4.6

Created with Sketch.
1111 reviews
87%
would repurchase
4.4/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 months ago

I was repulsed by how this looked in online swatches, so over the years I didn't even bother trying it in the store. Urban Decay's Stray Dog and a couple by Annemarie Borelind were my favourite taupes. I also own some: Cover Girl, Wet n Wild, Fyrinnae, Fusion of Color, Essence, NYX, Dior, Laura Mercier, Inglot, NARS Make Up For Ever, Cargo, TheBalm, Guerlain, Shiseido and Chanel shimmery/satin taupe shades in palettes and singles accumulated over many years... I rarely use these, and gave some away. I even have a Lancome palette literally called Taupe Craze, and found it looked stupid on me. So I thought taupe isn't really something that works on me. Recently I watched an old video by Panacea81 (Britney Spears Piece of Me look). The Satin Taupe she used (with discretion) enhanced the makeup and her whole face so beautifully, that I thought to at least try it out next time I went shopping. I gingerly patted a cleaned one at the shop on my lid around the outer v.... and was surprised to see that it looked amazing and took my makeup ( just Sable with Corduroy) to another level. Now having bought it and used it for a bit I can say it this product has great texture, longevity, and overall quality, in addition to being a uniquely flattering shade. It does wonders to define and enhance the eyes in a way I haven't seen with my other taupes. It truly makes my small eyes look bigger/brighter. I have warm skin (was classified as a 'true autumn') ...if this can work on me surely it will look good on others. It swatches strangely looking like red-toned silvery muck. On the eyes, when applied lightly, that odd silvery shade probably brightens the whites of one's eyes, while that slight reddish plum tone (which I thought would look like a bruise) melts in with the skin, thereby working on any eye colour. When applied heavily that same tone becomes more formal looking and perfect for parties. I recognize this shade now, this is a shade I've seen on countless people, without me really picking up on it. That too is a good thing- it enhances even when used heavily, doesn't obscure the person's features. There's a quick little blog post where she does show some very affordable dupes, and does mention, as I found, that Satin Taupe looks better in real life than in pictures. https://beautyofalemon.blogspot.com/2016/01/mac-satin-taupe-eyeshadow-vs-dupes.html I am over thinking something that clearly deserves its popularity, simple as that. Really love this! (Note: it's not that expensive in pan-form)

About reviewer (105 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 months ago

I love this shadow; its a beautiful cool purply-brown shimmer. I have fair, cool skin and bluish-gray eyes and applied it all over my lid and into the crease as a one-and-done wash of color. It's PERFECT...it adds depth and dimension; I don't need a separate crease color. I'm not somebody who creates elaborate eye makeup looks....I just want simple and there aren't a lot of colors that are good on their own but this one is for me. I get the hype. I applied it over primer and six hours later it still looks good; it hasn't creased or faded. I read that Wet n Wild's nutty shadow is a good dupe for this, but for me it didn't work. That one had a yellow cast to it (on me) and because of that I hesitated buying Satin Taupe. I decided to try it anyway and am so glad I did.

About reviewer (203 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Curly, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

I love this eyeshadow and it is really pigmented. So smooth to apply and lasts really long. Mac is my favourite makeup brand . I will buy this eyeshadow again for sure

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

It's very expensive!! As a single mom I can't afford it anymore ๐Ÿ™„๐Ÿ˜” however I bought this with afterpay and I don't regret it so far. Gorgeous color really like mac cosmetics.

About reviewer (36 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

ok so back in high school which was many years ago i remember hearing so much hype about this shadow and bit the bullet. I was so excited about it and tried it all over the lids and i absolutely HATED it. It leans very purple and gave me a weird black eyed look. fast forward to now about 8 years later i gave infamous satin taupe another chance. If i am not careful i will still look like i have a black eye though. But carefully mixing it with lighter beiges and browns it leans more brown than purple. I dont love it t but i dont hate it. I just cant put it on the whole entire lid. Looks very purple and grey/ashy on me. i wont repurchase because i dont reach for this often. Its hard to work with because it can become a black eye very quickly. Ive began to steer away from shimmers and frosts. They tend to crease on my lids even with a base. I much prefer warmer matte shades, my favorites are Brule, Cork, Texture, Brown Script, Brown Down and Ricepaper

About reviewer (425 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

What a fabulous colo!. I am really excited I finally discovered this color. Its a perfect taupy brown with a hint of purplish maybe? I dont even know but it looks great, I love it. This will be a permanent color in my rotation from now on!

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Tan

HairBrown

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

said i'd buy this again but i've had this for 3 years and haven't even gotten close to putting a dent in it. very rich deposit of colour time and again. i wear either N3 or NC15 in studiofix powder (depending on the time of year) and Satin Taupe plays beautifully with my very fair skin and hazel eyes. it blends like a dream, no fallout (which is saying something for a shimmer finish) and it is incredibly versatile for a natural day look or a vamped up evening look. also does not irritate my eyes. absolutely fantastic value for money. i will sing the praises of Satin Taupe for the rest of my days (and steamy nights.) if this shade works for you, it should be a staple in your collection. is especially fun to wear with Urban Decay's "Mushroom" eyeliner.

About reviewer (105 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is one of my favorite OG MAC shadow! It works well for all skin tone, warm, cool, neutral , olive, etc. My favorite way to use it for a smoky eye is to apply a grey cream base over lid up to crease, apply shadow over base and blend into crease. It provides a nice rich smoky grey/taupish effect, perfect for a night out. This provides great pigmentation and can be applied as a wash of color, or layered for a rich deep color pay off. I have not found anything else like it.

About reviewer (90 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

The texture is very soft and the pigmentation is awesome. Not much fallout either.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Tan

HairBrown

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

On me it's definitely more brown but it has a purplish tint. It's so pretty. It definitely looks better when my hair is darker red though. Its a bit overpowering when my hair is strawberry blonde.

About reviewer (735 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairRed, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us