4.1

Created with Sketch.
58 reviews
78%
would repurchase
3.2/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

For hair issues this is a pretty decent oil brand which you can pick up in ethnic South Asian stores, and also online nowadays. I personally used the 'coconut' version and worked a small amount through my hair and scalp twice a week before washing out the next morning. It has a transparent, slightly yellow color and is quite perfumed. In the short space of time I've been using I must say it's making my hair look darker, shinier and grow very slightly faster, however not much improvement with my scalp or dandruff. I did take this abroad with me once and found it solidifies in colder climates. For that you simply need to place in a pan of warm water for a few minutes. Very cost effective as a hair and scalp treatment although not my favorite by far. For the price though it is definitely good value. Selena x ~ My HG list ~ (As I've sampled many 100s of skin, hair and m/u products over the last decade and a half, I thought it might be useful to share my top 10 must-have products, subject to change if and when I come across something more effective. I love constantly trying out new stuff - usually sample sizes via e-bay, also plenty courtesy of a friend who works at Sephora) 1. Hair Loss Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Hair Oil 2. Lip Balm: 'Nuxe' - Reve De Miel Lip Balm 3. Pigmentation + Anti-Ageing Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Facial Treatment Serum 4. Cleanser: 'Paula's Choice' - Skin Balancing Cleanser 5. Concealer: ‘Mac’ - Studio Finish Concealer 6. Lash Growth Serum: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Divinelash 7. Foundation/SPF: ‘Juice Beauty’ - Stem Cellular Repair (warm glow) 8. Face Scrub: ‘Sisley' - Botanical Gentle Buffing Cream 9. Moisturizer: ‘Antipodes' - Rejoice Light Day Cream 10. Hand Cream: 'Origins' - Make A Difference Rejuvenating Hand Treatment

About reviewer (566 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Tan, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown



2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

i did not like this vatika hair oil because i did not see any improvements in my hair . I still started to loose lots of hair and my hair was still dry . This was because they added lots of chemicals so that the oil could smell very nice and that it could preserve your hair . These chemicals are actually very harmful to your hair . The other thing why i do not like this oil is because it includes henna . I like my hair black and recently i found patches of brown in my hair this was because of the henna in the oil . I rather try something more natural for my hair .

About reviewer (10 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Nice overall product. I use apply it to dry hair and leave it on for at least an hr before washing. Its basically coconut oil mixed with other herbs, so yes it is solid when it's cooler temperatures, however, this isn't a big deal, it takes a few second just to run it under hot water and the problem is solved! It makes my hair soft but it's nothing groundbreaking. This could be because I have pretty healthy hair anyway. The bottle has lasted me quite a while now so good value for money.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This oil smells really good and helps smooth your hair and retain moisture. I like it but I find that regular coconut oil gives me similar benefits so I have no plans to repurchase. I do have a major gripe about the bottle. When the coconut oil solidifies in colder temperatures it is damn near impossible to get the product out of the bottle.

About reviewer (230 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Dark, Cool

HairBrown, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

So affordable and so good. I am trying to grow my hair out. My hair is fine and wavy. I began using this product about 2 months ago. Since my first use I stocked up on several bottles because I noticed such a difference. Unlike any other hair product I have tried thus far. I will continue to use this product because it makes my thin, fine, dry hair appear full and feel bouncy, lush, stronger, and shiny. Amazing fullness and body. I currently use this one a week. Prior to shampoo I heat to liquid consistency then coat my hair in the oil. I leave it on just 1 hour and must shampoo twice. I let my hair dry naturally because I have stopped all heat tools. In the past I could not imagine letting my hair air like this because of frizz. That is no longer an issue with the products that I use now.

About reviewer (20 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

This stuff is really good for my hair...makes it silky soft. But beware, with regard to the packaging. You have to poke a hole in the plastic to dispense it. I did this, and then the 2nd day went to use it, and the product was not coming out easily, so I squeezed a little harder and the top blew off, and shot oil all over my clothes and floor. Make sure you poke the hole big enough, the 1st time or you'll end up doing what I did and making a mess. I just hadn't poked the hole large enough initially.

About reviewer (59 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

First, about my hair so you will know what we're dealing with here: I require low maintenance hair. My hair is slightly wavy, very fine and double processed. I wear it in a fairly short pixie-ish style and hate using product or spending time styling. I am fortunate that my hair has enough thickness, body and wave that it behaves well as long as there isn't too much weight on it and I like to wash it and walk away. I started using Viteka Coconut on Memorial Day (purchased at an international grocer and it is so inexpensive) and it has been about 2 months of use now so I feel I can leave a solid review. I love this product! I use shampoo (an AG sulfate free one), zero conditioner, zero other product. I wash my hair in shower, throw a towel on it to absorb excess water. Step out of shower, dry, powder, moisturize face and body. Remove towel from hair, shake two or three drops of Viteka Coconut into palm and rub it in my hair, finger comb into place and walk out of the bathroom. The scent is like fresh grated coconut, my hair is super super shiny, not in the least weighed down or greasy, which is usually the case with other oils I've used (macadamia, argan, Davines Milk). I wash my hair twice a week since I've gotten older (less oily than my younger days). If I use a touch too much, it can get oily appearing a day early, though. For some reason, since I began using Viteka my shampoo lathers better, too. I've barely put a dent in the small bottle and it has been warm so it has remained liquid for me. When it thickens, my intent is just to run some hot water in the sink, set the bottle in that while I shower and I figure it should be good to go.

About reviewer (59 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBlond, Other, Fine

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I really do love this hair oil. The scent is fine, though nothing to write home about. Smells vaguely of amla, but not too strong. Rinses out easily and leaves hair very shiny. The reason I give it a four is I prefer to simply mix my own hair oil of castor and coconut, which is simple and less expensive. But if you want a ready-to-go hair oil, this stuff is wonderful.

About reviewer (84 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I use the black seed variety which smells divine and even if i put it in for 5 minutes, it moisturises my hair so well. Wish it had a nozzle bottle which would cause less spillage (esp when it's a new bottle) but I just turn it into a plastic nozzle container anyway - way easier and quicker application.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I'm indian and this oil is absolutely fantastic! My color treated hair that goes through heat three times a week at least feels soft and looks great because of this oil. A full 48 hr treatment and an egg treatment with this baby and we are good!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Tan

HairBlack

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us