4.0

Created with Sketch.
10 reviews
70%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I was looking for a natural looking, my lashes but better mascara. I got this in brown instead of black because of the same reason. I'm pleasantly surprised! This adds color and darkness to your lashes without looking unnatural or harsh, lengthens quite a bit, and most importanly does NOT clump easily, does NOT make my lashes stiff, and doesn't flake at all or smudge as long as I don't sleep with it on and rub my eyes. I have dry skin around my eyes. This is not a particularly volumizing or waterproof mascara but, as I said, gives you a soft natural look without clumping, and keeping your lashes soft. Will definitely rebuy since it's an essential item for everyone who likes natural looks, and there is nothing I feel is missing.

About reviewer (79 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair, Warm

HairOther, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue



4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

This is my first natural mascara. Only $5 on iherb. I like it. Very basic. Doesn't add tons of volume or length but it's black, doesn't make lashes stiff, no flaking or smudging. No eye irritation. Overall it's very nice. Basic but nice. I will def repurchase

About reviewer (479 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair, Neutral

HairRed, Straight, Medium

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I really like this product. I thought I was going to be a devotee to the EccoBella mascara for years, but then EccoBella made their mascara greener, and it just became too clumpy and cumbersome to apply. In comes Reviva at $7, including shipping, off some site I found on Amazon. Easy to apply, especially in a hurry. Hard to make clumpy. Stays put all day. Doesn't flake. Everything you could want. I mean, there are better commercial mascaras (ones that are softer feeling or ones that give more volume), but for an eco mascara, this is as good as it gets for me. I'm not looking any further. Pros: easy to apply, good ingredients, lengthening, great price Cons: none

About reviewer (127 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

This mascara didn't really do anything else to my lashes, but straightened them. I always curl my lashes and this mascara straightens them completely when I apply it. That's a big minus, because my lashes are straight and almost pointing downwards, they need to stay curled. The consistency of this mascara very odd and wet and for some reason I always tend to get mascara stains on my eyelids when I apply it. It coats my lashes with color and it doesn't clump, but it doesn't seem to lengthen or thicken them. The brush is a normal bristle brush, not plastic, and it's very basic looking. There's a lot of product on the brush and I always have to wipe some of it off before applying it on my lashes. Good things about this mascara: it doesn't smudge or flake at all during the day and it doesn't irritate my eyes. I wouldn't buy it again, even if it's very affordable. I need mascara that doesn't straighten my curls and I'd also rather have one that will add some length & volume. This mascara is not the one.

About reviewer (60 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Curly, Coarse

EyesGray


3.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

UPDATE 10/4/13: I have been trying to use up my most recent tube of this mascara, but since Reviva reformulated and added little fibers it irritates my eyes, clumps more and looks less glossy/more dry. It's not the worst I've used and still has good staying power and generally decent ingredients, but unless they go back to the old formula I will, sadly, not be purchasing again. Too bad too; I really loved having such a cheap HG mascara. I have adjusted from 5 to 3 lippies - if you can handle mascara with fibers and don't mind combing out a bunch of little clumps, it's still ok, but I would no longer recommend it to everyone like I once did. ORIGINAL REVIEW: This is the best daily wear mascara I have found to date. Having originally purchased it in brown to wear for a subtle, no-mascara look (and finding it to be too dramatic for that) I have now also tried the black and discovered that I can use both with equal success so now buy whichever happens to be cheaper at the time. This mascara retails for $8 (which is already cheap) but I can always find it right around $5 at various online retailers so it�s definitely a steal. PROS: Easy to apply. It has a thinner consistency which I prefer and can be easily layered without clumping. Does not irritate my eyes (even when I fail to remove it before bed). Does not flake. Easy to remove. Cruelty free and on the slightly more �natural� side (though still with some questionable ingredients). CONS: As far as I can tell, this isn't really available in-store anywhere, so I have to be certain to order online before I run out. The tube doesn't come with any kind of seal so if you purchase from somewhere that accepts returns you can�t really tell if it�s been used before. Will run if exposed to moisture and does not come in a waterproof version. As far as appearance, this mascara keeps my lashes separated well enough that they look a bit fuller and I do notice some slight lengthening, though nothing dramatic. It's very dark and 1 to 2 coats is enough to make my otherwise colorless lashes look very black (the brown also looks black). Overall, this is as close to HG as a mascara has ever been for me. Being the mascara whore that I am, I still continue to try others often but always keep the Reviva Labs on hand. I must say, I am very pleased that the best mascara I have tried is also the cheapest! Ingredients: Water, Beeswax, Copolymer, Isododecane, Peg-20, Sorbitan Beeswax, Glycerylstearate SE, Wheat Germ Oil, Magnesium Silicate, Kaolin, Cetyl Phosphate, Carnauba, Stearyl Alcohol, Panthenol, Cetyl Alcohol, Xantham Gum, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Dehydroacstate May Contain: Iron Oxides, Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Ultramarine Blue

About reviewer (68 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

Um, why have I not heard about this mascara before or seen it in any store? I've spent hundreds of dollars trying to find a usable "clean" mascara, and this one is really good, super cheap, and easy to find online. It's thick, but I always wipe 90% of whatever mascara comes out on the brush before applying to curled lashes because I prefer as natural a look as possible - this mascara gives me that look perfectly. Have I found it? My skin is super oily, and I live in Seattle, so almost every mascara smudges under my eyes, but this one does not. I'm so happy my search is over and for once the product is clean AND cheap. Go team!

About reviewer (53 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

Actual name: Hypoallergenic Mascara--the Liquid seems to have been an old version. <p> I am a redhead in natural-lash denial with a lifelong--well, 25-year-long--mascara habit. Worse, I am a mascara wh**e. Not serially monogamous; it's more like polygamy, with a harem, and long-term friends with benefits, and every once in a while--periodic phases of curiosity and urges to experiment--some down and dirty cheating. Which is just as well, as it's the best way to discover gems like this Reviva mascara. It's a simple, basic, everyday, YBB mascara. Available in brown and black. Odourless. Zero irritation, nice light feel, no smudging, good day-long last. Cheap. <p> It's packaged in a short stocky plastic tube, and has a short wand--great for controlled close-up work--very similar to those of Beauty Without Cruelty, Origins, Fresh, MAC. The brush is an old-fashioned one, the classic fairly short head, bushy without being teddy-bear. Formula: very gloopy when first opened, but wipe the brush clean, and for the first few uses, spiral it and act fast when pulling it out of the tube. As with pretty much any mascara, a lash-comb is advisable. <p> The formula itself: slightly thick without being too wet. I'm applying two coats to the top lashes (and doing both the underside and the top side, getting right down to the roots--I have pale lashes, looks silly otherwise) and one to the bottom lashes. It applies evenly, without clumps or globs or flakes: nice clean separation of lashes with a little volume, but nothing over the top. Coats can be layered. Any overspill on surrounding skin cleans up fast; not too much of it, and it is something that happens if you're applying mascara right down to the lash-line so as to avoid showing your roots / true colours... <p> On the lashes, this mascara feels light, supple, and fluttery; but lashes stay well in place--with some of the lightest flutteriest mascaras, I'd found that lashes went all over the place: you'd look in the mirror a couple of hours later and find some were tangled up and others were poking out in eccentric directions. Not so with this stuff. No flaking or running into eyes; at least, if there's been any, it's not noticeable on the lashes--they're still all nicely dark--and hasn't caused any irritation on the eye. A bonus right now, in allergy season. <p> Dries fairly fast; once dry, it stays on well all day, without flaking or smudging. It passed my standard smudge-and-general-wear test with flying colours: left on for 24 hours including sleeping in it. Lashes were still nice and soft the next morning, though in place: neither crunchy and brittle (can happen with some waterproofs and drier mascaras), nor poking out all over the place at weird angles. I tested it further, applying another coat (top lashes and the odd bottom one that had reverted to its natural state), and got 48 hour wear out of the stuff. Making Reviva at least as long-lasting as some of the other great standards out there, like Clinique Naturally Glossy. <p> It's also as resistant to moisture as any waterproof ones I've used. It's not completely waterproof--I tested it out in the shower--but it does resist everyday rain. I also tested it out in the shower against two other non-WP mascaras, and it outperformed them by a long stretch: Honeybee Gardens and Ecco Bella. Tested out in the gym and running: sweatproof. <p> It can, like pretty much any mascara, also be waterproofed with the addition of an "overcoat" such as Clarins Double' Fix. <p> Removal: comes off easily with oil, using a cotton-wool pad (or substitute, ex. reusable washable cotton pads). <p> UPDATE up to 5 lippies. The tube has lasted nearly 3 months now, and is only showing signs of improving with age: less gloop on the brush when you pull it out the tube; still impeccable application and wear. Used on a weekend-long hike, deploying a little in the mornings (Sat & Sun) to touch up eyes: great stuff. <p> Cruelty-free, and pretty decent simple ingredients; though not vegan (beeswax). Cheap as chips: the regular price is around USD 7.50-9.00, and it's often on special for around USD 4.00-6.00; 0.25 oz tube. I haven't seen it in B&M stores here (Vancouver, Canada) but got it online; Google for current best prices and shipping and so on... The packaging isn't anything to write home about, being plain black with gold lettering on a plastic label (can be removed if you feel like an even more minimalist approach to your mascara). <p> INGREDIENTS: Water, beeswax, copolymer, isododecane, PEG-20, Sorbitan Beeswax, glyceryl stearate S.E., wheat germ oil, magnesium silicate, kaolin, cetyl phosphate, carnauba, stearyl alcohol, panthenol, cetyl alcohol, xanthan gum, potassium sorbate, sodium dehydroacetate. May contain iron oxides, mica, titanium dioxide, ultramarine blue. <p> Note that the old formula (and name) had a different formula, using different preservatives.

About reviewer (442 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairRed, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

10 years ago

I am not sure if this is the same mascara, mine says Reviva Hypoallergenic Mascara. It is very black, which I like, rather clumpy, which I don't like.. and it does seem gentler on my eyes than previous mascaras. However, reading the ingredients, I don't know how "natural" it is, overall! It was about 9 dollars in my health food store, a bit pricey, I think.

About reviewer (37 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinVery Dry, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

11 years ago

I found this to be very clumpy and flaky. For a non irritating mascara with natural ingredients I prefer OcuSoft - reveiwed on Unlisted Brands.

About reviewer (195 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

12 years ago

This mascara is a pretty good find. The ingredients are gentle, yet the pigment is rich. The consistancy is pretty thick so you have to get the hang of this product so you don't get clumps. other than that, it looks nice and quite dramatic for a natural product. in the healthfood store, this sells for $7 which isnt bad at all for mascara.

About reviewer (88 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown