4.3

Created with Sketch.
103 reviews
76%
would repurchase
4.5/5
package quality

price range
$20.00 on Nordstrom
Shop Now

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

Good mascara for adding length, not so much volume. My natural lashes already have good volume but needs a bit of help on the length department. One coat of this is enough to give it that extra boost in length. Two coats, even more so. It's waterproof so you will need a good waterproof makeup remover to remove this. I haven't experienced smearing and flaking but I only wear this on the top lashes, not the bottom. I wear it everyday with one coat on and also occasionally wear it at night with 3 coats. The black color is very pigmented and gives my lashes extra definition. Good stuff.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesHazel



3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 months ago

This mascara ticks a few boxes for me: I opened it some time in August and it's still going strong, it lengthens my lashes and has a good colour payoff. Dramatic it is not, but for a natural, everyday look, well, it's lovely. It cost £16 when I bought it which is more than I'd normally spend on a mascara, but is still perfectly purse-friendly especially when you consider how long it lasts. However, I have one major issue with it which means I can't give it more than 3 stars. One of the selling points of this mascara is that it's supposedly smudge-proof and claims to only need warm water to remove it a la most tubing mascaras. In my experience the first of these claims doesn't ring true. This is a real shame as it would otherwise have been an HG product for me. Unfortunately, I have been blessed with an oily complexion - to the point where I've tried countless foundations, mascaras, cleansers, toners etc. to no avail. I've tried a handful of tubing mascaras and more or less settled on my almost-HG product for now (Boots No.7 Stay Perfect Mascara, more on that later) with varying results, but unfortunately, this one gave me panda eyes. Granted, they weren't as dramatic as I've had with other non-tubing products, but I definitely have to wipe under my eyes every few hours, and the smudges themselves do seem to want to stay put. This isn't practical for my often long working hours and by the end of the day I just look messy. It does come of with warm water, but it just sort of ... melts as opposed to coming off in little tubes like most tubing mascaras. Rain also seems to give way to more dramatic dark smudges, and given that I live in the UK, this is definitely not a good thing. Basically, this is a great everyday mascara, but only if you're blessed with skin that doesn't secrete oil quite as dramatically as mine seems to. Oily girls? Sorry, this is yet another product that's just not right for us.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

My intent was to use this exclusively for my lower lashes because the brush is teeny tiny. As an Asian gal with sparse lashes who has a hard time landing mascara directly on the lashes versus all over my eyelids, I needed all the help I could get. As I gently tugged at lower lashes with my new tube (which was fantastically not goopy wet as many new mascara tubes can be), I realized I’d just embarked upon a new era of my mascara journey. The bristles seemed to actively grip my lashes rather than just depositing product aimlessly, and the precision brush allowed me to coat my lashes right at the base, making them look deliciously thick and long. The magic of this wand and formula translated just as well to my top lashes. It held my curl, separated, lengthened and volumized, and was able to withstand major layering without veering into spider lash territory. I will admit that there are better mascaras out there for just volume as this mascara doesn’t have the dense viscosity of something like Lancome Monsieur Big, but I can see it being universally perfect as a first coat situation since it gives the most elegant natural lash lengthening effect. Also, when you aren’t naturally gifted in the lash department, super volumizing mascaras turn your lashes into 3 strands of dangling poo anyway - not cute. I love this mascara. My previous loyalty was with the Sisley So Intense (which is still absolutely amazing) and my wallet is rejoicing at the idea that I can get the same effect and ease of application for so much less.

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

After trying countless mascaras, I have settled into this MAC mascara. It doesn't clump and stays put. I have given up on putting mascara on my bottom lashes as everything migrates. This mascara washes off well without tugging. I have pretty decent lashes to begin with, mainly looking for volume. This fits the bill.

About reviewer (73 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I am loving this mascara! I have tried Clarions, Lancome, They're Real, Dior Show, but find this is the best with the least clumps. I wouldn't use it for over the top sexy lashes, but perfect for everyday and casual nights out.

About reviewer (21 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I am so confused by this mascara. I honestly don’t think this is a tubing mascara because it’s the only one I’ve ever used that when removing it instead of coming off in actual tubes the mascara smears all under my eyes. But... that’s the only time I experience smudging/smearing. While wearing this it is a solid formula that doesn’t flake or smudge and it stays put until I take it off. I just wish it came off like a tubing mascara and was cruelty-free but those two issues aside, I love the skinny wand and how the mascara performs.

About reviewer (968 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Curly, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I bought this product on one of Sephora's 20% off sale. surprisingly I actually like it. I am extremely picky with mascaras as most smudge on me as I have oily eyelids and there's less than a handful of mascaras I can actually wear and this is one of them. i love the brush as it is small and skinny and can get into the inner corners of my lashes a lot easier. the formula isn't too drying or wet so doesn't weigh my lashes down after curling them, and it holds a curl. but I also apply a primer on before my mascara all the time as well. it is removed easily with makeup remover and had no issues with it. I didn't detect a smell with the formula. I didn't experience any smudging at all either which is a huge bonus. I normally use Estee Lauder zero smudging so will alternate between the 2 mascaras as they are both my top mascaras with no smudging. I would recommend it. I usually use this on my top lashes as I don't frequently wear mascara on my bottom lashes. I think I have messed up bottom lashes that any mascara I apply looks odd because of the way my bottom lashes fall and separate, but will experiment with the bottom ones as other reviewers love it for the bottom lashes. overall, I would repurchase :)

About reviewer (191 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

I have lash extensions so i look for lower lash mascaras and this is the best. It doesnt flake, it separates and makes my lower lashes looks good without being crazy clumpy or spidery. Its natural but darkens it also makes it longer. I purchase whenever mac has a sale like 20 percent off. pros- darkends without clumpping coats every lash really nicely super precise brush that i love easy to use does not smudge lower lash lovers dream natural but also pretty Lengthens cons- price Doesnt hold curl Edit- ive switched to PML essence mascara base and Le Volume de Chanel for my mascara routine. Wont be repurchasing because i dont put mascara on the bottom lashes anymore. this one is really good/the best for bottom lashes.

About reviewer (425 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

$19 feels ridiculous for mascara - but I’m telling you, this is fantastic! One coat is natural, two enhances and three competes with the super lash mascaras on the market. Only this does.not.budge. Until you take it off. Which is easy with a wipe. The brush is small - which works perfectly for my gray short lashes. No goop upon application. No flakes or smudges under the eyes. Great for mature ladies with hooded eyes!!!

About reviewer (417 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is a tough call. I love that this looks very natural, it enhances my lashes enough without looking fake or obvious. The formula is nice, no clumping and it removes very easily with warm water and facial wipe. I usually experience fallout from mascaras, not so much with this. It does a very good job of lengthening and separating. The biggest deterrent for me is the price--The tube didn't last as long as other mascaras and it's hard to justify the price. I'll probably repurchase until I can find a more reasonably priced mascara that performs just as well.

About reviewer (30 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesHazel





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.

The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us