3.0

Created with Sketch.
43 reviews
56%
would repurchase
3.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 months ago

I used 9 colour and did not cover grey. Made heaps of my hair fall out and made my scalp a bit sore. I will not use again

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesHazel



1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 months ago

Not many good things to report about this product. Runny texture makes it messy, strong amonia smell, the warm red color advertised on the picture turned out as burgundy on my natural medium brown hair, which I really dislike. And most of all it dried my previously colored hair ends terribly, which is what I wanted to avoid by choosing a "natural" product. So I will definitely not repurchase.

About reviewer (271 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

I started using Herbatint when I started coloring my hair again after growing out the gray. I used another L'Oreal color, but I decided I wanted something that I didn't hate every time I had it on my head and that was a little less toxic. The Herbatint "N" shades are excellent for covering gray. I've switched between 5N (Light Chestnut) and 6N (Dark Blonde) because they do run a bit dark. I find I have the best gray coverage with the 5N shade. They do fade somewhat, but I feel this helps to lessen the demarcation line between colorings, so it's not an issue to me. I allow mine to process for about 40 minutes. When I rinse it out, I put conditioner on my hair first to help with rinsing, because your hair will feel dry. Then I lightly shampoo and condition again. Just be aware that this color does stain. If you use a lighter shade towel for shampooing maybe 3-5 times after coloring, there will be color transfer. Also, if you tend to go to sleep with your hair damp, there will be color transfer on your pillowcase. Lastly, they do not provide an applicator of any kind. They recommend a tint brush and bowl application, but the color tends to be slightly runny in my opinion, so I use an old tint bottle applicator from my previous haircolor. I really like Herbatint and highly recommend it.

About reviewer (63 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

**This review is for Herbatint's shade 2N** I purchased this product on September 1st of this year because I am still transitioning to a fully cruelty-free regimen. This product has a strong, herbal scent to it which I guess is better than the highly chemical scent of L'Oreal and other similar brands. The colour went on as dark as the box displayed, and lightened up a bit after a few weeks. If you are looking for a very natural, dark brown almost black shade, I highly recommend 2N. From using this dye (I did a root touch up on September 28th) I have not seen any unusual effects. My scalp is in perfect condition and my hair has not become overly dry, unlike the results of a previous brand I used once. One aspect of this product I am a fan of is the resealable bottles. About two-fifths of one bottle covered my 18", fine hair. A touch up was one-fifth, which leaves me two more touch ups. If I would have gone with any other dye, a touch up every four weeks would be costing me $9, and either over processing my hair with the entire bottle are tossing the rest out (which is an absolute waste). For a total cost of $17, I can colour my hair four times. At a first glance this price is far too high for me. But after finding out you can use one bottle more than once, I was completely sold. One downside to this product is the fact you must invest in a tint brush and/or a mixing bowl. Most box dyes come in a squeeze bottle with a tip applicator. I already had these items on hand from using a previous product and wasn't an inconvenience for me. Pros: Easy to use Reusable Scent is not as strong Cons: Additional supplies are needed Scent is not very pleasant

About reviewer (22 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Dark golden blonde; At first I was a bit nervous to try a more "natural" hair color. I mixed it and it seemed liquidy but it thickened up after a few minutes of stirring it and I was happy because it had the texture of regular hair dye. It didn't come with a squeeze bottle so I used a glass bowl and a plastic spoon. My hair is a bit longer than shoulder length and the whole bottle was enough to do all my hair without any leftover. I was super impressed with the scent which was virtually unscented! I don't have any grays to begin with so I can't tell you if it's good for that or not. After rinsing it I found it a tiny bit darker than what it should be but I think it will fade into the perfect shade of blonde because I wash my hair often enough. There needs to be some before and after photos on the back of the box but there isn't any. I used the conditioner it came with before I washed my hair and then I deep conditioned. I am super impressed with this product overall. It is a bit expensive however. I do recommend it and will be buying it again but next time I might to try going 1 shade lighter blonde

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Herbatint changed the texture of my hair from soft, bouncy curls - healthy according to my stylist - to dry, frizzy limp hair. I'm currently deep conditioning with coconut oil but no change so far. The colour is also about two or three shades darker than advertised. I used 5N and it's very dark brown with a reddish tint. I spoke with Herbatint's colour specialist in Canada and she tells me my hair's condition will return in time and the colour will fade. Time will tell. I wouldn't use this product again.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I use this as it has less chemicals and very little odor, I forget the color I used last but it was a light golden brown which worked fine it was slightly darker on my hair. it's expensive here in Canada around $20 including tax, and it needs to stay longer on your hair to work. I portion out what I need so a box will last me 3 touchups if I'm not doing my whole head of hair. I will repurchase, I can't stand the smell of the other boxed colors so there are more pros than cons for me.

About reviewer (18 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOther, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I like how Herbatint has very little scent. It is gentle and makes my scalp only a little itchy sometimes but goes away fast. It's hard to keep it on for 40 minutes but I pass the time watching t.v. It dries the hell out of my hair so I have 2 use very heavy conditioner after I rinse it out and coconut oil. Then it is soft again. The colors tend to be darker than the model's hair on the box. It's not that big of a deal for me. Love that it is cruelty free since kind products are so hard to find. My hair is fine and thinning so I get 2 uses out of the box instead of one which is awesome since it's 17 dollars which is pricey but I need 2 buy it since I have psoriasis and need something gentle. Covers my ugly greys well.

About reviewer (24 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Dry, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I was using this product for about 8 months and close to the end of the 8 months I started to realize my hair falling out. Trust me I have A LOT of hair so I didn’t notice at first . My hair is now a lot thinner than it has ever been in my life. I didn’t put the two together until I decided to google it. I saw everyone else’s review and I obviously stopped using it. I really feel bad for anyone who has used this causes major hair loss. Please do not use it !!! I pray my hair grows back I’m going to start doing treatments.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This product is dangerous. It says natural but as the other reviews point out- it is not. It made my hair fall out around the front hairline (forehead). I admit I shampooed my hair within 12 hours of using (it says not to for 24 hours), but your hair falling out should not be the result. I WOULD NEVER USE AGAIN. AND I WOULD ASSUME THE POSITIVE REVIEWS ARE PLANTED BY THE COMPANY. DON'T BUY. THERE'S OTHER BETTER BRANDS OUT THERE.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Medium Brown

HairBrown

EyesBrown