4.1

Created with Sketch.
150 reviews
75%
would repurchase
3.7/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 months ago

I was so pleased to finally try this as I had researched and read that this was one of the top, non-smudge, volume and curl mascaras for short, straight Asian lashes. Mine was labelled Adavanced Film and apparently contains fibers and 4 kinds of beauty essence ingredients: Camellia oil, royal jelly extract, argan oil, and wild rose oil. I love the curved mascara brush that effectively coats my lashes, both top AND bottom. I usually skip doing my bottom lashes because all other mascara brushes are not up to the task. The product is odorless and doesn't smear. It dries fairly quickly and does seem to hold my curled lashes quite well. However, I get about 4 hours of wear before it smears and looks grey around my eyes. Removal is tricky as well, taking many passes of my eye makeup remover to get a clean result. Even then I find that I wake up with a bit of grey smudging around my eyes the next morning. I purchased this for about $25 at Sukoshi Mart here in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. I'll finish the tube, but will stick to the tubing mascara that I've been using for years until I find something better.

About reviewer (30 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown



2.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

this mascara goes on very clumpy. Does nothing for my lashes.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinVery Dry, Medium, Not Sure

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

8 months ago

While I love Japanese cosmetics, I feel like most of the Japanese mascaras I have tried (with the exception of the ones from DHC) have been incredibly underwhelming. Yes, this is an intense black color, yes, it is waterproof and doesn`t smudge, but this is where all the good points end. There is no volume that I can discern. Reading all the rave reviews here and knowing the popularity of this mascara in Japan, I am beginning to suspect that what works for Asian lashes might not work as well for other ethnicities. My lashes are long, naturally curly, but they are blonde and thin, so my aim is to thicken and darken them to get them to stand out. Western brands like Pupa Milano, Lancome and Bourjois work so well that I would never even consider putting on falsies, unless I was doing a super dramatic smokey eye. What I found Japanese mascaras to be great for are the lower lashes, which in my case are also very long and because I suffer from sensitive eyes, very easy to smudge. For lower lashes this Isehan and the D.U.P. mascaras work great to stay put and define. For the upper lashes, I feel like it only works as a natural look, since as far as I can tell it just darkens my lashes, without a hint of length or volume. Oh, and it was very easy to remove with a cleansing oil.(I use the HadaLabo one). I would repurchase, but only for the lower lashes.

About reviewer (880 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I feel as if MakeupAlley community has let me down on this product that I ordered from Amazon based on the reviews here. It is by far the worst mascara I have ever tried. I had read the reviews and was prepared for it to dry fast and be hard to remove. No problems there - coconut oil removes it and I knew to use a cutip fast to get off where it got on skin. It is way too thick and clumps the lashes together in a gloopy mess unless you spend a lot of time combing through with a fine metal comb. The gasket inside that removes excess product is way too big for the size of the brush so you have to manually remove all the excess rotating 5-6 times. I thought the gasket was missing but I tried inserting a clean disposable demo mascara wand and could feel the gasket. So disappointed that I asked Amazon for a refund as the product is useless.

About reviewer (14 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinVery Oily, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I love this stuff! I have straight lashes that can’t keep a curl and this stuff is eyelash crack! I’ve tried so many different brands of mascara and nothing holds the curl like this stuff. I also use the long and curl mascara and find both to be very similar. The applicator is more curved on the long & curl and volume & curl is a straight applicator. The applicator is small so it fits in your hand and easy to maneuver and apply. The applicator brush is small so it gets between the lashes. I usually add one layer as it is dry in prob less than 39 seconds, It doesnt smudge and the curl lasts all day as its waterproof. Removing it is so simple with dabbing some coconut oil on a flat cotton pad. I’ve never had an issue. I’m so glad I discovered this as the struggle was real being a straight lash girl with hooded eyes! Lol

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

The packaging has changed a little compared to the picture, the bottle now has a black and silver tube, with a silver lid. Heroine Make mascaras are like witchcraft in a bottle... the description "Super Waterproof" is 100% accurate. Once dry, it will magically repel all tears, sweat, sebum, water, and contact lens drops throughout the day with no running, smearing or smudging. On the flipside, if you make a bit of a mess when applying, you have around ten seconds to get it off with a cotton bud or tissue, otherwise the messy bits you don't want will also be just as invincible all day. I prefer the long & curl version overall because my short and stubby lashes need all the help they can get, but there's not much in it between the two if I'm honest. This version contains less fibres and instead of a curved wand, it's a straight brush with bristles spiralling towards the tapered end. It's not a very big brush, and teh bristles are well spaced apart so it's easy to get right up to the eyelash roots in the outer corners and lower lashes. Because of this, it does seem to give the illusion of a more volume compared to the lengthening one, because the brush allows for easy coating of the lash roots, and when wiggling side to side it will encourage some product between the lashes. Not so much that it looks clumpy or smeared, it just fills the lashline a little more right on the very lowest parts of the roots, next to the waterline - again, giving the illusion of thicker eyelashes I'll use this after curling my eyelashes, one coat gives a more natural and subtle appearance, and two coats is enough for dramatically defined eyelashes. Like the lengthening version, once dry it holds the curl all day. It doesn't flake or crumble, doesn't transfer onto eyelids and make me look like a panda, and doesn't irritate my contact lenses or eyes. The main issue that people struggle with is getting it off in the evenings - all you need is some cotton pads and an eye make-up remover that has an organic oily layer floating on an aqueous layer, Nivea does a nice and inexpensive one. Shake it up to mix the two phases, soak cotton pad, then press onto lids and eyelashes for 5-10 seconds, before gently rubbing off the remaining mascara with the pad. You only need to be gentle, so I've never noticed my eyelashes looking threadbare or anything. I've been alternating this with the equally bulletproof Long & Curl version of this mascara and it takes me less than a minute to get it all off in the evening using cotton pads soaked with biphasic make-up remover.

About reviewer (195 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is the best mascara ever! it volumizes and lengthens wonderfully.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Tan

HairBrown

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

This mascara is so difficult to remove!! As much as I do like the way this holds my curl and adds some volume to my lashes, I simply cannot deal with how much effort I have to put into removing this stuff. Micellar water + cotton pad just doesn't seem to do it. Eye makeup remover doesn't seem to do it. I end up having to try and work this off with my fingers in the shower after it has loosened up from the hot water. My search for my holy grail continues. [0]

About reviewer (69 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I just bought my first tube and have, after 2 weeks, turned around and bought a 2nd tube, I like it that much. This mascara fulfills my mascara needs. Creates long, defined and some volume. Lasts all day and then some. Is waterproof but comes off with makeup remover and concentrated effort. Does not smudge, flake, ball up, chip, or glob. Worth the $18 price. I would even go higher. For once I agree with the reviewers 100%.

About reviewer (1591 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is my game changer. I remember the first time i started using this is when i had a gym class ; body combat and weightlifting. With all of those sweats IT STILL STAYS NO MATTER WHAT. After that, i showered with warm water and wash my face also, this one still stays. Love of my life.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBlack