4.7

Created with Sketch.
402 reviews
91%
would repurchase
4.4/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

This is a richly pigmented dark red with lighter red micro glitter throughout. I was expecting great things but I do like OPI's I'm Not Really A Waitress better. Ruby Pumps is very stark against my light skin. It's also a pain to clean up. Nice for the winter holidays though. I just wish it went on smoother and cleaner. It also needs a good glossy top coat to make it shine. Doesn't take forever to dry. In my opinion it's just okay and looks way better in the bottle. Oh well.

About reviewer (91 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown



3.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

Pretty sparkly red. Goes on thin but looks good with 2 coats. Chipped really fast though

About reviewer (1040 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

A lovely deep glitter red that applies quite smoothly, although not as smoothly as other CG shades - but that's due to the glitter particles. Good shine, especially when I make sure I've done 2 coats and followed with top coat, and no issues with chipping either, at least for a few days, after which as with any jelly polish it's inevitable. But I do have one gripe...it's not easy to remove. In fact it's a pain as the glitter refuses to come off and it takes a lot off cotton and remover to eventually take it all off. Aside from that a very festive and fun shade which I'll purchase again. Selena x ~ My HG list ~ (As I've sampled many 100s of skin, hair and m/u products over the last decade and a half, I thought it might be useful to share my top 10 must-have products, subject to change if and when I come across something more effective. I love constantly trying out new stuff - usually sample sizes via e-bay, also plenty courtesy of a friend who works at Sephora) 1. Hair Loss Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Hair Oil 2. Lip Balm: 'Nuxe' - Reve De Miel Lip Balm 3. Pigmentation + Anti-Ageing Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Facial Treatment Serum 4. Cleanser: 'Paula's Choice' - Skin Balancing Cleanser 5. Concealer: ‘Mac’ - Studio Finish Concealer 6. Lash Growth Serum: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Divinelash 7. Foundation/SPF: ‘Juice Beauty’ - Stem Cellular Repair (warm glow) 8. Face Scrub: ‘Sisley' - Botanical Gentle Buffing Cream 9. Moisturizer: ‘Antipodes' - Rejoice Light Day Cream 10. Hand Cream: 'Origins' - Make A Difference Rejuvenating Hand Treatment

About reviewer (567 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Tan, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I happened to see a picture of "Ruby Pumps" on Pinterest and thought it was gorgeous, so I decided to give it a try. Oh gosh, that was a mistake! The brush is very thin, which made application difficult, the color loses its shine once it's dry (even with a top coat it wasn't any better), and it feels very thick and rough on your nails. I couldn't stand it, so I took it off the day after I painted them.... which lead to another problem with this nail polish. The glitter gets everywhere when you remove this polish! Even after washing my hands multiple times with hot water and soap, and going over my fingers with polish remover, I STILL can't get the glitter off! Don't waste your money on this!

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

chg tells me it's there best seller but i rarely put it on but end up taking it fast . i dont like it...its boring. it's a darkish, neutral, ruby base with silver and red glitter. .its not brite, blingy, fun, flashy or sexy. the finish has a tacky texture. when i use red i think..fun, fiery, bold n unique and this aint it. removal is a bitch. my go to red is chg rasberry festival which is discontinued glass fleck from the SUMMER DAYS 2009 collection. I'm also going to try cherry pie from same collection. i get RF from Amazon. another fun red is Just be Claws....real brite classic red with yellow foil.

About reviewer (74 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I've had this color for years and regularly return to it when I want a red nail with a little bit of pop. Even after sitting under my sink for 5 years, the only sign of this polish aging is slightly slower dry time. Formula is smooth and opaque in two coats. Dries kind of rough, so is best with a top coat. Great for a holiday nail but not by any means restricted to Christmastime. My only complaint is that even with two coats and a top coat, the polish begins to show wear around my nail tips after a few days.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesGray


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Bold, sparkly, versatile red polish. It's a classic red, slightly cooler than neutral, and SUCH lovely glitter! This was originally part of a Wizard-of-Oz themed set, so imagine Dorothy's ruby slippers, but with super-fine microglitter. If you're a fan of OPI's INRAW, but you want shimmery sparkle, this is your jam. Note: I say Ruby Pumps is versatile b/c it can be painted over other colours to drastically alter the shade and tone of red. Craving a deep rich RV red with shimmer? Start with a layer of your fave purple or wine. (OPI's Skyfall is SO lovely.) Want to go gothic or space-aged? Start with a grey-blue or teal. Want a light, tinsel-y effect? Apply 1 coat of Ruby Pumps over metallic silver or pearl! (This is a great way to use tricky silvers shades that get streaky on their own. The red holo-glitter hides imperfections.) Added perk of this strategy is that you avoid staining your nails, and your 1st layer of polish is WAY more forgiving of imperfect application. This is my favourite way to use Ruby Pumps, finished wth a super-glossy topcoat. TLDR; Ruby Pumps is a versatile red with fine red sparkle. The sparkle is dense. The base is more jelly than cream. If you're not sure what kind of red works w/ your skintone, this can be painted over top of any other polish for amazing control over undertones. It does require a topcoat to feel finished, and like all sparkles, removal requires extra patience. But I love this polish! It's the most lovely and versatile red I own.

About reviewer (96 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairRed, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

The official December - February nail polish of basic bitches in the northern hemisphere. Hey, I'm not knocking it -- I count myself among them. Who doesn't love Friends reruns, breton stripes, and having ridiculously sparkly red nails to cheer you up when the weather gets gloomy? Especially when these sparkly red nails last nearly a week before chipping. Obviously, because this is both glittery and red, it'll stain if used without base coats and will 100% test your patience when trying to take it off with regular strength nail polish remover. I think it's worth it. It's just so irresistibly cheerful and sparkly!

About reviewer (86 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Been my favorite red glitter for 10 years. I get more ooooohs and aaaaahs from strangers with this color than any other polish I own, and I have far too many polishes, lol.

About reviewer (49 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Other, Fine

EyesGray


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I don't really understand the super positive reviews because I found this product to be extremely difficult to apply on the nails. I love the color, a deep red apple (similar to Essie Big Apple) and not too coral with a bit of glitter. And the color looked great right after I applied it But it lost it's shine, like gel polish, about 24 hours after I applied it. It also chipped soon after, like 3 days so that's a big disappointment. I hope they take my review and try to improve the duration of the shine and application because there'a so much potential!!

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinVery Dry, Medium Brown

HairGrey

EyesGreen




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us