Essie Status Symbol

Essie Status Symbol
Essie

3.9

17 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS


Start your review


on 9/25/2016 10:27:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Status Symbol is a gorgeous hot pink from Essie. It is a warm toned bright pink, which looks especially good on olive and tanned skin - perfect to pull out in summer. It is also a great pedicure colour. The finish is slightly jelly-like, though I do not think it is strictly a jelly polish. It is a 'crelly' (creme-jelly). I reached opacity with 3 coats but 2 would have been fine as well, minimal nail line was visible with 2 coats. The colour has a very shiny finish which I love! You could easily do without topcoat. This colour lasted for five days in my nails with no topcoat, and over a week with topcoat. I love this colour and will be pulling it out regularly over summer. It really is a gorgeous bright pink.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.



on 9/19/2015 4:05:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is a pretty strawberry pink coloured cream polish but it was definitely lacking the "wow" factor. It applied smoothly but needed 3 coats to be completely opaque. Topped with Essie's Good to Go topcoat it lasted over a week without chipping.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

So far, this is my HG hot pink. For me it's just the right combination of cool undertones and electric saucy pink. It's bright enough to be a great summer/spring color, but the cool undertones in the pink would also make it an unexpected but fitting pop of color in winter.

Like many Essie polishes, this went on a bit thin and streaky, but nothing that a second layer couldn't fix. I especially like this with Seche Vite, which gives the color an almost blowy quality.

In short, a fun, very pink Barbie colour


on 9/13/2012 1:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

When I looked at this polish in a store, I thought it was the most pretty bright pink I've seen in years. When I got home with it, it turned out to be almost the exact dupe for OPI's 'Strawberry Margarita' (my mom owns one).
I think this is a perfect 'mean girls' pop pink colour, and it is nice to have this is hand for spring/summer, and just anytime I'm feeling a bit of a blue, it's a great mood changer.
Though, I won't give this 4 or 5 points 'cause of quality: the first layer is quite streaky and the second doesn't always cover that. The longevity is average, about three days with top coat.


on 8/18/2012 1:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Black

An awesome watermelon pink, this color is bright but not neon, unique but also classic, it's the perfect hot pink color for your nails. The application is smooth and opaque, never streaky, it takes 2 coats for it to look perfect. The finish is super glossy even without a top coat. I think this polish is perfect all year around since it's such a beautiful classic color.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 7/22/2012 12:31:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm really on the fence about this pink. I'm usually a pink fanatic...but there was nothing "wow" or "i HAVE to have this polish" about this color. I wouldn't describe it as a hot pink but it does have a little burst of color. If you want something bright and fun for summer, this is not the color you're looking for. Overall, it's nice.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 5/14/2011 2:47:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

This looks lovely on me within 2 coats, it's the perfect hot pink that doesn't go too blue or too warm... lovely summer AND winter color, i'm sure.

I've got this on toes and nails, and actually painted my nails twice this shade since I got it! I haven't bothered with another polish... And I'm not sure how long this will go on for, but I love it enough to rock it with all my outfits in this season.

It is a cream with no shimmer, and definitely not neon like my other hot pinks.

I also got this packaging in the old Essie format, which I liked more. The new ones look a bit more.. tacky.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 5/6/2010 10:25:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It's a cute color, but it did not apply well. After this I'm giving up on Essie. They all apply streaky and require 3 coats. Why do all Essie polishes require three coats? It's driving me crazy.

This color is nothing that unique to require that much work to make it look good.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 4/10/2010 6:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I absolutely love this polish! NW05 for reference. It is a gorgeous summery bold pink with no shimmer. Paints on perfectly with no streaks, two coats was just lovely. I have no complaints about this polish. The color looks almost exactly like Movers and Shakers, possibly a tad lighter. I will definitely re-buy this polish. ♥ I uploaded a picture for reference.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 12/13/2009 7:18:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

this is a nice warm pink. its nothing bright, but it look nice on most skin tones. its pretty average, but still cute.

Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
Miracle Gel
221 Reviews
Gel Couture
Gel Couture
33 Reviews
Bubble Bath
Bubble Bath
367 Reviews
Nail Polishes
Nail Polishes
431 Reviews
Mademoiselle
Mademoiselle
402 Reviews
Ballet Slippers
Ballet Slippers
359 Reviews
Back to Top