July 26, 2014 | 932 users online

Loose Powders - Alima - Mineral Finishing Powder

no image

rated 3.9(18 reviews)

  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 11/2/2011 6:51:00 PM More reviews by bernb

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

Alima Pure Satin Finishing Powder is a nice product. It has its purpose, however.
This finishing powder, in my opinion and experience, does nothing for oil control whatsoever.
But it is a rather beautiful finishing powder. It is definitely a ‘satin’ finish – it has an ethereal glow about it, that a lot of people won’t find suitable for everyday wear. I rather like the finish, as my face can sometimes look a little flat – the glow of this powder is a nice pick me up. After a few hours, it really ‘melts’ into the skin and the glow dissipates a little.
Overall it is a nice powder – some might find it more suitable for special occasions as opposed to everyday or workplace wear.
My only gripe is that it could be a little longer lasting, and have better oil control properties.
If anyone is looking for a nice mineral finishing powder that is more matte with decent oil control, try Laura Mercier Mineral Finishing Powder, which still has a bit of a glow to it, or Youngblood Mineral Rice Setting Powder, which is matte without being flat, and also doubles as a primer.
EDIT: My skintone - equivalent to MAC N/NC-10/15 (neutral warm, pale, with surface redness). I use Alima Pure Mineral Finishing Powder in Yuki.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/1/2010 8:24:00 PM More reviews by aclev

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

i am a HUGE fan of alima's foundation. so i bought a couple of samples of the finishing powder in yuki, which was the shade recommended by the website. i wear neutral 1 in the foundation. for my everyday look, i wear only the foundation; it has good coverage and finishes very creamy. BUT on days when i wear the finishing powder, my skin looks flawless. even my hubbie commented that my skin looked "airbrushed" when i used the finishing powder on top of the alima foundation. he's very hard to impress and even harder to get a compliment out of; so i knew i had something with this powder. it looks kinda greenish in the container, but goes on smoothly without a hint of off color, cakiness or weird talc-y texture. how alima makes powdered mineral products that don't look powdery on the skin is beyond me but i will be repurchasing for sure!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 4/9/2009 3:27:00 AM More reviews by condesadepitimini

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Other, Fine Eyes: Green

I have tried this powder (got a sample) in a darkish-shade for my skin (Hanae), and while it is really finely milled and apply smoothly with the proper brush, it has a "glowy" finishing that I do not like - makes me feel oily ans shiny just by the looks.
I like my powder to be matte and stay put all day, absorbing oil.
This is not a powder for very oliy skins.
In addition - sorry for being a bummer - my eyes cried all day (and the only change in makeup was the Alima powder), I am probably sensitive to that powder and I noticed it hurt my eyes right upon applicaion. So be cautious. To me, a no buy - no use at all.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 8/11/2007 11:34:00 AM More reviews by yoursisterdebra

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I have samples of the Mineral Finishing Powder in both Light Yellow and Cool Beige and I am somewhat disappointed. I love Alima's foundation, primer powder, concealer, blushes, lipbalm, etc. but this finishing powder is a disaster for me. I have quite dry skin so after applying Alima's mineral foundation my complexion looks fine... glowy but not too glowy and definitely not too dry/flaky. The finishing powder disappears into my skin color-wise, but makes my face look super shiny and the effect does not disappear over time (i.e. if I wait a while after application the shine doesn't go away). I don't understand why this powder that is supposed to absorb oil makes my dry face look like I sprayed it with Pam but I have tried it numerous times and always get this result. I have found that topping my Alima foundation off with a light dusting of NARS loose powder keeps my skin looking perfect all day so I will stick with that.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 8/9/2007 11:12:00 AM More reviews by trulylovely

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have oily/combo skin and LOVE Alima foundation, but I cannot really see a difference when I use the Mineral Finishing Powder in Light Yellow over my foundation. I used it for 3 days but can't tell a difference, so won't repurchase. It's not a bad product, but it just doesn't do much for me. I'm a big fan of Alima, but this is not their best product. I recently bought the Satin Finishing Powder, I prefer it much better.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/6/2007 5:49:00 PM More reviews by rudy13

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I love this finishing powder and use it with Signature Minerals foundation. I have an oily T- Zone and have to reapply in the middle of the day to keep the shine at bay, but I have to do this no matter what powder I use. I love the silky texture and have found several colors that work well with my skin tone.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/25/2007 11:55:00 AM More reviews by tomlina

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine Eyes: Blue

I have this in light yellow because my face has some pinky undertones, and the colour blends perfectly with my C-2 Alima foundation - it doesn't change the colour of the foundation at all. At first I didn't know if the finishing powder was doing anything, but then I forgot to put it on one day and noticed that my face got shinier much quicker than when I use this stuff. For this reason, I will continue to use it every day.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/26/2007 11:48:00 AM More reviews by verybecca

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I got this with some samples that I ordered and use this over the Alima Mineral Foundation and I love it...I have Light Yellow and it disappears on my skin and gives my skin the perfect, matte finish that I need after applying the foundation, which feels a little sticky without powder. Love this stuff.


NC30/MMM/Oily-Combo

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/21/2007 2:11:00 PM More reviews by jamieisaak

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Love this stuff. I use the Light yellow one and it's perfect for my NC25ish skin. This powder takes away shine but doesn't look cakey. In fact I don't even see it on my skin at all when i'm wearing it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/22/2007 10:50:00 PM More reviews by jjenner273

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I love this stuff! I don't usually wear foundation, maybe just a bit of bronzer. This product gives a soft finished look to your make up. It is so very subtle and sheer and barely looks like you are any wearing make up. Beautiful product!

Is this review helpful? Yes No