Hibiclens Antiseptic Skin Cleanser

 Hibiclens Antiseptic Skin Cleanser
Hibiclens Antiseptic Skin CleanserHibiclens Antiseptic Skin CleanserHibiclens Antiseptic Skin Cleanser

4.6

46 reviews

93% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Where to Buy



Start your review


Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I bought this hoping to find something that would miraculously clear my bacne that I've suffered from for over 20 years now. I'm 36, if that matters.
I started using this a week ago, give or take a day or two and was currently dealing with some awful, ugly pimples in my armpit area and an awful breakout on my back. And before anyone reads this thinking it's some skin rotting flesh disease of the armpit, whatever it's called IT'S NOT!! The breakouts on my armpits are not painful at all, there's no nasty foul smelling fluid leaking from my pits that signifies an infection and it doesn't look like my flesh is rotting so no, it's not some skin rotting condition that is affecting my armpits/groin whatever other area of the body that skin condition affects. And yes, it is completely possible to experience actual acne in the armpit area without it being some skin rotting condition.
Anyways, I started using this last Tuesday IIRC. And that is when the breakouts on my face started, I broke in spots on my face I NEVER break at such as my nose (the one on the side of my nose is huge and red! I'm so embarrassed), between my brows, above my mouth and cheek area and a small smattering of tiny angry red whiteheads on my forehead. Even as a teen I never broke out on my forehead and yet, there's a breakout there. It's as if this crap is literally feeding my acne. I used it on my armpit breakout also and overnight the red angry pimples on my pits were bigger and way more red. And they're still there, a week later. My face was clear before using this. And then I had to fvck up my face after so much work I put into clearing my facial acne by thinking my face could benefit from Hibiclens. And now I have to figure out how to undo all the damage I did thanks to this useless shit. Clearly I'm pissed as I write this review with tears of anger and frustration streaming down my face, if you couldn't tell.
Oh, and my bacne? Yeah, Hibiclens made it way worse. I thought the breakout on my back was pretty bad and that it couldn't get any worse. I was wrong. This stuff caused more bacne. Oh, and I'm also dealing with a breakout on my chest too since I thought my chest would benefit from this awful crap since I do occasionally get very minor breakouts there too and I do tend to get an oily chest area just like my back.
If you made it this far, please heed my caution and take into account my experience with Hibiclens. I will only be using a Sulfur based wash from here on out since it seems that's the only thing that really seems to help my acne/bacne.
I feel so pissed and frustrated cause of how bad my facial acne is now, acne I didn't have before using this and the fact that Hibiclens made my bacne and armpit breakout worse. I now know the only 2 options I have left to clear my bacne and body acne is Spironolactone and Accutane since I've tried every acne treatment out there, both OTC and Rx (birth control, Differin, antibiotics, etc).
I now have nearly a gallon jug of this stuff, unopened and a small bottle I bought from Walgreen's thinking this stuff would be the miracle cure I needed to finally clear my bacne. And I'm pissed cause that's money I can't get back and I can't use this stuff or else I risk more breakouts.
The thing that makes me cry is reading all the glowing reviews. The ones where they saw immediate results in a matter of hours and even days and all I can do is think "why can't this be me?" Don't get me wrong, I'm happy for those that have had way worse acne than me and finally found their miracle product. But, why can't this be my miracle product too?
I want to continue for another week, I'm trying to talk myself into not quitting so soon into using this. I may or may not depending on how bad my facial breakout gets. If it gets any worse then I will need to stop using this.
I will come back and update this review if I do end up sticking with it.



on 8/28/2018 10:54:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Life-changing.

I have suffered from cystic acne for 7 years now and have exhausted all treatments bar accutane. I have changed my diet, tried natural remedies, and tried everything my dermatologist could think of. Some products/ lifestyle changes have helped reduce my cystic acne, but I could never quite shake it. Until hibiclens.

I read about it online and was a little nervous about trying something so strong on my face, but I was desperate. I bought the 32 oz bottle from Amazon and a foaming pump (highly recommend) and decided to give it a try. I first tested a small amount on my arm and didn't react so I then applied some to my face. I used a thin layer of it mixed with a little water and left it on for 3-5 minutes.

This wasn't an overnight cure, but over the next few days I realized I wasn't developing any new spots, and the ones I currently had were diminishing. I started using it anywhere else on my body that had any acne (be careful though, and read the warnings) and my skin all over started to clear up. Within about 10 days my skin was almost clear. It was amazing.

I've been using it now for about 4 weeks and my skin has gone back and forth a bit - it's steadily about 90% clear with a few spots that have been there for a long time popping up but the hibiclens seems to really be clearing them up. I am now regularly getting compliments on my skin from friends and strangers. It's honestly a bit overwhelming. My skin hasn't look this good since I was probably about 10 years old.

I'm currently using it in conjunction with Sunday Riley Luna Oil, the Neutrogena Light Therapy Mask, Olehenriksen C-rush Brightening Creme, and colloidal silver. My goal is to eventually taper the hibiclens, but right now I'm using it once or twice a day. I am so, so, so happy that I have found this and I really hope other people discover hibiclens as well - I wish I'd known about this years ago. Cystic Acne used to rule my life and determine what kind of day I'd have. Now I feel like I have control of my life back. It isn't a cure-all; I still have some spots occasionally but they're totally manageable, and they're nothing like before.

I highly recommend trying this product if you've exhausted all other options. It is strong and there are risks to using it, but I am so grateful that I took a chance with it.

11 of 11 people found this helpful.


on 8/25/2018 6:09:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I use the foam dispenser version. I shower w/ my normal body wash then apply Hibiclens under my pits while I finish up in the shower then rinse. No more must! Ever since I had DD, no deodorant/antiperspirant can control my pit funk. This stuff does.

3 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 8/11/2018 3:53:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This stuff is amazing. I had a reoccurring outbreak of folliculitis on one of my temples and my derm recommended that I was the area with hibiclens. I purchased it that same day, washed with it that night and by the next morning there was no sign of the folliculitis. It was like it had never been there at all, my skin looked flawless. I was so impressed that I came on MUA and read all the great reviews about how people use it for acne so I decided to give it a shot. I was having a small hormonal breakout on my cheeks so I massaged the hibiclens into just the areas where I was breaking out, left it on for a few minutes, washed it off and let it air dry. By the next day my breakout was flat and no longer inflamed. A true miracle worker, I will never be without this.

9 of 9 people found this helpful.


on 7/21/2018 2:20:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This product saved me from a nightmare with my dog. She’s had a skin condition since she was a baby and it was year around but every time summer came the hot weather made her condition rapidly worsen. I tried many products, changed her food and the vet gave her antibiotics And nothing helped. One day I was just a mess thinking about how bad I felt for her. It dawned on me that I hadn’t tried Hebiclens and I had a huge bottle in the bathroom so I tried it. Didn’t really have high hopes but in just two days, her hair was growing back. Now, it’s the middle of the summer and she has all her fur!! I have to bathe her at least once a month in it or it will get bad again but I am okay with that!

10 of 10 people found this helpful.


on 4/25/2018 11:45:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I love this product. I have the foam pump bottle and the original liquid too. I have had little red bumps on my legs for years that seem to be worse in the winter. The dermatologist has given me many scripts for different creams and nothing works and it can be difficult to cover the large areas. I starting using Hibiclens on my legs and no more problems. My skin is soft and clean with no rash. I have also been using it to clean under my arms, I used to get itchy on warm days and that problem has also resolved with this cleanser. I have not used it on my face as of yet. I can't say enough about how well this has worked for me. What a find!!!!

7 of 7 people found this helpful.


on 4/15/2018 11:46:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Green

I discovered this amazing soap via the HS sufferers' community about five years ago. It truly is a godsend, and being Canadian and living near the border will make the three hour trip to the pharmacy at Wegmans in Niagara Falls, NY to purchase this. The larger sized containers can be ordered in, and will come with a foam dispensing pump that screws into the top once the lid is removed, which is handy. I would never be without this.

