4.5

Created with Sketch.
42 reviews
88%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

10 months ago

two stars because it works great and the packaging is nice. minus three stars because it is no safer than mainstream deodorants and possibly more dangerous due to possibly higher levels of and/or more easily absorbed aluminum (https://www.peoplespharmacy.com/2012/02/06/are-natural-alum-crystal-deodorants-safe/) and because the company uses deceptive marketing on the label to make it seem safe and as if it were altogether aluminum free. i’ll be returning. shame on you, DSA. update: no longer seemed to work very well after the first few weeks, not sure why? very confusing. in any case, back to Secret while the search for a safer deodorant continues.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Olive

HairBrunette

EyesBrown



3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Edit: Did not like sweaty yet not-stinky pits in the heat, and I'll return to regular deodorant in the warmer months. I'm shocked that this works. I'm trying to reduce the amount of packaging I buy. I'd read that one of these can last a year, so I figured what the hell. It was a few bucks at my local hippy store. After my shower I run the stick under running water and apply it - maybe 20 wipes. It dries as I put on my sunscreen. No burning or irritation, and it doesn't feel like I'm wearing anything at all. This week has been warm - in the mid 80's - and I gardened, hoed, mowed my lawn, and shopped at an outdoor farmer's market. My pits got a little bit sweaty but zero smell. None at all, and I generally stink as soon as I start to sweat. I'll update this summer when we hit the high 90's - my area gets a good three months of that a year.

About reviewer (174 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Love this stuff! I haven't tried it in the "stone" form yet, but I do own the spray and roller and they both work really well for me. In the morning, I either spray or roll the deodorant on to my armpit (about 5-6 spritz or rolls) and it stays effect until the evening! I would however recommend reapplying a second time later in the day if you plan on doing any form of physical activity just because it does wear off (for me, personally) around this time. But, I am still giving it 5 starts because that is still seriously impressive for natural deodorant, and a sacrifice I am willing to make for my health. Odorless, lightweight and refreshing--this stuff can't be beat.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Olive, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Terrible. Don't buy. I bought both the hard one and the spray and not sure how this got good reviews. I don't sweat much and this was useless like you are not wearing deodorant at all. Actually I even think it made me sweat more.

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This is my staple deodorant- the mist one. If is effective and safe according to EWG. It is just like using table salts on your pits, not anything dangerous like some people think of the misleading aluminum salt name.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

Oh my gosh...FINALLY! I'm a very health-conscious person, and there is no way I'm putting hormone-disrupting, cancer-causing aluminum chlorohydrate and chemicals (propylene glycol is basically anti-freeze) under my arms to Be absorbed into my lymph glands every day. Yuck! So, that means a natural deodorant. A high quality natural organic deodorant is safe, no type of anti-perspiring is. Thus began the loooong search for one that actually stops stinky pits! I've tried Tom's, Arm & Hammer, La Vanilla, Kiss My Face, Scmidt's, Primal Pit Paste, and all varieties that Chagrin Valley makes. Fail, fail, fail. The second best was Chagrin Valley. I like the Citrus Baking soda based one the best, because it actually kept me 90%+ stink-free. Unfortunately, nothing I tried could stop the horribly itchy, stingy, burning rash I continued to get over and over. And I never was happy with the slightly oily stains these cream and oil based deodorants left on my shirts. And they don't come out! Not good. I even tried two that Food Babe recommended-another brand of crystal spray and a cream/stick sage lime one (can't remember the brands). Fail again. I came to MUA looking to see if here was anything new to try in natural deodorants, and came across the stellar reviews for this one. Hmmmm. I was surprised, because I've seen it a million times, but wrote it off because I didn't have a good experience with the other crystal spray (it's in a small rectangular bottle with blue and green labeling). I HAVE tried the solid crystal stone and stick that Thai makes, and liked the results, but don't like the application because I was forever dropping or chipping the solid stick, and when it wears down it gets too small to stay in the container and you have to use it sideways so you don't poke yourself with the point. So about a week or two ago I bought a bottle of the Thai Crystal SPRAY after reading lots of the reviews here (gosh, I really do love and use MUA ALL THE TIME). Well. I'm gob-smacked. This stuff is all the raves say it is. I like the spray coverage as it seems to cover a wider area and I worry less about missing a spot. A quick blast of my blow dryer on high air and low heat dries it quickly so I can get dressed. No oily stains. No visible anything under my arms. No rash. No itching. No burning irritation. I still do sweat a bit, that's natural, good for your body, and needs to be expected when using anything natural deodorant-wise so that isn't a problem for me. The thing that just blows me away though is how totally stink-free I stay for much longer than ANY other anti-perspiring or deodorant I've EVER tried-natural or not! Wow. I'm impressed. In the space of the two weeks I've been using it, the weather has gone from the 50's and chilly to 98 and humid and it's worked great in all situations-sleeveless shirts, sweaters, sleeveless shirts under a light sweater, while sleeping, while working out...I'm just so jkoressed and I wish I had tried this so much sooner. I spray it on in the morning right after I dry off from my shower. Make SURE you have washed thoroughly under your arms because any trace of leftover stinky bacteria will affect your results. I like using a soap with teeny scrubby grains or body wash with a Salux. Super clean pits will give you the best results. The only time I smell a little stinky is when I work out the following morning after having applied the morning before, and hey, I think that's totally allowable and is not a problem for me. This stuff is my absolute HG deodorant now and I am DONE spending and wasting $ to try to find something that hits all the marks on what I want and what I need. This stuff is perfect. Two thumbs WAY up. So thankful for all the wonderful ladies who took the time to write a review on this fabulous product! Works so much better than I ever hoped it would! YAY!

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Soooo I've been reading a lot about aluminum causing breast cancer, and my 27 year old cousin found out that she had breast cancer so it was a major wake up call. I'm stinky. Don't get me wrong, I shower every single day, but my BO is just crazy. I use the highest strength aluminum deodorant available and still stink by the end of the day. Fast forward to buying this crystal....ummm holy moly this works better than ANYTHING I have ever used. I'm in shock!!! I wish I would have started using this years ago. Let me tell you what I did today(I still have ZERO armpit stink)...went to my brother's house and chased his toddler around while they cleaned their old house that they are moving out of, helped them unload two trailers full of heavy stuff, jumped on trampoline with said toddler, cleaned two bathrooms(I mean really cleaned), and then cleaned their kitchen including scrubbing out an oven and fridge. Then I came home and took my dog around the block twice. I really don't smell. It's the craziest thing!!!! I did sweat, the sweat just doesn't smell. Yewwwww!!!!!!!

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I purchased the spray version at Whole Foods. I apply it immediately after I get out of the shower and dry off. I spray it into my palms and then pat it on. The spray does an excellent job controlling odor.

About reviewer (222 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Curly, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

This stuff is pretty magical. I was skeptical at first because it doesn't prevent sweating, but this seriously does prevent stinkiness! I went jogging in 80F weather yesterday and felt sweaty in my armpits bt I noticed that there was ZERO scent to them! Amazing! I was formerly using Toms of Maine in the apricot scent which I was loving for about 4 months but it started to make my armpits burn and peel. Not good but I wanted to continue to use a natural deodorant so I picked this up at Drug Emporium for $4.50 after seeing reviews for a long time here on MUA. The price is also very good for the product because I feel like this stone will last longer than the typical deodorant "gel". Might need to try out the spray version as well!

About reviewer (154 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I've switched over to natural deodorants over the past yr. This has no scent and you have to wet the tip with water. Although this does not have antiperspirant properties, it keeps me from getting stinky. I dont sweat unless I go to the gym anyways. I use this right after my shower. This is the first "rock" deodorant i've ever used. I bought the spray version of this brand that i love as well

About reviewer (1297 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us