4.2

Created with Sketch.
515 reviews
82%
would repurchase
4.4/5
package quality

price range
$11.49 on Ulta Beauty
Shop Now

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

22 days ago

I love this eyeliner. I rarely wear eyeliner, my eyes are sensitive and eyeliner (and mascara) usually makes them burn. I can actually wear this eyeliner for several hours without my eyes making me miserable. It also stays on through 2-3 applications of dry eye drops per day. The tip is perfect for dotting in between lashes to make them look thicker. I find a natural look is most flattering for me, and this method of eyeliner application works best. I use the dark brown and would looove to find a gray.

About reviewer (16 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairRed, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel



4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 months ago

Ultra black is a good matte black shade. Lasts all day on my oily lids and is smudge resistant. The brush is easy to get a thin or thick line and a crisp skinny wing. Slightly runs up into the wrinkles if you have mature eyelids, but not bad. Does not make my eyelashes grow thicker or longer, any "serum" effects are non existent. Goes on without a problem for a few weeks. But after a few weeks it has an annoying habit of drying too quickly while applying. It dries so fast it goes on rubbery and skips, then is too dry to fill in the gaps. Yet there is still lots of fluid left as it can do an opaque line on my hand, just not on my eye. It has a shorter life /dries out faster than my Kat Von D or Maybelline Hyperwing. If I couldn't get one of those two I'd consider buying this again if it went on sale....but I'd probably try something else instead.

About reviewer (1233 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

DO NOT BUY THIS EYELINER IF YOU'RE LOOKING FOR A STILA DUPE. I made the mistake of doing this and was thankfully able to return it and repurchase my regular go-to eyeliner, the Stila Stay all day in intense black. To put it in plain terms, the Physicians Formula eyeliner is weak sauce and the more you try to layer it, the more watery it becomes. I've used dollar store eyeliner better than this one. I'm going back to my Stila eyeliner, thank you very much. If you want to get the Stila eyeliner for cheaper by the way, check local makeup warehouse sales. I've never tried the Kat Von D eyeliner, heard it's comparable to Stila but even though it's vegan and 3 dollars cheaper than Stila, I won't be trying it due to her personal politics.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

This eyeliner has amazing packaging. I have bought a lot of liquid eyeliners that come in a pen style packaging but the cap would come out. You can have a great Formula of liquid eyeliner in a pen style format but if a company is going to cheap out on the packaging, don't expect to have a repeat buyer. I have lost a lot of liquid liners this way. It's easy to use this eyeliner but I notice there can be buildup on the tip. I haven't noticed my eyelashes getting longer (I rarely buy into Physician's Formula claims since I always found them gimmicky) I always make sure to put the eyeliner upside down or else I won't get any product out. You can find this eyeliner at many drugstores on sale.

About reviewer (174 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

HairBlack, Straight, Coarse

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

Expensive because of nice packaging, but not worth it. Very weak color and almost no longevity.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

This is terrific! I bought the brown....love it! I wear my eyeliner thin. Possibly thicker towards the outer end of my eyes. This is super easy to use! It's a firmly packed brush too....really nice. You can hear it when you shake it. And the cap snaps on. Cool features!! CVS has great stock of this brand! I also bought the black....it's fantastic! Stays put on my oily lids and comes off so easily when time for bed!

About reviewer (109 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

The Physicians Formula liquid liner is an amazing liner to create winged liners, as it dries pretty quick and won’t move during the day! Because it dries so quickly you might have to go over it twice to get a beautiful black eyeliner as one layer can be a bit sheer! Love it! <object onclick="ga('send', {hitType: 'event',eventCategory: 'Ajax Interaction',eventAction: 'PlayVideo',eventLabel: ''});" width="360" height="320"><param name="movie" value="https://www.youtube.com/v/IneGhLACwkE"><param name="wmode" value="transparent"><embed src="https://www.youtube.com/v/IneGhLACwkE" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="360" height="320"></object>

About reviewer (230 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

This is my favorite liquid eyeliner I have ever tried. It does have its flaws, but for my purposes I've never found anything better and I don't find the need to go looking for a different option. Perhaps my favorite feature of this liner is the brush tip. I got a KVD tattoo liner sample one time and enjoyed the tip a lot, but I wanted a drugstore option. This has the same kind of brush tip that makes it super easy to get a thin, precise line. I've had a few years of practice now, but even when I was a beginner this made winged eyeliner super easy compared to felt tips. The tip is spring-loaded, so if you're running dry a bit, you can pop it in the cap and pump a few times and that usually makes it nice and juicy again. Also, this is a minor thing with the packaging, but the shiny silver makes it really easy to find in my bag amongst dozens of similar sizes black brush handles/eyeliners/etc, which I appreciate a lot. The issues really come up with the formula of this. My biggest gripe is the staying power. If I have a normal day and don't touch my eyes or anything, this lasts just fine without smudging. However, if my eyes are watery or I take a nap, this pretty much doesn't stand a chance. It doesn't run or smudge all over your face, it just kind of disappears or flakes away. This does layer well on itself though, so if it does end up coming off it's an easy fix. If nothing messes the liner up, it can last a full 12-14 hour day without any issue. Another thing, this definitely needs some kind of powder base to stick to. If you try and put this on a bare lid or just a cream shadow, it isn't able to layer to get the right intensity. It's like it has a hard time sticking to the skin. So if you like to wear just liner without shadow, I'd suggest putting down a skin tone powder on the lid before applying. Overall, this is a really good drugstore liner if you prefer brush tip pens. It's not perfect, but it gets the job done and the positive outweigh the slight negatives.

About reviewer (101 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrown, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Terrible liner. It’s very watery even from first use. Difficult to get it to show up on the eye. I thought maybe the brush tip was dry so I even stored it upside down and even that didn’t work to improve the use of this liner. Was bummed because I thought it would have been a good dupe for Tom ford since it was also made in Japan. Totally overpriced for what you get. I don’t understand the good reviews

About reviewer (40 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I generally prefer pencil eyeliner because I like to smudge it a little, but I used this eyeliner for about six months after chemotherapy, because I hoped it would help my eyelashes grow back faster. I’m not sure if it did or not, but they did come back beautifully. I also really liked this eyeliner it was easy to apply, not messy, dried quickly, and lasted all day. I would definitely purchase it again if I was looking for a liquid eyeliner.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair

HairRed

EyesGreen





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.