3.7

Created with Sketch.
298 reviews
67%
would repurchase
3.6/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

Ok listen up y'all, because I have tried a true PLETHORA of concealers in my time, full coverage to light coverage, matte to satin to dewy, and I'm here to tell you about this A+ covergirl one. This is VERY specific type of concealer, the closest thing I can think to compare it to is the Glossier stretch concealer, because it's very emollient and has light to medium (if you build it up) coverage. Anyone who says this concealer is cakey or full coverage is 100% applying it too heavily, you should Not draw it on in thick lines (as tempting as that can be), and I find it easiest to blend under the eyes with a fingertip, but it works just as well with a brush. This concealer is for someone like me; very dry skin, only requires light to medium coverage under the eyes, looking for a non-drying dewy-to-satinish finish. If you're not that specific consumer you may not like it, so be aware. TLDR; if you're looking for an affordable almost-dupe of Glossier stretch concealer, you've come to the right place. P.S. This shade range is a joke, Covergirl, get it together.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I am honestly surprised at how good this concealer is. The Fair shade matches my skin perfectly, and it never looks cakey on me. I had given up on concealers for awhile because they all made my dry patches look worse, but this one seems to glide right over them. The coverage is light to medium, which might not be enough for some people. Personally, I do prefer more natural coverage, so this concealer is perfect for me. It tones down any redness, acne scarring, and dark circles I have beautifully.

About reviewer (67 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Dry, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

My fave stick concealers are W7 (RIS from Australia) & NYC (no longer sold in USA except Ebay I just picked up 4 off Ebay today for $14 my fave concealer stick) I bought 2 of them for $6 ea. in Light (wish I had looked harder to see if they had neutralize/illuminate I came to Light & was in a hurry so just grabbed 2 Light. This is decent. I think the coverage could be a little heavier but I use this under my eyes, strip down nose & Cupid’s bow as well using it as e/s primer & to clean up brows. I don’t get blemishes often but I have 1 now I’m using it on this 1. I keep a concealer in my bag for emergencies. This isn’t my fave or anything. It’s adequate.

About reviewer (2417 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This is the only concealer I've ever used. Someone had bought it for me as a present, when I was just starting makeup. I've been in love with it ever since. The formula is so smooth, it just glides right onto your skin. Blendable, good coverage, I've never wanted to reach for anything else. I use the shade fair, which at first glance seemed to be too dark even for me. Once you blend it in, it does wonders to conceal your under eye circles. This one is definitely a win for me.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This only provides light coverage (if you use multiple layers), so please keep that in mind if you need at least medium coverage like I do. I have to use more product than I do if I use Maybelline Fit Me or Age Rewind, which I'm not comfortable with because who wants lots of layers of makeup on their skin? I know I don't for sure. Another thing is that the shade Light has more of a pink tone, so it's not that great unless you're cool or neutral. It's not a big deal if you set it with a good coverage powder, but again, most people don't want to have to use a lot of product on their face in order to compensate a product's incompetency. I did give it 3 stars though, just because I know it would be great for the right person, plus it's super creamy and easy to blend, which is always a blessing. It's just not universally compatible with warm skin tones, or for those needing a bit more coverage (unless you layer, of course).

About reviewer (272 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This concealer,while an old fashioned type of product (Nothing wrong with that.) does absolutely nothing to conceal imperfections for more than an hour and forget about wearing this if you have oily skin or plan on being in hot and humid weather. It will crease and settle into pores and lines. The blend ability is okay but the texture is tough to deal with. Pass on this if you are a fan of stick concealer. Or just pass on it altogether.

About reviewer (165 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I've used this most of my life, more than other brands. When the liquid ones were invented I used them. I've tried almost every brand and type of concealer. But the liquid ones are all implicated in giving me eyelid rashes for the past year. Supposedly you can develop an allergy even after years of exposure to the ingredients. I just don't know which ingredients are destroying my skin. So, reading all ingredient labels in the store, I decided this one had less of the disgusting chemicals. It still has some questionable ingredients but not as many. For example it doesn't have silica or artificial silicones as all the others seem to have. Of course this is an old school product. It's heavy and it takes effort to blend it in nicely. But if I can have a concealer that is harmless and doesn't burn my skin, I'm willing to take the time to blend it, and I won't quibble about it. I chose the Illuminator rather than the Fair because I remembered liking the effect years ago. It is very pale but I solve that by using very little and powdering all over to blend it in. Update Apr 28/16: I am grateful for this product. When I carelessly used a liquid concealer and got the angry burning rash again which takes weeks to heal, I use the Cover Girl stick in Fair and it covers the redness without irritating AT ALL. It deserves top marks. It covers completely and is innocent of any harm to my skin. Why didn't I throw out those caustic liquid concealers? Because....I kept hoping they would work again. I must throw them out. I will just use this little stick. It works and it doesn't hurt my skin. I now prefer the Fair shade which gives the most opaque coverage, while still looking natural. Update May 27/16: Lowering my rating to 3 because this, too, irritated my skin after a few days of using it. I can't win, and have to do a full makeup without any concealer or foundation. I just use Vaseline or Nivea, wipe most of it off so it won't be greasy, and then apply a mild powder that is unscented like PF or CG. I look ghastly, but whatever. Once the skin heals I of course will try this again. I always try again. Update Mar 13_18: I should mention that Illuminator is absolutely the best for covering dark circles. However, it has to be blended several times because it photographs white. It is called illuminator and that is just what it does. They are not kidding. The regular one in Fair does not do the job. I love this and will always use it. My rating is now 4 out of 5. This is all I dare use now. This concealer is not and never was the source of my eye area rashes. It is the silicones (especially cyclopentasiloxane) in the liquid ones and foundations that did the damage. I can't use anything over a rash that isn't healed so I still don't put anything on those areas, but I can manage to wear minimal makeup and look nice again. If I put on my makeup without concealer, it's simply not good. With mascara and liner I must use a concealer and this is the one. Update Aug. 12/19: This is all I can use on my face. I blend it in to cover dark circles and then I use powder. No foundation works for me. They all have way more chemicals than this simple cover stick which does not hurt my skin and does not look fake. I hope they never discontinue this.

About reviewer (242 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

I have been using this concealer in Fair 705 (the absolute perfect shade for my skin tone and the effect I want to achieve when using this product) for approximately 8 years and I have yet to find another concealer that I like better. I mainly use this product for the dark circles under my eyes that are somewhat of a darker blue/purple colour, and sometime on pimples or acne scars to reduce the associated redness. Recently, I purchased a MAC Pro Longwear concealer to try something different and I must stay I was disappointed; although I liked the consistency of the MAC concealer, I found that after wearing it for a while, I really did not like the way it looked on my skin (looked heavy and super dry). On an occasion when I was doing full face makeup, I used the MAC concealer first and ended up applying a layer of the CG concealer on top to give the effect that I love (soft, moisturized and not cakey). I love the consistency of the CG concealer and the effect that it gives. I do have admit that it has a bit of a tendency to crease and lay in fine lines around the eyes, but it dawned on me to use an eyeshadow primer prior to applying the concealer (I've been using Too Faced Shadow Insurance) and it dramatically reduced the creasing that can appear when using this concealer. Not to mention, the price for this product is more than reasonable and if anything, is handy to have in your purse for touch-ups through out the day. Until I find another product that performs better (at least performs better for me) and has a better or equivalent colour match to my skin tone, I will continue to have this concealer in my makeup collection!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

I got a shade that maybe was too light for my skin, but was good for high lighting my dark/deepset eyes maybe just a little less than usual. I should purchase a darker one to give a better review, but anyway. It's really good if you have oily/acne prone skin but I wouldn't suggest it if you have dry skin. Doesn't give me breakouts, it glides and a bit creamy and sticks onto oily skin while simultaneously removes the oily look. Also good if you just have slightly deep set eyes or have dark circles not too dark - unlike me who looks like a vampire if well rested and a zombie if not. I recommend that you should really buy something that matches your skin tone otherwise it will look patchy if you use it on places that aren't awfully dark (such as cleft chins or corners of zombie eyes, if you have them) otherwise try blending it out with BB cream or foundation. Overall, really nice for its price especially for a product that doesn't cause breakouts.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I bought the color "light" in this line - and should have bought the "neutralizer" color instead, but it was sold out everywhere. "Light" is the color that was recommended to me via the CG website - and it was horrible. Extremely pink - obnoxiously so. If the "neutralizer" color comes back in stock in my area, I may purchase - but I did notice that this is extremely drying. If you have dry skin, stay away. It caused my skin to peel. Edit - since I couldn't use this as a real concealer because the color was just way off for me - I tried using it as a primer for my eyelids like others suggested....no. Not even that worked. By the end of the day - my eyeshadow still clumped in the lines of my eyelid - so this product didn't even do that for me. I tossed it.

About reviewer (437 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us