3.7

Created with Sketch.
162 reviews
64%
would repurchase
3.7/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I read the good reviews on here and thought I would give it a try. I have always used a chi flat iron on dry hair and have been pretty happy with it but saw that this could cut down on my drying time. Ugh! This fried my hair! I even used a great hear protectant. It made my hair like straw and even stripped the color! I have never had this kind of awful result. Using heat like this on wet hair is a recipe for disaster if you already have damaged hair. Can't wait to return this! Not for me. I'll stick with a hair dryer and my chi flat iron.

About reviewer (53 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinVery Dry, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

I had the chance to use the newer version of this straightener, the 2” version with soy hydro complex and I’ve never been more satisfied. My hair is not thick but it’s not thin, it is curly/wavy and frizzy. I hate straightening my hair because I never get the results I want. When I straighten it I have to keep straightening it because it gets frizzy quickly because I get hot. Everything changed with this hair straightener though. I recommend the “beyond the zone” heat protectant, it smells great and leaves hair feeling softer and healthier when you use heat. Back to the point though, the Remington wet 2 straight left no frizz at all, left my hair silky soft and super straight. A result I’ve never gotten. BTW I used this on my dry hair not wet hair, i like to straighten my hair when it’s completely dry. If it wasn’t for this straightener I would’ve paid $300-400 for a keratin treatment or Brazilian blowout to have my hair less frizzy. I

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Bought this 7 years ago and still works fast and efficiently on my very curly hair.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Curly, Medium

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I am very impressed!!! I bought this at Target for like $40 a little over 5 years ago. I still use it to this day. I've gone through phases of hair styling - I often go through periods where I straighten it every day for 6 months, and then stop using it all together for a year until my next straightening phase. This makes it hard for me to estimate how much wear and tear it's taken. But I definitely remember a lot of time I've spent using this. I have fine wavy hair but I have A TON of hair. This makes it very hard to straighten my wavy mane. This flat iron is AMAZING. I know it's bad to use a flat iron at the highest temperature, but I always have this on the highest setting because it saves me so much time. It's also a great size since it's slightly wider than other flat irons, so I can work in larger sections thus saving time. Unlike other flat irons, this straightness lasts all day, until I wash my hair. The only flaw with this is that the wet 2 straight part isn't entirely true. I only use this on slightly damp hair but would not recommend using it on wet hair. It simply will not straighten your hair and leave you with a mess of frizz.

About reviewer (170 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

I'd never heard of a flat iron for wet hair before but liked the concept, so I did some research (Google) and found that the Remington Wet 2 Straight had the most positive reviews. It also happened to be the least expensive of wet irons (I ordered the regular 2" iron without the Soya Hydra Complex, from amazon.ca). After getting tape-in extensions I now have thick wavy hair but I prefer to wear it straight and sleek. The iron has a setting from 0 to 30: 0 to 9 is for dry hair, 10+ is for damp hair depending on the thickness/dampness. The instructions are to use the iron on damp but not soaking wet hair. For my purposes, I find the iron works best if I air dry my hair until it's about 90% dry, then I use setting 15 in combination with my new HG product, TRESemme Damage Recovery Oil Elixir. It takes about 3 passes over an approximate 1" section of my hair to straighten/dry and it's not bone dry, just drier and much straighter. Steam does emit from the iron and makes a hissing sound when I run it down the sections but it's just steam and my ends are not fried. It takes about 15 minutes to do my whole head. By the time I've finished my last section, I turn the setting down to 10 and do a quick once-over. Because I usually wash my hair at night just before going to bed, I find after waking that my hair has a few dents so I set the Wet 2 Straight on 8, do a quick roots touch up and my whole head looks as good as the night before. I'm glad I found this iron and worth the reasonable price in my opinion.

About reviewer (57 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I got this straightener for my birthday. I always wanted my hair to be straight and frizz free, I have thick and curly hair btw. I used this on my towel dry hair and it did an amazing job. I understand people saying that it burns and fries your hair but that's not the case. It makes that SSSSsssss sound because the water evaporates, the goes out through the holes in the straightener. My hair stays straight as long it my hair doesn't get wet, normally my hair is wavy in about an hour. This straightener is amazing for the price and does an excellent job!

About reviewer (4 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Curly, Coarse

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I got hurt on my left ear! :O - bit burnt! :O :( - n now I want to always pick it! - It hurts! :O :( - Otherwise! It pulls ur hair down and dries your ends! And you have to work it all around for a better result! - But I do enjoy the look and feel of the more expensive ones out there! - A little tricky and overheats and all! :O :x. Oh man! - But I do highly recommend it! :O :) :x. Not bad - compared to others! :x. - It's tough to find a good one but this is good! :O :) :x. -

About reviewer (29 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

the best straightener i ever used.....i love that it dried my hair and was still straightning it.....i hate having to wait for my hair to dry so this is amazing

About reviewer (160 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 years ago

I have the wide version of this. It works fine, even does wet hair, which saves me a ton of time. After using this I have silky soft straight hair. I do dislike that it sometimes snags at the end of the plates, have lost some hairs to that. Also the handle gets pretty hot after a short while.

About reviewer (446 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairRed, Wavy, Coarse

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 years ago

I have owned two versions of this flat iron now, both the purple tourmaline version with a digital display and the soy version with a manual dial and power switch. First of all, let me state that normally, I can't dry heat style my hair AT ALL. Not even blow drying... sure, there's cool shot, but that takes so long to do it's really not even worth it to me, so I normally allow my hair to air dry. It's baby fine, coarse, high porosity, 3B curly, and prone to dryness and breakage. I always wanted to flat iron my hair, but greatly feared the damage all the extra dry heat styling would do. So when I first came across this flat iron, of course, my interest was peaked because instead of trying to style my hair dry with heat, it proposed it could be done with my hair damp using LESS heat and without robbing it of the moisture it actually needs to be healthy. Ever since I picked it up, it's been the ONLY style of flat iron I will use since. It takes a lot less time than what I've seen traditional flat ironing take, and it always leaves my hair actually healthier than it was before I flat ironed it. It leaves behind the perfect amount of moisture, and has not once damaged my hair (the proof is in the fact I can get a hair cut every four months and only have to lose a half inch off it). It does take a bit of a learning curve to learn to use. At first, the sizzling scared the crap out of me... I soon learned that this was actually a good guide to when I needed to move on to the next section, because once the sizzling became minimal it means that section is dry enough to move on. It's also important to note it is far better for your hair and quicker if you just straighten it in one pass, though you can do a second pass with it dry just to get flatter results. Even without the second pass though, the results are pretty impressive, and I've only done the second pass when I wanted to get bone straight, mirror like quality. Working around your scalp takes some talent, as it does have poor insulation which if not done just right results in you accidentally burning your scalp. The best thing to do is start several inches away from your scalp (somewhere around 3 inches, my guess) and make absolutely sure you point the vents away from your head. The heat and steam from it being nearby will mostly dry the hair around your scalp, and even though you will notice it's slightly damper than the rest of your hair for a couple of minutes afterwards, this doesn't seem to present an issue to how straight it gets and quickly goes away. It is also important to note that the best results can be achieved from damp, NOT wet hair, so towel dry your hair well before using this flat iron on it. Also note... just like with a regular flat iron... the best temperature to flatten your hair with will be greatly dependent on your hair type. The best thing to do is start out with a low setting (half way to maximum temperature at the MAX for damp hair) and then work your way up or down from there depending on your needs (down if it seems to be drying or damaging your hair too much, up if it doesn't seem to be straightening it well enough). I know silicone products are highly popular as protectants, but I seriously would not recommend them for anyone with coarse/dry/damaged/treated hair as anything but a weather proofing additive to a primary oil based protectant, mainly because while silicone does protect, it does not nourish and even dries your hair out a little, while oil based products protect, nourish, AND condition without depleting any moisture at all but locking it in instead. Right now I use African Pride Olive Miracle leave in conditioner followed by African Pride Olive Miracle hair oil and add a few drops of silicone based serum to that if I want to make it more weather/humidity proof. I have also used oil moisturizers and hair dressings as my protectants with great success. Now, for a run down of the differences between the two different versions of this flat iron: - The soy/manual version is WAY more conditioning, and you get smoother results with it, but those with baby fine/oily hair may find it leaves their hair feeling "greasy" - The soy/manual version is less likely to snag hair - The soy/manual version is a lot slicker than the tourmaline/digital version so it glides down the hair shaft faster and easier... some people may prefer this, others may not, it's really just personal taste - The tourmaline/digital version is easier for novices to use thanks to an easy to understand display and clearly divided wet and dry temperature ranges - The tourmaline/digital version doesn't close and shut as smoothly as the soy/manual version does, tending to wobble a little, and feels "cheaper" in construction - I have noticed I have to be more careful with manipulating the placement of the soy/manual version to prevent getting burned by it... it seems to be the difference in designs that causes this - The soy/manual version will stay at the same setting every time you use it, but can be prone to changing settings in the middle of styling if you don't watch the placement of your hands since the dial is ever so slightly accessible on the sides even with the iron closed shut... the tourmaline/digital version naturally isn't prone to this issue, but forgets its previous setting every time it's shut off so you have to reset it to your favorite setting every time you use it, unless you prefer the default best - Both versions may burn your hands if you place them too close to the plates due to lack of insulation - The tourmaline/digital version is a bit more prone to leaving indents in your hair than the soy/manual version is due to design differences, so one must learn to avoid pressing down too hard with it

About reviewer (58 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Olive, Neutral

HairBrown, Curly, Medium

EyesBlack