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Tip: This product is easier to use and control with the foam dispenser. Either buy the larger size that has the foam dispenser or re-use foam hand wash containers from other companies. I re-use the Bath and Body Works containers. I have one in the shower and one at the sink. This makes it much easier to use and apply without waste.

5 of 5 people found this helpful.


Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Been struggling with cystic acne for years. Desperate as I’m almost 67. I get multiple breakouts every day or two and can’t keep up with them. BP and Trenitoin are extremely harsh and leave me with a lot of pain. Differin is a bit more gentle but still not particularly effective. I have a derm appointment in the next few days. I’ve also ordered a Neutrogena Light Mask and spot device.
MEANWHILE...I found a bottle of Hibiclens left over from my knee replacement so mixed a few drops into my Aveeno Ultra Calming Foam Cleanser and left it on the lower part of my face (chin/jaw) for the time it took to take a shower. Before applying this, I used my Clarisonic with Origins Checks and Balances Frothy Cleanser. I haven’t seen any new bumps and am hoping I might have an edge on this current flare-up. Cystic acne is a huge, time-consuming, expensive, heartbreaking hassle that threatens to take over my life. Hibiclens seems to help. Wish me luck!

12 of 13 people found this helpful.


on 10/8/2017 2:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This stuff has been a godsend for the hormonal acne that has erupted on my jaw and cheeks since I stopped taking the pill about a month ago.

Before turning to Hibiclens, I had tried benzoyl peroxide, AHAs, BHAs, drying lotion, oil cleansing, and hydrocolloid bandages. While none of these methods were completely useless, they were no match against the painful, cystic acne that I didn't even have when I was a teenager. It was red, full of pus, and made it painful to move my face.

Enter Hibiclens, which I randomly read about on reddit. You can buy it from Amazon on the cheap. Mine is the original red-coloured formula and it actually has pump for easier dispensing. The stuff I have dispenses as a foam.

Today was the fourth day in a row that I used Hibiclens. There are still cysts on my jaw and cheeks but I would say that 60-70% of them have cleared. Most are no longer swollen; they're now all quite flat and much less red than they were before. A week ago, I had about 20 blind/cystic pimples. Right now, about 5 of them are still visibly inflamed and slightly painful when touched. That's a huge improvement to me for sure.

I want to mention that I am EXTREMELY careful about applying this to my face. I'm terrified about its potential to cause perforated eardrums and blindness if it were to get in my ears or eyes, so I'm really deliberate about my application.

First, I cleanse with my normal cleanser. Then, I use a cotton round to apply Hibiclens to my jaw and cheeks. I leave the solution on my skin for a few minutes (5-10) before carefully removing it with a wet face cloth.

I've read comments saying that you're not supposed to apply anything over top of it (like, for example, some people say you're not supposed to wash with Hibiclens and then apply a moisturizer) as apparently this neutralizes the solution and thus renders treatment ineffective. But I don't know how true that is because personally, I've layered on things like moisturizer, sunscreen, and makeup once I've let my face dry. So, after I've done my Hibiclens wash, I wait about 20 minutes before applying moisturizer, sunscreen, and makeup and this has worked out just fine. I just don't like the idea of leaving my skin to shrivel up after doing such a drastic cleanse.

Considering that Hibiclens is probably doing some damage to my moisture barrier, I wouldn't recommend using this unless you're truly desperate. But for me, I couldn't even get 10% Benzoyl Peroxide to make a visible difference on my cystic acne, so I felt a more extreme measure was warranted. I'd rather baby my dry, vulnerable skin and be extra gentle with it for a long time going forward than feel as if I can't leave the house due to ugly, painful acne that's impossible to cover up with makeup.

So if you feel like you've tried everything out there to cure your painful, unsightly, cystic acne, and yet nothing has worked for you, I'd say give Hibiclens a shot. Just...ask your doctor first because of all the associated warnings.

12 of 13 people found this helpful.


Back to Top