4.2

Created with Sketch.
48 reviews
83%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

I've suffered from severe scalp seborrheic dermatitis for over seven years. This shampoo has almost cured it! I've been using it for around 3 weeks, and the sores/scabs are 95% gone. There is one tiny patch remaining, and I am hopeful that it will soon be gone. Thank you, Vichy, this is a miraculous product!

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue



5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Selenium sulfide has been the only treatment to best manage my scalp condition in 20 years. Vichy Dercos is hands down the best shampoo as it erases flakes, red patches and itching without my hair and bathroom smelling like burnt matches (sulphur). I am just over six feet tall with long hair past my backside and not having foul smelling hair is important. As long as I wash my scalp with Vichy, rinse and wash the rest with my peppermint shampoo, my hair and scalp are happy campers. This product has been a game changer; I can fix my ponytail/bun in public without cascades of flakes, redness and unpleasant odours - all for $20 CDN :) Thanks Vichy! Update - March 29/19: The Vichy Dercos shampoo for normal to oily left my hair a greasy malodorous mess after two days - Shopper's was out of the normal to dry. Yikes, the smell was awful!

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairBrown

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

This shampoo was recommended on Youtube for psoriasis. It did not work for me at all. I bought the one for dry hair. In the early days I used Selsun for my problematic scalp and that worked fine, in this shampoo the active ingredient is also Selenium Sulfide but did nothing good for my scalp. A lot of the ingredients are harmful and sensitising (COCO-BETAINE - DIMETHICONE - CARBOMER - CI 19140 / YELLOW 5 - PROPYLENE GLYCOL - SALICYLIC ACID - PARFUM / FRAGRANCE), so maybe that is the reason my scalp becomes more irritated than it already is.

About reviewer (204 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

This is a HG product for my husband. He had a nasty dandruff that did not surrender to any other product but this - after 3 days his scalp was almost clean from big greasy flakes and red blotches. After 2 weeks it was perfectly clean and 6 months later his hair was thick and healthy. He now uses it 2 times a week. Unfortunately it didn't work well on my hair because I have long, fine and treated hair, so it really dried out my ends, although my scalp was nicely squeaky clean.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 years ago

I use the version for normal to oily scalps and it's my HG shampoo. It leaves my hair feeling soft and bouncy, removes any product build-up and actually clears my dandruff! It's a bit pricey like most Vichy products, but it gets the job done. This stopped working for me after a while and actually started to exacerbate the problem? I've since switched back to good old Head & Shoulders.

About reviewer (114 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGray


3.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

I have very sensitive hair and scalp and I often had dandruff problems. I used Head and Shouldres for many years, but the problem with it was that after a while it produced me dandruff again. Vichy was wonderful: it cleaned my hair really good, it got rid of the dandruff and I used to alternate it with a lighter shampoo because this one is a treatment shampoo after all, as they told me at the pharmacy. However, I stopped using it for 3 reasons: 1. The price. After using a bottle/month for half of year, I came to the conclusion that it was just too expensive. 2. The size. It's soooo tiny! I have long hair and I wash my hair very often, so I had to buy it monthy. Yes, alternating it with another shampoo, so imagine! 3. If you stop using it, your hair will come back to its original state: dandruff, itchy and opaque. So how is it a treatment? A treatment for life? I returned to Head and Shoulders. It does the same, it's just as addictive, but at least it's cheap and it's bigger.

About reviewer (36 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair, Warm

HairRed, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

This stuff has made my hair look so pretty at first! I woke up one morning with loads of dandruff on my scalp. My husband bought me this shampoo. Unfortunately he bought the one for dry hair and my hair is a little greasy at the mo. So at first it was a miracle in a bottle., my hair felt light, clean and soft. But after using it 4 or 5 times, my hair started to become very oily. Next time I ll try the one for greasy hair!

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Olive, Not Sure

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

9 years ago

I seem to have had seborrhoeic dermatitis on my scalp all of my adult life. Itches and flakes were always a problem. I used to use Nizoral every other week to keep it in control but it comes in such small containers I was always running out. Then I read the reviews for this shampoo and bought some. I can't believe it but since I started using it my scalp has cleared completely. This is after 19 or so years of a problem scalp! And I don't need to use it very often, just every other week or so. Edit August 2016: Still using this as it really works. I have to add though that I use the version for dry hair in the white bottle with green on top of lid. Once I mistakenly bought the sulfate-free version for sensitive in a translucent green bottle with white cap and that does not work for me at all.

About reviewer (298 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

9 years ago

I used to love you Vichy Dercos, but alas, I have found your equal at a quarter of the price. I accidentally deleted my previous review of this product while I was editing. The review was nothing but glowing, it still would be but I just couldn't continue to justify spending so much on a shampoo. If you have the money and want to spend it on shampoo, this stuff is Superb. But if neither applies to you, give Head and Shoulders Clinical Strength in the Navy bottle a try. See my other review for detail.

About reviewer (70 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Olive, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBlack


1.0
Created with Sketch.

9 years ago

this shampoo contains Yellow #5, Coal tar, which is used to control dandruff; however, it is a cancer causing agent !!! i have been searching for a shampoo which contains selenium sulfide (1%) to replace selsun blue (1%) because i cannot find it here in belgium. i came across to the Vichy Dercos Treatement Shampoo Anti-dandruff Fortifying - With Selenium Ds + Cohesyl + Vitamin PP. i have already used it 3 times. even though it did not cause a major scalp problem (i cannot use most of the shampoos because of my dermatitis), it did not have the same effect as selsun blue neither. i also noticed that i lost lots of hair during the washing process. at that point, i started searching for the other ingredients it contained, and i found out that Yellow #5 means coal tar, which i have been meticulously avoiding because i knew that it had controversy over cancer (i had also avoided the tradtional t-gel shampoo for the same reason). i would never use this shampoo again !

About reviewer (154 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Straight, Other

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us