4.3

Created with Sketch.
62 reviews
81%
would repurchase
4.2/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 months ago

I have repurchased this foundation and never remembered to submit a review. This foundation ticks off all my must haves: comes in a travel friendly tube, unscented, no SPF, a shade that matches my skintone pretty closely, buildable coverage, never cakey looking, doesn't show on pores. My skin is normal, slightly drier in cold weather or if I used my tretinoin too many days in a row. I dot on this fdtn, spread with my fingers, going lighter on my forehead where I don't need much coverage and above my mouth where I don't want to accentuate lines and a little heavier on my nose, chin and cheeks. Then I blot with a damp BB. I don't try to completely cover any age spots or red marks with fdtn; I use a concealer to do that. Using this method, my skin gets a nice glow, not too matte, not super glowy. I am usually the fairest or 2nd fairest shade in most fdtns. I think I would be a NC15-20, neutral leaning towards warm. I use shade 112. I'm always looking at the formulas of different new fdtns and sometimes I try samples, but nothing is ever as good for me.

About reviewer (315 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair, Warm

HairRed, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen



5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 months ago

This is a beautiful foundation. Very light coverage, but does cover some and makes skin look very natural as a result. This has such a lovely finish: it’s fresh and glowing and looks like healthy skin. I just love the look. The colour looks incredibly natural and blends very well. Though I prefer the aqua foundation - so beautiful and great coverage, this one is a keeper - but be sure to use concealer!

About reviewer (23 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair

HairOther

EyesHazel


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

To me this is nothing more than a tinted moisturizer and not a very good one at that - it doesn’t hydrate all that well and I’ve had much better results evening skin tone with other tinteds (Physicians Formula, Laura Mercier) I purchased this months ago on sale at Alcone and keep going back to it thinking I must be missing something considering the amazing reviews it receives. Due to the fact that so many seem to really love this, I’ll spare you the “highway robbery” rant.

About reviewer (242 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

I own close to possibly 200 foundations. I've literally tried everything, from NYX to La Prairie, in an endless search for a foundation/tinted moisturizer that will make my skin just look a little better than it is. I have very dry, dehydrated skin, I pretty much always have flakes around my nose, I have lots of fine wrinkles, I have melasma and I get cystic acne fairly regularly. Which also means I have some awesome acne scars. Oh, and I would have loved to find something long wearing enough that I could count on it in hot and humid weather. At some point I bought KGD aqua because everybody said it was a great foundation for dry skin, but I confess my eye was initially more drawn to the maifanshi moisture. But I bought the aqua and didn't like it much. After that, I was over it. I just didn't want to spend any time or money on foundation anymore, so I never got the maifanshi moisture. Then about two months ago I had some extra money and I was still, unwisely I thought, intrigued by the moisture foundation. I had long ago bought the little samples so I had a good idea about the shade match. It came in the mail and I tried it immediately and it looked... good. But I've thought that a lot of times before with other foundations, so I wore it every day for 3 weeks. And I would test it against other foundations and I just couldn't understand it. My flakes disappeared, it improved my skin texture, it gave light to medium coverage and it was essentially bullet proof in the heat. In short, this won't cover everything. It covers enough for me to feel comfortable. It starts out pretty light but it can be built up to medium. The finish is natural, not dewy but definitely not matte. I am somewhere between NC15 and NC20. For the summer the shade 113 works pretty well, but I ended buying 112 as well because that will be my winter shade and I can mix them as I transition seasons. This does not make my face flawless. But it doesn't make it cakey, it makes my skin look better than it is and I can rely on it to stay looking good through any weather. I haven't used any other foundation since buying this.

About reviewer (24 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

This is one of my favorite foundations. It's light, moisturizing and provides decent coverage. Alas, it is wildly pricey!!!! :( I have tried the Aqua Foundation as well and prefer this one. Also, love the fact it is in a tube.

About reviewer (31 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Other, Not Sure

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

My Holy Grail for my 60 plus and sensitive skin. I'm a fan of more radiant and moisture providing foundations. I do usually have to powder my nose during the day as it tends to show shine fairly quickly if I don't. My coloring is NW15-20. My other favorite foundation is Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk in 4.75. For a great tinted moisturizer, I also like NARS in Finland. I first purchased this Koh Gen Do foundation with the sample packs to get the best match. For me, it is 002. With all the reviews and the "moisture" in the label, I figured this would go on more wet or oily. I found it to be very creamy. It smoothes nicely with the finger tips and seems to dry down and set quickly. On my skin it leaves my skin looking moisturized with a soft glow. It does look like skin and doesn't look dry like some foundations do. I find that I use my fingers or a brush for the best finish. A sponge seems to take off the foundation, whereas my fingertips push it into my skin. I set this with the Jane Iredale mineral pressed powder which sets the Koh Gen Do but doesn’t take away the nice glow. For me this foundation is long lasting through a full work day. What I really like is that my skin feels as moisturized at the end of the day as is does right after I put my foundation on. I find that the coverage is light to medium at best. Does a great job blurring and your skin just looks better. I would love to find a great higher coverage foundation but I haven’t found one that doesn’t make my skin look more textured and dry looking. So the blurred and better look is the best for me. The amount you get in the little tube makes this foundation pretty expensive. I do like the tube with no pump. It makes it easy to not waste and just get the small amount you need. A little bit is all I need. I use a tube clip on this when I get towards the end to get every little bit out. This is a 5 star HG foundation for me. If you have mature, dry, sensitive skin and are looking for skin like, glow finish - try this foundation. And that’s after trying so many foundations that I’ve lost count. For you ladies out there with mature and/or drier skin- try this. You won’t be sorry. I buy this from dermstore.com when they have one of their 20% off sales. Makes the price easier.

About reviewer (80 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Curly, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is currently my everyday go-to foundation. Background on me: I have pale, dry, acne-prone, supersensitive rosacean skin that gets flaky in the Winter. I tried this foundation after hearing that a celebrity (can't remember which one) is loyal to it because it doesn't irritate her dry, sensitive skin. I also have had great luck with another KGD product, the All-in-One moisture Spa Gel (see separate review for that one). Here's why I love this gorgeous product: - The creamy texture is perfect for dry flaky skin - The finish is natural - not matte, not dewy, just skin-like satin - The shade 112 is an almost-perfect match for my N/NC10 - it is slightly too cool for me but oxidizes throughout the day to become a perfect match. (The manufacturer shade notes say that 112 is supposed to be warm but it is definitely cool when first applied.) - A little goes a long way - this is very pigmented and spreads beautifully so you don't need to use much (good thing considering the insane price - see comment below). Coverage is medium but I have to use concealer to cover scars/pigmentation. - This does not cause breakouts or rosacea flares, and is removed easily with my REN cream cleanser + muslin washcloth The negatives are minimal: - Cost: For a high price ($70 USD), you get a tiny amount (.71 oz/20 grams) - Availability: This product is getting harder to find - Sephora has stopped carrying it though it is not discontinued by KGD (I get it on Dermstore or Beautylish during sales) - Oxidation: As mentioned above, it does oxidize so the shade is warmer at the end of the day than at the beginning. I can see why this would bug people (but for me it's not an issue). Overall I highly recommend this for anyone with sensitive skin who isn't on a super-tight budget.

About reviewer (504 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

Skin background and shade: I'm pale, NC-15, Cover fx N10, very neutral to cool leaning. My main skin concerns are dryness, hyperpigmentation from acne marks and some scarring. I love a sheer to medium coverage foundation that just blurs out my flaws. I use 012 cool for a perfect match. Review I've always heard about Koh Gen Do but never really looked into it until I saw it in the Beauty Report Magazine October Edition. I love hearing about makeup used for television and movies, like armani luminous silk, and I started seeing it pop up EVERYWHERE. Seeing that it was used on Jessica Jones Season 2 was the final straw. I purchased off of Dermstore for a 15% discount in auto refill from. I looked up some shade matches and heard that 012 was the best for NC-15 shades. To be honest this is even better than that shade. It just matches so perfectly. In comparison I thought Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua was a good match- compared to my Koh it's too pink! The bottle itself, or the tube I should say, it really well designed to only let out a little at a time from the tip. I usually just end up scribbling it on my face straight from the tube rather than waste any on my hand or anything. The foundation itself is incredibly light but it has the feeling of Armani Face Fabric- a real silicone heavy primer like feel- that throws me off a little. Its sheer to light but manages to at least blur my flaws. When I wear it people think I just have pretty good skin with a nice glow. There's never that : " Your makeup looks good," its " Your skin looks good today!" Theres also no smell that I can discern. Another comparison I'll make is the Chanel Les Beiges tinted base. At this point that stuff feels heavy on my skin compared to Koh Gen Do which is suprising. The scent also drives me a bit nuts. The longevity on this is also out of this world. Most light weight foundations disappear on me even though I have dry skin. This holds up the entire day no problem. When I get home at 8pm, after applying it at 730 am, it looks just like skin. I'll continue to rebuy and I just purchased the Aqua as well.

About reviewer (107 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Incredible foundation. It's really not that moisturizing. At least, not nearly as much as one would think given its name. Coverage is incredible. I seem to get a lot of compliments on my skin when I wear it. People think it's my skin. No heavy scent (love), no skin reactions (really love) and easy to remove. The shade range is excellent. I wear the lightest shade 001. Although I am not that fair I prefer to add blush and bronzer and let my skin seem bright underneath. It's not cheap but what is these days? As I "age" my likes of foundation are more skin like, soft, needs to blur my pores and give decent coverage without being cakey. Wear time is all day ++. And that includes my skin care underneath which is a collection of serums and a somewhat thick'ish Sunscreen (Obaji Matte Sun.) This checks all the boxes for my current needs and wants and if Kate Bosworth approves...sign me up. I can see why it's an MUA fav.

About reviewer (54 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

I`ve been using the Aqua version of this for years, but this is the first time I`ve tried this Moisture version of it. I`ve hesitated to buy this because the amount of product seemed relatively small in relation to the price. Also, I didn`t think I had a skin type that warranted a foundation targeting dry skin. However, at this time of year I usually get away for two months and spend the coldest months of the year somewhere tropical, so I`ve never really experienced a full on winter until now. My skin has been dry and reactive (irritated and breaking out), so in a bout of desperation I decided to reach out for my trusty Koh Gen Do. The Aqua version never clogs my pores and helps my skin heal, but is too dry for winter, so I decided to check out the moisture version. First off, I love how easy it is to apply, just with fingers. It blends easily and color corrects really well. Surprisingly I use a small amount, just on the center of my face and it looks really natural. Coverage is pretty light, but I cover up under the eyes with Sisley`s Phyto Concealer and any blemishes get taken care of with Catrice Camouflage. So I use a really small amount of product to achieve the look I want. It doesn`t sit in lines and doesn`t emphasize texture or pores. It wears well, except for my nose, but then nothing lasts on my nose when it`s constantly runny and is wiped. Touch ups are easy: just toss the tube in my bag and use fingers to blend. Not that touch ups are much needed: for a moisturizing base, it really lasts. I would totally repurchase.

About reviewer (916 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesHazel




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us