4.0

Created with Sketch.
242 reviews
74%
would repurchase
3.9/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


2.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

Feel stubble the next day. Back to men’s razors I go

About reviewer (16 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBlue



4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Great razor. I've been using these for a long time and it does what it's supposed to, and I rarely get nicks and cuts, usually it's from me being careless while shaving. The replacement heads are expensive, but most are. The good thing is that these last a long time, at least a month for me, and I shave every other day. I just make sure to dry the razor off and keep it dry between uses.

About reviewer (36 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Neutral

HairRed, Curly, Fine

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Worst razor ever. It's like the manufacturers don't take us seriously because we aren't using these on our face and they think we don't shave every day. I like the flat handle - it's the best handle on a razor I've ever used - but absolutely hate the blade and the strips that completely bracket it. The strips get goopy and sticky and the blades seem to be designed for the kind of person who needs the "coffee is hot" label. This is an absolutely terrible product. The only reason I even bought it was because the adult blades were in one of those "alarm will sound" shelves, making it a pain in the butt for me to actually purchase it. Normally I buy Gillette's Mach razors for men and avoid the Barbie toys altogether. I will never go back to this garbage and will continue to resent the manufacturers who persist in manufacturing to the 6 year old in every woman while charging to the 30 year old income.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOily, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGray


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I've been using this since 2002. I still use the original cartridges and aqua handle - I've never been tempted by any of the "new" varieties. The price is obscene (~US$20 for 8 cartridges), but it gives such a great shave, with minimal nicks, that I don't see myself switching any time soon. In a perfect world, I'd like to change the cartridge every week, but at that price I generally keep using one until I notice the quality of my shave suffering. The best, closest shave I've had is with this and Lush Ambrosia; original Dove bar soap is a close second, and Skintimate shave gel is third.

About reviewer (150 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

These razors are absolutely wonderful! I originally used the Bic-Soleil Razor and always got nicked, so I decided to make the switch over to these Gilette-Venus shavers. I do not actually use the Venus shaving cream; I use just a regular body wash to lather up, and these razors are so gentle that I never get any cuts! NO CUTS = HAPPINESS. Loveee. In terms of the head, it's "pivoting" so that it can "adjust to your curves" (quote on the label) and that is exactly what it does! Also, I love the feel of the handle, because it's got these rubber soft gripping handles so there's no slipping or losing control whatsoever. It could be cheaper, but honestly paying $1 more for NO nicks or cuts for weeks is not too much to ask. Get these razors, you won't regret it.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

I love this. Tried eco razors to no avail. I also like the pop of blue in my shower.

About reviewer (127 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

My only razor since 2003. Getting a close, smooth shave is one of the most important things in my grooming routine, and I've never found anything that achieves that ideal better than the Venus. In the past I've used it with Lush Ambrosia shaving lotion to excellent effect; that's a bit expensive, though, so I now shave with Dove bar soap. This probably sounds like a recipe for disaster to some, but the Venus is so gentle and effective (very little going back over the same area, for example) that I never have any irritation and only very rarely nick myself. The cartridges are too darn expensive, but worth it - I change mine whenever I notice the quality of my shave diminishing, though I wish I could afford a weekly cartridge change.

About reviewer (72 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

7 years ago

I'm on my way to buy another one right now. After trying all kinds of wax, straps, hair removals, as well as pretty much all the razors from Venus product line (I'm not hairy, but I can't stand even a tiny bit of hair on my legs :p), I'm still sticking with the original Venus blue razor. It is the most convenient to use out all and gives me soft glowing skin all year long. I'm 100% satisfied with this product, but I think many of their other products are pretty useless and pointless (with cream, with battery, etc) Each time after trying their newly innovated razor I was left disappointed, and always came back to the original blue one. I don't have much hair on my skin also they are very thin, maybe that's why the simplest razor works the best for me. I think for the people have more hair, waxing together with shaving will work better. Hope it helps :)

About reviewer (73 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair

HairBlack

EyesBlack


3.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

I agree completely with SashaMcK, I thought I was the only one until my sister told me it was like that for her too. My legs would be super smooth and nice for one night the next night I would feel stubble. I have to find a better razor because I can't keep using this. It is really good because it doesn't cut you and maybe it's just me but I shaved a little quicker with this razor but whats the point of cutting down shaving time if i'm going to have to do it every night and morning just to keep my legs nice! So I'm going to go find a better razor if i find a nice razor I'll post it on here.

About reviewer (31 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinSensitive, Medium Brown, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

I must say, I live in Malaysia and this was the only Gillette Venus they have. If they had the Gillette Venus Embrace, I would buy it cuhs it has 5 blades and a really close shave, but sadly, no. So after reading a few reviews, I got excited (I'm 14 btw so I'm new to shaving) and bought it. When I first tried it, it kept me smooth for one day only and the next day I was already feeling stubble. The only thing thats okay about it is that it glides over the skin nicely and didn't give me nicks and cuts or razor burns but it really did failed to keep a close shave and I would not be buying it again because I don't enjoy shaving every single day. I'll be moving on to Schick or the Gillette Fusion.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown