3.3

Created with Sketch.
67 reviews
58%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range
$13.30 on Lookfantastic
Shop Now

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

19 days ago

My hair became unrecognizable a few years back. I’m in my 30’s but was not expecting a change so drastic. It used to be long, thick, soft and shiny. I’m not sure why but I started noticing more and more hair on the floor and that my hair was getting shorter. My hair became very brittle and dry, like no matter how many deep conditioners or oils I put in it made no difference. I became so self-conscious because every time people saw me they asked if I had just gotten a haircut. This went on for 2 years. I finally dragged my butt to the doctor and was told I suffered from low vitamin D. Doc said my thyroid was fine which I thought might be the culprit. I started taking D3 and a liquid multivitamin with some improvement in growth and volume but couldn’t get my hair back to my goal length. I’ve been taking Viviscal for only a month and using the conditioner and I have gotten so many compliments on my hair. It is shiny, voluminous, and seems to be getting length already. The shedding seems to have decreased as well. I’m eager to see how it looks in a few months. I’ve had no acne or upset stomach that some have reported. Make sure you take one in the morning and one at night. Taking both pills together against directions could account for some of those quirky side effects. I have noticed that my scalp is more prone to itching (pre-existing dermatitis) and builds up oil quicker so I have to wash a little more often than usual. That does not bother me one bit because hair needs oils in order to grow. One slight observation. My since starting this my period came early (after 21 days vs. 28) which I have heard that some women have reported. The bright side is my cramps were less severe. Could be a fluke. Anyway, I definitely recommend!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Tan

HairBrunette

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

Been using Viviscal for four years when health and stress etc turned my long, thick & glossy pride and joy into a carpet, as much on the floor as my head. Viviscal 1: it’s not a cure all. 2 it’s great if you want to improve already decent hair, it surely will. 3: it does help grow hair 4: till one has used it for over six months one can’t judge, so if you can keep records, photos, notes on how quickly your hair grows before Viviscal etc. 5: if one stops using it more hair starts to shed, with me anyway. 6: lack of sleep effects hair shedding and any hormonal change however tiny... ugh. 7: hair doesn’t like dieting either, it’s a nanny, early to bed & lashings of wholesome food, or else. When first my hair started to behave oddly, shedding, I visited a local trichologist who was utterly useless. So I found Viviscal & shedding slowed down and (after a month or two) my hair began slowly to grow back and then at top speed. ( I was using a few therapies: Viviscal, minoxidil liquid, later switching to minoxidil foam for men maximum strength (once a day - recommendation to me by a famous dermatologist) plus balancing out hormones which decrease seriously from 35 and Florisene ( a powerful iron & lysine supplement for women whose iron deficiency is making hair shed). Studies show iron deficit is a big factor in most women losing hair, telegenic effluvium, but supplementation with iron, the study reports, only helps only when lysine is included, florisene includes lysine. My hair grew back as thick & long as ever. Which did the job? Evening out hormones (progesterone starts to lower in the 30’s) & iron, then the others were important adjuncts. However my hair still has fits if I eat too much sugar or allow it into my diet much and i’ve found if I stop Viviscal my hair sheds, forget it for a day, it sheds lightly. I hear Nourikin is good & has even better ingredients, I may try them just to compare. Is Viviscal worth it for you, or Nourikrin? If you want your hair to grow longer quicker, maybe, if you’re hair is shedding, maybe but i’d try Florisene first in the case of shedding (because of the lysine and the iron is in much more useful amounts) and then if not getting the results you want or you’re sure iron isn’t an issue, Viviscal it is. I wish I could advice myself when my hair first began to be a problem, I now have to use the cocktail I do or I have shedding, but maybe I could have just got the same results with Florisene alone. N.B. Anyone with hair loss due to iron insufficiency needs to be patient about shedding cessation, but do relax, it will work. If low iron stores is the problem causing shedding, those stores have to refill ( which takes a long time, one can’t over do the iron supplementation dose, the body can’t tolerate too much iron daily or it would cause unpleasant digestive problems) and new hair form as a result, this can take up to six months and for some a year. Some are fortunate & hair stops falling out in weeks, depends of course on one’s iron stores. Edit: after several years using Viviscal, am switching to Nourikrin. Reason: better ingredients, more nourishment for follicles.

About reviewer (103 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinVery Dry, Fair

HairBlond

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

This product did not work. Complete waste of hundreds of dollars. I’m starting to think most of the positive reviews about it online are fake. I’ve used it for over a year with absolutely no improvement. Update Jan 30th: I’m starting to notice my nails are stronger. So maybe it is working. Still not seeing much difference in my hair though.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Ordered this product directly from the company and they billed me $65.00 They sent me a package I did not order and then put me in their auto subscribe program. I called them to return the products and cancel all future shipments. They told me that they did all their returns by US mail so I had to wait for the return label... another 7-10 business days.. than I had to return the package and of course no credit until they received the package... and to add insult to injury they proceeded to bill me $40 for their auto subscribe program, while I have absolutely nothing in my hands and over $100 of my money in their hands. So I called again and guess what I was told another 7-10 business days before they would credit my account as they had just received the return package. In todays online marketing almost everyone offers return labels by email or a link to print... so that these returns are seamless and credits are often issued with the proof of shipment such as a tracking number. How does Viviscal think they can do this to THEIR CUSTOMERS? Beyond me

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinVery Dry, Fair

HairGrey

EyesHazel


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Ok, just in case you were wondering...the somewhat vague 'promotes existing hair growth from within' text on the packaging of Viviscal is only written because in certain countries (mostly European) hair loss products are not allowed to state 'stop hair loss' or any similar wording, as that categorizes the product as a medicine - with a whole bunch of complicated criteria involved in getting the product onto the market. And how do I know this? Because I asked the manufacturers of my HG hair loss product as to why they were so vague with their own products' wording and claims, and they told me there are different rules for products in the UK and Europe compared to the U.S - which is much more relaxed when it comes to product claims and wording. Now, onto Viviscal itself... approximately 7 years ago I purchased this online (a 9 month pack) and took my dosage at the specified intervals every day, until I had gone through the entire course. I purchased this, not due to reviews or hype, but because I had read the ingredients list on the back of the tablets' packaging and identified quite a few of the ingredients as being beneficial for people suffering from hair loss (Zinc, Horsetail extract and Vit C, amongst others). Although I'm not a vegetarian or vegan (but am working towards being) I did still notice some of the ingredients are animal-derived, somewhat to my dismay. But despite that, I figured with all the beneficial ingredients included, this will work for me. But did it? Unfortunately not. I stuck with this religiously but did not see any difference in the amount of hair shedding, nor the thickness of my existing hair. By the end of the 9 month course I took a photo of my hairline and compared it to one taken the previous year, just before I had started the course of Viviscal. The difference was not obvious in any way. I could have taken the same pictures a few weeks apart and it would have looked the same as the 9 month before and after that I took. Thankfully no side-effects (obviously as ingredients were more or less totally natural-derived) but also no positive effects for my hair either. I had high hopes for this but nothing as such materialized. I'm guessing that this is one of those products that works for some but doesn't for others, as per the reviews before mine - many positive and an equal number negative. Sad to say my experience falls into the latter :/ Selena x ~ My HG list ~ (I've sampled many 100s of skin, hair and m/u products over the last decade and a half, as I love constantly trying out new stuff - usually sample sizes via e-bay, also plenty courtesy of a friend who works at Sephora. Thought it might be useful to share my top 10 must-have products, subject to change if and when I come across something more effective) 1. Hair Loss Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Hair Oil 2. Lip Balm: Jack Black - Intense Therapy 3. Pigmentation + Anti-Ageing Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Facial Treatment Serum 4. Cleanser: 'Paula's Choice' - Skin Balancing Cleanser 5. Concealer: ‘Mac’ - Studio Finish Concealer 6. Lash Growth Serum: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Divinelash 7. Foundation/SPF: ‘Juice Beauty’ - Stem Cellular Repair (warm glow) 8. Face Scrub: ‘Sisley' - Botanical Gentle Buffing Cream 9. Moisturizer: ‘Antipodes' - Rejoice Light Day Cream 10. Hand Cream: 'Origins' - Make A Difference Rejuvenating Hand Treatment

About reviewer (567 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Tan, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

Stopped my hair falling out which is why i bought it. Is my hair longer.. I'm not sure its already pretty long(waist). Not sure if my cycles are affected since I have what feels like the worst periods of anyone on planet earth (due to endo) but the I'm grateful for the reviews that mentioned this being possible. Within the first few wks of taking I stopped shedding so much hair.

About reviewer (239 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Don't listen to reviews of people who used this product for less than 6 months. This product in a long term commitment. It took me 18 months to go from brittle thin hair, to shiny ticker longer hair. This is not an over-night sensation product. It takes time to work. Hair only grows 1/2 inch per month after all. I love this project. It makes my hair look beautiful. I have very thin fine hair and with Viviscal I can grow it past my shoulders. I'm also 46 and have had 2 babies.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Please don't waste your hard earned $ on this product. I purchase a 3 month supply from my local CVS and used it religiously during that time. It did ABSOLUTELY NOTHING for my hair. Just for reference I'm 59 years old with hair damaged from coloring and I think thinning from aging. No other history of medical condition that would cause general overall thinning so really hoped that Viviscal would do something to restore my locks. I saw no difference at all after the 3 months and if anything my hair is actually thinner. Please don't buy this. I believe it's a scam. Biotin 5000 mcg daily will do just as much for your hair, and without the obvious super high cost.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Other, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I have been using Viviscal for 2 months. I have missed 3 doses .Yesterday, while in the shower i noticed the most hair shedding I have EVER seen. I'm afraid to keep using this product. I don't know why this is now happening. This is the only change in my life so I'm sure it is the result of using this product.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOther, Medium Brown

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

SO HAPPY WITH THIS!! I've only taken it about 2 months, and I really wasn't sure it would work. I had thinned out hair due to past multiple bleach damage, plus lots of split ends and frizz. When I started taking this, I didn't notice any positive change in my hair at all - if anything it looked thin and tangly and greasy (that could also in part be due to the fact that I was sick with Cat Scratch Fever which I caught from my kitty - I'm now being treated for it.) I also freaked out in the earlier days because I started to notice I was shedding these really, really tiny, thin very short strands -- and that made me panic that the hair bulbs were "dying" or something. I decided it was another expensive bust. But I still kept taking it, regardless. Well, I'm SO GLAD I DID. Because not only did that tiny hair strand stuff stop shedding, but I've been noticing tiny baby hairs all over my scalp for a while now. And now, after 2 months of Viviscal (I was even pretty erratic with it at times, but I did finish 2 boxes completely) my hair is sooo much longer, thicker (not my imagination), and naturally shinier too. I've only done 2 months!! And I got this much positive length and thickening, despite being sick! This stuff really works... Even my mom noticed and commented spontaneously, and at first i didn't believe her but I objectively noticed how much thicker it looked in the mirror when out shopping yesterday! It's still not my goal thickness but is way thicker than it was before. I'm pretty sure 6 months of this will be amazing for my hair (and even my skin seems brighter.) Can't say I've particularly noticed a change in my nails though, but again that wasn't my target or concern. Very happy and looking fwd to 4 more months! Possibly more for maintenance. 5 stars!! <3 ★★★★★

About reviewer (22 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Olive, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.