3.6

Created with Sketch.
151 reviews
62%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This was in my sisters bag so I decided to try it the shade was a little dark but I wasn’t going out so I didn’t mind so it’s a thick liquid and it provides full coverage but I did notice it did transfer after a few hours and my skin looked oily and a little caked, I just remember thinking I’m glad I didn’t purchase this as it is quite expensive. Would not recommend.

About reviewer (133 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown



4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

It has thick texture and full coverage. Lil bit difficult to blend but sure I love this.

About reviewer (42 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Other

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Brilliant, FULL coverage makeup. Definitely an evening one, personally wouldn't use this for day to day use. Excellent shade selections- for comparison I'm a NW13 in MAC studio fix and find 133 very comparable. Is thick and full but a little goes a very long way. Personally I found this easy enough to blend and it covers everything. If you out too much on you may find it transfers/looks greasy almost but if that's the case you've just gone over the top- I usually have to layer my foundation to get the same coverage I get with a pea sized amount of RF foundation. Sets beautifully with a powder, not full matte by any means- probably Demi-matte finish. Lasts well. Safe to say I love it!! Edited to add- also works well mixed with lighter foundations to increase coverage

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Not matte but full coverage with one layer Looks flawless in pics Love it

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Medium

HairOther

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I know this has been mentioned in other reviews but this stuff is THICK! It's very full coverage and covers my red areas and spots very well so I only need to use a small amount of concealer to cover the rest of my imperfections. You also need a very small amount for a whole face and it doesn't feel thick like you would think it would. The testament to this is that I bought my current tube in June/July and it's STILL going even now and this is after using it 5/6 days a week! It is expensive don't get me wrong, at £31.00 GBP/$41.00 USD but it's a worthy investment. I feel this is applied the best with my Beautyblender as it seems to work a lot better with sponges. I have tried it with a foundation brush but I was finding I was applying waay too much product to my face SO if you want really really full coverage or are going out clubbing then applying it using a foundation brush will work best. This foundation comes in a wide variety of colours and so I bought the second lightest shade 115 and I have a very pale skin and this foundation suits it perfectly. In terms of durability, this last for a good 6/7 hours before my shiny T-zone decides to make an appearance, so touch ups are rarely needed it ever. Regarding the packaging, it comes in a clear plastic tube, which you have to squeeze the product out of. As I'm getting closer to the end of this tube, it is getting harder to squeeze due to the plastic being quite thick so maybe it this maybe a miss if you have dexterity problems. All in all, it is a good durable product but is quite expensive for what it is but regardless of that I would still re-purchase this foundation.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Curly, Medium

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

LESS IS MORE! I bought this foundation without asking for a tester first (which I guess is never a good thing to do with expensive foundations) but was pretty confident it was going to live up to my expectations, as I had heard so many good things about it from makeup artists and Illamasquas skin base foundation is one of my favourite foundations. I wanted a full coverage, flawless product as I have redness from acne on my chin and quite a few blackheads around my nose. I am quite fair skinned and my skin is fairly oily but not heavily, and I always wear false tan on my neck and face so I purchased the colour RF200. This is a warm toned lighter foundation that matches upto my tanned neck. The first time I applied it, I was amazed at how impressive the coverage was, and it has quite a pleasant smell to it, but during college I looked in the bathroom mirror and got a shock. It looked greasy, patchy and had slipped around my face, exposing the pores on my nose and chin. I was so disappointed and just wanted to go home (yes I am that self concious). I was angry that I had wasted my money on it so I decided to give it another chance, this time applying half the amount I did first time round. It was the best thing I ever did. With this foundation, a little goes a VERY long way, so starting with a thin layer and adding liquid concealer to highlight and lighten areas like under the eyes, chin, etc and setting with a powder gives the product a chance to perform at its optimum result. It stays on all day, and hardly gets greasy (except for a tiny bit of shine in the creases either side of your nose) but applying a little setting powder corrects this. This is probably now one of my favourite foundations, even though at first it was my enemy. So basically if you have had the problem of a greasy, cakey face, use half as much as you usually do and it will give you the exact same coverage and look so much nicer. If you have dry skin, this product will probably work better for you, and if you have very oily skin, make sure you start with a THIN layer and carry a powder with you. I hope you all learn to love this foundation as much as I do xx

About reviewer (1 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinOily, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesGray


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Was so excited to try this foundation but so disappointed. Hydra veil primer applied beforehand and then I used a stippling brush. Awful. Could see the brush strokes on my face all morning, made me look so greasy and dirty and I just couldn't wait to wash my face! If I touched my face it would transfer and by the end of the day it was on my clothes, work, everything. So patchy and emphasised imperfections and pores. Will never use again. I really wanted to like this too but I'll be sticking with my Estée Lauder dw......

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I worked for Illamasqua as a makeup artist and salesgirl in Australia. Here is what I think about this foundation: It was originally created for the stage and theatrical purposes therefore it has 100 percent coverage (every little freckle and mark will disappear) and is heat, sweat proof. You need to blend very quickly with a stiffle or foundation brush as it dries quickly. The colour range is insane from very pale to very dark and with pink or yellow undertones available. You could just use this as a concealer instead and it would last ages as its a large bottle. If you have good skin I would avoid it as an everyday makeup it will look very heavy and isn't good for your skin to cover the pores like that so often. Use it as a night time makeup for clubbing etc. Also comes in pure white for geishas and gothics who want to appear that colour. Smells amazing like vanilla!

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBlack, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I had such high hopes for this foundation when I first swatched it on my hands- it was super full coverage and seemed to last on my hand so I bought it. Plus I really liked the skin base formula! But for some reason it just won't work on my skin! I have normal skin that sometimes gets shiny on my nose at the end of the day. And whenever I wear this foundation it just always ends up REALLY patchy! And no amount of powder can fix it! I've tried using thia with numerous different primers and moisturizers ( water based, sillicone based, oil based etc) and just on my bare face. Didn't work. I tried applying it with different tools (beauty blender, traditional foundation brush, buffer brush etc) didn't work. I tried mixing it with other foundations, didn't work. And in my area, you can't return cosmetics so I'm stuck with this. You shouldn't have to work so hard to get a foundation to wotk for you! Would NEVER repurchase this! Such a shame, it had such potential! I even tried giving it away to my sister who never have problems with foundation and it is still patchy!

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBlack


1.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

So, I bought this is the second lightest shade as I have extremely fair skin and find it hard to get foundations to match my skin tone but this one was literally a white paste which when applied to skin turned into a dry scaly looking mess which hardly blended at all and when mixed with another foundation the other foundation would begin to create an oily mess, as it eventually came to sit on top of the illamasqua in oily patches. Would never buy again. Drugstore foundations would be more effective.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesGreen