4.1

Created with Sketch.
52 reviews
75%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

Oh... This is a strange product. It dried my skin out like I took a week long walk through Hell, and made me look twenty years older in a matter of a few weeks of using it, no exaggeration. It made the few lines I have so deep, that I couldn't believe my eyes. I stopped using it because of this. It was fascinating to see myself look very old for a couple of days, but I am very happy the effect could be reversed. Probably it was caused by dehydration. So my experience was very bad. But at the same time it made my skin tone so even and clear that maybe for the first time since I was 17 years old I don't really need to use foundation now. Dark under eye circles gone. Oh well. I won't be repurchasing. I wonder what ingredient is responsible for evening out the skin tone, I would love to add something with it to my skincare...

About reviewer (37 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This exfoliating alpha & polyhydroxy acid cream comes in a pump bottle, not the jar in the photo here (avoid anything in a jar like the plague due to antioxidants losing their use when exposed repeatedly when opened & exposed to oxidation and the ability to containment the contents). It has gel-cream texture and doesn't sting as some AHA & BHA products do, but don't be deceived: I used to rub excess on my fingers and knuckles until I noticed it made those area most susceptible to minor injuries. The amount and quality of moisturization & exfoliation is lovely with routine usage for at least 3-6 weeks. I love Alpha AHA products as well, but I perk up from the feel and smell of this one. As a long time (25+ years) user of AHA & BHA products, my dry skin's mantle can tolerate the exfoliation with usage 2x/day 4-5 days per week, alternating with retinol-only nights (prefer Paula's Choice clinical 1% retinol). I can't use it at the same time as self-tanner because the tan is gone by morning. The results are a noticeable reduction in pores & fine lines, but regular use is required to maintain it as with any other like product. The Ultra Restorative Cream is thicker and more moisturizing than this one, but both provide the same exfoliation without needing another product. I'll often add Paula's Choice hyaluronic acid booster to amp it up, but this product impressed me by working as a stand-alone potion for multiple benefits. I think the price of both are reasonable for the performance, although on the pricey end nonetheless. I can't use it everyday because I also use a clarisonic, and depending on the weather & hormones, the two can be too much at once and exacerbate redness all around my mouth & nostrils, which are the most sensitive & redness-prone areas on my face. A strong, multilayer of UVA-blocking mineral sunscreen is 365 day/year must anyway, and this performance of this cream demands it to prevent adverse reactions. Should you use it without appropriate sun protection, irritation will show as small bumps initially in spots over the face which then become red & inflamed. Should this happen, stop using it and switch to ultra gentle, calming formulations of a moisturizing potion in order to shield this delicate condition from outside elements (air, pollution, bacteria entryways), and stop forsaking the strong UVA-blocking sunscreen. A gentle cleanser, too, is a must.

About reviewer (106 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinVery Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

I have used Exuviance range of products for about 6 months now and I must say that I'm satisfied with the result. This particular product, Evening Restorative Complex (a night moisturizer), is my favorite, but I also use the serum, cleansers, sunblock, etc. I pretty much think that it's necessary to use a range of product in one brand so the core ingredients of that brand would work perfectly on your skin (for Exuviance is PHA, the gentle exfoliating agent). It's a great line for 40+ years old skin, price is not bad.

About reviewer (66 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I bought this product on the strength of their other products. I've been using various Neostrata creams, including the 15% Glycolic acid face cream, for a couple of years. I am 60 years old with reasonably good skin, combination with tendency of enlarged pores on my nose and some chin areas. I've been using mostly Neostrata AHA products as with age my skin is slowing down its natural exfoliating process. I know that BHA is recommended to exfoliate inside the pores, but found that applying multiple products in the evening stretches my patience. So I bought this, to try something else and have been using it at night for about 2 weeks now. At first I've noticed very unpleasant smell. It was so bad, I was reluctant to put it on my face! I eventually did it Saturday night - was worried that the cream will do something horrible to my skin and I will have to go to work like that. I am still not very happy with the smell, but I've noticed so many improvements that I can live with that. First of all, the pores on my nose look much tidier. This is a big improvement, something no other product could ever achieve at deeper level (ie not 'cosmetic' like some masks or astringents). I also noticed the overall colouring of my skin. Not sure how to describe this. I have slight discolouration around the mouth - this didn't go away - but my whole face looks more radiant, healthier, smoother. Maybe it is the way the skin reflects light? I don't know. My face certainly feels very smooth to touch in the morning. All in all, I am very happy with this product. The price, for me, is reasonable for the 50ml jar (I have the pump which I believe is new).

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairGrey, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I love exuviance products. I actually really really love the brand's whole perspective on skincare and how they stress aha and bha and gentle chemical exfoliates and tightening. Just one of my favorite brands! This and their eye contour product are both amazing. This is honestly fairly affordable for what it is. I use this as part of my nighttime regimen and it makes such a big difference in my skin. My skin looks so good in the morning. It leaves my skin feeling fresh and plump and healthy it smells good, it has good ingredients, it doesnt irritate my skin, it's lightweight but effective, and it works! I have fairly young skin so I use it for preventative reasons, but I know it works extremely well for mature skin with some wrinkles and skin that is losing collagen. This makes my skin moisturized but tight also!

About reviewer (119 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I first fell in love with Exuviance several years ago when I discovered the amazing Eye Contour cream (see my separate review for that). So I had high hopes for this and it didn't disappoint. It's strangely light blue, which makes no sense to me but once I got past that, I was able to see the strengths of this cream. The great things about it are that it's full of excellent polyhydroxy acids and antioxidants, and it's intensely moisturizing without being greasy or causing acne. i also appreciate that it doesn't cause my rosacea to flare. Normally I can't stand fragrance in my facial skincare products, but I make an exception for this. (It has that delicious French cosmetics smell - even my kids love smelling this stuff.) I took off points for fragrance (even though I love it, I know it's bad for me) and the weird blue dye (seriously, why?). But overall, I love this stuff and recommend it for anyone with dry skin.

About reviewer (504 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

I have always had horrifically sensitive skin and problems with acne - it started when I was 12 and I am now 29. (I put as a kids review to keep my "real name" from showing up!) I go through periods of combination, dry, and oily skin depending on the seasons. I went into my local Ulta store back in December and I was lucky enough to see the NeoStrata (makers of Exuviance) rep in the store. She gave me a consultation and I bought all of her products. I've never done this before but she had me convinced and told me it had a 30 day guarantee. At that point, I felt I had nothing to lose. By the very next day, my skin was improved. It was hydrated, glowing, and looked pretty, even with acne. I stopped using the cream for a few days as the spring approached (usually when my dryness comes back) and almost immediately, the acne came back and the "pretty" quality of my skin disappeared! I used it the next night, and again noticed the same improvement from my first use! Even better, the bottle lasts about six months as it only takes a VERY small amount to cover your whole face. The only con is that it will give your skin a "dewy" appearance... So to some people that may feel too greasy.

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

This is similar to the Ultra Restorative Complex, but a slightly lower level of PHA's (exfoliants), but feels creamier and comes in a jar (believe that has changed). It feels like a nice night cream and has some fragrance, but nothing over-powering. I do find something rubs off later, if I touch my face. I cannot say if it is cream pilling or dead skin. Right now I am using the Ultra Restorative Complex instead, which I got as part of a package deal. It is not as creamy. Both are great. I have very, very dry, somewhat sensitive skin with some redness and a few lines and am in my 50's. I like this product very much, as it’s a gentle exfoliator, which doesn’t irritate my sensitive skin and can be used almost every night on my face and neck and even around my eyes. It does not cause breakouts either. I sometimes add Neostrata Bionic Face Serum on top of this or use the Exuviance Rejuvenating Complex instead, which has pro-retinol, as tolerated to ramp up the effects. The later, can dry me out, this does not. I can say my lines (nothing extreme) are less visible and the redness around my nose is getting better and the faint darks spots are reduced when I use the products. My pores seem smaller as well. That’s it. There is no genie in a bottle, but then I don’t believe there is one over the counter. This is one of the few exfoliators I can tolerate.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinVery Dry, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

8 years ago

I have dry/dehydrated skin - that also breaks out and produces oil, so I can`t use the Exuviance for very dry skin since it containes mineral oil. This does not give me enough moisture at all, so I have to use jojoba oil on top. Tried it alone the first few nights, kinda uncomfortable. Also, it just doesn`t do anything for my skin, really. Doesn`t break me out, but doesn`t give me anything on the plus side either. It is also expensive(83 USD in norway) - and really doesn`t do anything more than the cheap jojoba oil does for my skin(which is also nothing). Will definitly not by again, but I`ll finish it.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

This came as part of the Sampler Collection Introductory Regimen Kit I brought. It had enough product to allow me to try it for a week. I heard excellent things about Exuviance and really wanted to like it, but my first impression about this brand is the strong fragrance. (this one smelled different from the day creme SPF 15 I also tried, but both smells were STRONG, though this one smells a tad better). It is extremely overpowering and smells like old-lady perfume. Definitely not for sensitive skin types. Fragrance aside, I think this moisturizer was moisturizing enough for my dry skin and felt good on my skin. However, I can't get over the smell (even if it dissipates after a while) and therefore will not repurchase.

About reviewer (42 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown