the Morrocan oil treatment, but it absorbs easily and leaves no residue. It kind of smells like oranges:p overal id recommend this product you won't be disappointed

About reviewer (1 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBlack


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Add me to the list of ladies just discovering and enjoying Hask products. I have purchased (4) of them so far, and very much liked 3 of the 4. I purchased this, as well as the Macadamia Hydrating Shampoo and Conditioner, as well as the correlating mask (which was the only product I did not like). First, one of the reasons I purchased this line is the SCENT. It is incredible, and I am migraine-prone and have to watch it with fragrance. This has a sweet, fruity-yet earthy smell, kind of vanilla orange like. I'm not sure how to describe it, but I love it. (The coordinating shampoo and conditioner smell the same.) I have dry, damaged hair and am always looking for products to help improve the condition of my hair. I use this on towel dried hair and then let my hair air dry. In the morning, my hair is wavy and soft, not crispy, waxy, or weird. For the record, I have thin hair. I was born that way and the damage my hair experienced at the hands of an inept salon owner last year left it worse. But even with thin hair, this product, in a very small amount, works great. It makes my ends look less damaged and frizzy and doesn't weigh my hair down. My only complaint, already voiced by others on here, is the container. It's pretty dumb. You have to be careful when pop the top open not to send the whole vial flying or dump it out. And you have to be VERY careful with how much you dispense in your hand, because it comes out quickly and you don't need a lot. But for the super cheap price, I can live with the container and am overall very pleased. This is so much cheaper, better smelling, and equally effective as any number of much higher priced oils and serums I already own. I will definitely re-purchase and plan to try as many products in their line as I can. I hope to write a review of the shampoo and conditioner soon, because so far, I am also very pleased with the results of those as well.

About reviewer (240 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

(This review is for the Argan Oil not the Macadamia oil) I bought this because I have super dry color treated hair and I was actually looking for the Hask Argan Oil Deep Conditioning cream but this was all I could find at the store. I love the citrusy orange scent of this oil. I have baby fine long straight hair and I used a nickle sized drop of this on dry hair and my hair soaked it up immediately. An hour later I used a quarter sized amount and while it looked oily at first, when I checked a couple of hours later, all the oil had been soaked up and my hair did indeed look much smoother and silkier and the frizzies were tamed for the most part. I have used this 5 times already (1/2 the vial) and it seems to be working great for my hair type so far. This still isn't giving me quite the same results as the deep conditioner does, but it is second best and a great product and I plan on repurchasing this when I run out. I don't much care for the packaging as it simply pours out from the vial and I would prefer a twist up top with a stopper and a squeeze type bottle instead. If I happen to drop this one with the lid off, it's going to be a small mess and no salvaging this product. This was easy to wash off my fingers too after use and that's important too. It still isn't a replacement for the deep conditioner but it is something I have now added to my hair care program. I like that this can be used on damp or dry hair. I don't wash my hair every day but I do use hair shine enhancer/oil/mist of some type every day to moisturize and fight the frizzies since I live in a humid tropical climate. This is very reasonably priced for a couple of dollars and I found it at Walgreen's so it is something that I will be able to replenish easily. I really like everything about this oil. I'm glad I gave it a try.

About reviewer (441 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

HATED IT. My friend and I were both looking for a deep conditioning mask for our hair since it was feeling a little dry. Last week I had purchased a sample size of the actual Macadamia brand deep repair masque and it was amazing. We found this at Sally's and picked it up for $5 but we only needed one for two of us since it had lots in it. We both shampooed our hair then came out of the shower to do the masque together. We followed the instructions and left it on for a little over 10 minutes then rinsed it out. In the shower my hair didn't feel smooth like I just conditioned it, instead it felt like rubber and I got really worried. My friend reported the same thing. When our hair was almost dry we went to check on it in the bathroom. OMG my hair was a frizzy, dry, dull, mess!! Same with hers. It was horrible. We both started to SCREAM. Both of our hairs are naturally really soft and silky. I had just recovered from damage from ombreing my hair and this made it terrible. We decided to use a leave in conditioner and braid our hairs for the night. Thankfully when we woke up our hair was looking a bit better but I will NEVER use that product again. I'm sticking to the actual Macadamia Brand.

About reviewer (23 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown