Lipstick Queen by Poppy -Saint Natural

Lipstick Queen by Poppy -Saint Natural

4.5

20 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS


Start your review


on 3/15/2017 6:43:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

On a whim I bought two of the saint lipsticks, saint natural and saint red. I haven't worn the red yet on its own, but saint natural is pretty much exactly what I was looking for. Like a previous reviewer I'm also a bit surprised that so many people would describe this as a mlbb shade; in my experience those tend to be in the rose/peach/pink nude family, whereas this to my eye is a muted red. It has brown tones but not enough to "read" as brown on the lips. My lips are fairly pigmented so I find many of the mlbb shades too light; saint natural however adds a little depth and definitely a warm, reddish tone. It's not a nude lipstick, but I would say an understated one that gives my lips a bit of polish and definition without shouting "lipstick!" if you know what I mean. I really like it; in addition the formula is very nice given that most lipsticks they dry out my lips. I just wore this for two days straight to a conference with some reapplications (it's not long lasting but neither does it disappear right away), the feel is pretty comfortable and I only felt the need to add a dab of lip balm once during the day. Colour me impressed! Because the shade is subtle, fading is not an issue. (We shall see with saint red) So this one gets an A+ from me and I'll definitely be looking at a brighter shade for summer. (As for packaging it's neither here nor there, and the price, well I'd rather have only a couple of nice lipsticks than a dozen so-so ones.)

1 of 1 people found this helpful.



Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I went looking for this lipstick based on the MUA reviews in this thread. I couldn't find it anywhere in NYC (Macy's used to carry the brand, but no longer) so I ordered it online sight-unseen.

This is a very pretty lipstick but I am surprised that so many pale ladies are classifying it MLBB. I am pale (in the 10-15 range of the MAC color system) with neutral to pink undertones and on me this is a quite dark, sheer berry. It is in no way "natural" or MLBB. I look like I am wearing a dark lipcolor, albeit sheer. And this is just by applying naturally from the tube, not layering or building the color.

I suppose if I just dabbed it on with a finger and used practically no color, it might work as an MLBB for me. But I can make almost any of my (hundreds of) lipcolors function that way no matter how they look in the tube.

I like the Lipstick Queen product in general (this is my second) and I'm happy to have this shade. But if you're very pale, I'll be surprised if you find it an MLBB.

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 3/22/2015 7:10:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I purchased this lipstick shade several weeks ago at Ulta, and have worn it a few times since then, enough to give my opinion here.

As so many of us tend to do, I was on yet another quest for the elusive MLBB lipstick! I happened upon the Lipstick Queen display, where I also picked up Jean Queen (or is it Queen Jean?) to swatch. Saint Nude first caught my eye, but they were sold out. The next one was the Saint Natural....it looked nice when I tested it on my hand, so I purchased it, too. I'd describe it as kind of a neutral berry tone, probably equally complimentary for either cool- or warm-toned ladies. As for me, I'm very pale, NC10-15, and this lipstick shows up nicely and enhances my own lip color without garishly announcing that I'm wearing lipstick.

I went to meet my husband after shopping, but put on a coat of my new Saint Natural lipstick first. My husband inquired as to what treasures I found, and I told him I was wearing my new lipstick that I just bought. He laughed because he thought I was joking! Soooo, this really is a MLBB shade for me. Then my husband laughed because he doesn't understand why we women are silly enough to buy lipstick that is exactly the same shade as our lips. Men!

Anyway, this is a pretty comfortable lipstick to wear, although it doesn't feel as smooth and moisturizing as Medieval or Jean Queen. I clicked that I would repurchase, but I'm not entirely sure I would. I prefer a very moisturizing and comfortable lipstick, even if it means that I sacrifice length of wear-time. I'd much rather reapply frequently and feel like my lips stay smooth, supple, and comfortable. This lipstick endures a bit better for me if I first moisturize my lips with a teeny bit of Aquaphor ointment.

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 3/18/2011 5:00:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Purchased this from Barney's NYC back in 2009 and i used it like crazy and then forgot it in my make up drawer. Found it again and wore it for my family holiday picture for 2010. i put some on my mom and my aunt and my mom was RAVING about it. she sent the pic out and everyone emailed her saying we looked so great etc. my mom swears its the lipstick. on us, asian yellowtoned medium tan skin, its the perfect berry. i am buying two more for us right now. love the packaging and wish there was a store in SD so i could try it on because the colors swatch online is SO off. $18.00 + tax.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 12/13/2010 10:54:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I almost gave this 2 lippies is because the texture is lovely. But oh boy - (not sure what my problem is because everyone seems to love it) the color is horrendous. When I opned the package I was sure they sent me the wrong color; surely the dark, matte, orangey, brick red lipstick I was looking at wasn't the much touted MLBB Saint Natural. But it was, and I'm baffled. I also ordered the 3 piece set (Medieval, Butterfly Ball Sigh and Saint Pink) as well as Butterfly Ball Float both of which should be arriving tomorrow... hoping for a better outcome!
Edit: OK, I'm doing an almost about face here. I was expecting a lighter, softer shade, and on my tired skin in the evening with no other makeup, it looked harsh and orangey. This morning it actually is a sheer MLBB shade with none of the orange that I saw yesterday and the texture is still lovely.


on 12/15/2009 12:24:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have and love Saint Pink (and prefer sheer lipsticks), so I thought I'd give Saint Natural a try. I'm glad I did. For me, it is an MLBB shade, but with a touch of berry-ish stain. (I do find this a cool/neutral color--it shows no warmth or orange-ness on me.) This builds well (if you so desire), leaves a lovely stain as it wears off, and doesn't bleed. It comes in the signature sturdy gold tube. I took one lippie off because I find the Saint lipsticks a tad drying (although my lips tend to be dry), especially for a sheer, but a dab of good lipbalm underneath will fix that. Another winner from Poppy, who continues to feed my lipstick addiction!

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 11/24/2009 4:30:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I wouldn't usually buy a sheer, natural lipstick - too boring - but this was given to me by my aunt because she's not a lipstick wearer but somehow ended up making this purchase when Poppy King was doing a Lip Reading (?) at Myer in Melbourne. I'm so glad she decided to pass it on to me because I love this lipstick! As the previous review said, it's like my lips but better - much better! Has pretty good staying power and after an application or two my lips look dewy and soft. I now want the whole range! Just bought Saint Rose but think I'll have to get Wine, Rust, Red, Berry and Coral as well!


on 10/16/2009 12:55:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Saint Natural is one of those colors that fall into the category of "Like My Own Lips, Only Better." The application is smooth and sheer, the feel is moisturizing and the taste is practically undetectable. I like how the color is a neutral with a harmonious blend of warm and cool tones - this means I can wear this color as both a brunette and redhead.

3 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 6/24/2009 5:06:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I agree that this is not a nude lipstick shade and I wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone who like me looks awful in neutral lipsticks. I have tried lots of shades, some of which are well loved - for example MAC Hug Me, & Twig, NYX Thalia ... I looked terrible in all of of them - at its worse I looked like I had put on concealer instead of lipstick!
This is a natural shade with a hint of pink that simply compliments my pigmented lips and my lipstick of choice when I wear smokey eyes or when I simply want a break from my usual reds, berries or plums. Very understated yet elegant - the mu artist recommended the sheer formula over the matte for a more natural look. Love it!!!

11 of 11 people found this helpful.


on 5/9/2009 10:34:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Other

Eyes: Black

The thing I love most about the Saint range is the great formula. Unlike almost all other brands do not make my lips peel.

For those of you judging colours online, don't bother. Swatches don't work either. I went to Myer (in Australia) to buy the Saint Nude. It was invisible on me. Saint Rust looked looked gorgeous on my arm but it was an unexpected orange on my lips. Even though I already had the Natural Sinner, I tried this on and was completely different. It had a light pink tinge instead of the very earthy colour on the Natural Sinner.

Another reason why I love this lipstick is that it stays on for a long time and it's wearable out or for work. HG status!


Back to Top