4.8

Created with Sketch.
24 reviews
96%
would repurchase
4.2/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

19 days ago

This review isn't so much for Retin A, which is terrific by the way, but for price. Lookup Canada Drugs Direct, I have been using this for many years and it's every bit as effective as the high-price spread. Do not worry that it's manufactured in India or wherever Canada Drugs is reliable and the price is a WOW as in 20 grams .05% for under $32 American, the price is more or less the same for 1.0% and most strengths. I use the cream but I think the gel is comparable in price.

About reviewer (96 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 months ago

I've been using retin-a for about 10 years. as I was advised to let it sit on my skin for about an hour before layering cream on top, I haven't used faithfully, until a year ago. since then, I haven't waited the hour - more like 15 minutes. but, I do notice results with my sun damage and fine lines. I use in combo with MUAC's glycolic and lactic acid peels. it is rather a harsh regime, but my skin is now used to it. I would advise others to try MUAC peels, as I think the combo does wonders to fight the signs of aging and skin discoloration. do not use retin-a the day of, day before, or day after a peel.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Other

HairBrown

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 months ago

Even with all my years of using glycolic acids, Retin A can still caused me irritation...but don’t let that stop you! It truly is the best product for seeing real results in sunspots, fine lines, etc. I had no issues using 0.025% nightly, but when I moved up to 0.5%, I noticed some peeling and flaking in some areas. I decided to try it over a light moisturizer instead of on a clean dry face. I wash with a gentle cleanser, being careful not to strip my skin, then apply a thin layer of Cerave PM. I usually put a heavier cream on my eyelids, and just under my eyes, apply emollient lip balm to protect my lips, then apply the Retin A as directed. Any peeling or flaking is so minimal it’s barely noticeable. I suppose I could just try using it only a few nights a week or every other night...but I like using it nightly, and the benefits are obvious and fast. Anyway, Retin A still works when applied over moisturizer, I’ve had more than one dermatologist tell me so. I recommend starting with the lowest strength possible and working your way up to every day use. And sunscreen - VERY important. An SPF of 30 or higher, reapply as necessary, and stay out of the sun in general when you can avoid it. No point in using this stuff if you are going to continue to expose yourself to harmful sunlight, especially because using this will make your skin even more sensitive to the sun.

About reviewer (391 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal

HairBlond

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Thats my secret and my holly grail for clear skin even if i eat a lot of sweets and dairy. I use it for a month now every other night or until my skin starts to peel off and when it comes to normal with moisture i start again. I had two slim lines on my forehead and the starting to disappear also i dont get any pimples,my blackheads are fading. The worst part with this treatment is the flaky skin but i dont care i use cicaplast from la roche possay every night with the retina and sunscreen every single day. I had used so many products for acne and discolorations but this one left me speechless. You should try it but keep in mind that your skin needs a good moisturiser,a repairing cream and sunscreen. I will come back with another review. UPDATE I still using retinA and i can tell its making what it says it does it exfoliates my skin and make it look bright and soft. i eat a lot of dairy and i dont break out like i used to. a few people believe i had a botox maybe from the benefits of the cream. my skin didnt get used to retinA and the cream still works great.

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

My skin is photosensitive and at 50 yrs old i am just starting to see a fine line or two. So my dermatologist perscribed retin a to help with sun damage and the lines. I started out using it twice a week working my way up to five days a week. My skin was very sensitive for many weeks and i had to be gery gentle with my routine and products . i am super diligent on moisture cream and masks and only had very minor skin peeling and dryness on the top of my cheak area. I used my exfoliater very very gently more of a patting motion on my skin to help remove dead skin My skin is looking amazing. very gery smooth and soft my pores are definatly reducing in size and the leathery look on my forehead is diminishing My skin is looking younger and rejuvenated and healthy I will keep on using this cream but am visiting my dermatologist wvery few months so she can also moniter the progress as like any medication you should be monitered. Speak to a professional and give this cream a chance

About reviewer (45 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

I have Retin-A forte 0.05 gel that I purchased in Mexico. I like the consistency of the gel, it doesn't pill on the skin, and absorbs quickly I do have sensitive skin so I only apply this once, maybe twice a week, but never more than that. It did cause some dryness, but not any irritation. Personally I didn't find this any more drying than otc products like salicylic acid and benzoyl peroxide. This helped a lot with clogged pores, particularly on my chin which was rather problematic and had no responded to BHA's or AHA's. I haven't gotten any new acne since starting this, and it has improved the overall appearance of my skin, My skin looks fresher, brighter, and less dull.

About reviewer (573 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

First of all I tried the Johnson brand... Although I could see it working (the purge was not pretty!) my skin wouldn't settle. I always found the cream difficult in regards to product layering so lo an behold, I tried this gel. Best beauty decision I made!! It glides on and you only need a thin layer of this stuff to work some magic - a little goes a long way. My skin has settled and I'm down to 3 times a week in order to maintain results. I suffer from terrible hormonal acne that's been slowly destroying my skin for the past few years... This has been my skins saviour! Spots that lasted weeks are gone within a couple of days and my skin tone has evened out ridding me of that horrible 'patchy' look. Maybe one day I'll be able to go make up free without fear; not there yet but I can see it happening. If anyone on here is London based and has trouble getting hold of Retin A online (I certainly did) I was able to buy via gumtree and collect the tube in person the same day! https://www.gumtree.com/p/for-sale/005-retin-a-gel-genuine-same-day-pick-up/1165400137 ... It's given me peace of mind because I can't afford a Derm. Hope it helps someone x

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Medium Brown

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I'm perimenopausal and over past couple of years, trying to deal with a combo of hyperpigmentation and break outs. I've tried a variety of products, none with any great success. In August took the plunge and started using retin a every other night, along with an acid toner and reasonably priced serum - hallelujah I can see progress! It took about 2 months for the dark patches to start shrinking. Spots are not so frequent and complexion looks more refined This is one product which will stay with me - don't overuse, less is more

About reviewer (208 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Was given this by my GP. I am having some very bad cystic acne after my boy is 1 year old, my hormones trying to balance up. Nothing works as well as this cream. Vit A is also for anti-ageing. So I will use this forever. I see immediate effect after using it for 3 days. Now after almost 2 weeks, my cyctis acne clears up, skin looks clearer, marks lightens slightly. Can see radiance on my face and my skin looks younger:):) My dr suggestion me:- AM: Lotion cleanser - Moisturing toner - Clindamycin gel 1% - La Roche Posay SPF 50 tinted fluid - ZA powder SPF 20 PM: Muji Cleansing Oil - Lotion cleanser - Moisturing toner - Clindamycin gel 1% - Moisturizer - Retin-A I paid about SGD 20 for 15g tube of Retin-A and I can claim thru insurance. So far no dryness, just use sparingly, 2 small green beans size, less is more. The climate in Singapore is very humid, so my GP said no need moisturizer in AM.

About reviewer (205 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

Used this as a teenager. Adult acne is worse than teen acne. Never had cystic pimples until reaching my 30's. So I went back to what I know.....Retin A .05% cream. Please use this with caution and its Rx only! Strictly for night time use before bed. My new routine is working wonders. Skin has noticeably improved within two weeks! Products I use along with Retin A.....Burts Bee's Radiance Cleanser, Kiss my Face sunblock, Extra virgin Olive Oil (night time moisturizer) & witch hazel for toner. My pores are much smaller, no more cystic pimples popping up and acne scars are gradually fading! those who aren't oily be careful...this product will make you dry & flaky if you aren't careful. Also I put the Retin A cream on after I moisturize w/the Olive Oil. Allow 15 minutes after you've cleansed your skin to apply the Retin A. I haven't experienced any flaking or dry skin!

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Olive

HairBlack

EyesBrown