Devon Violets

No Image

4.3

8 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 10/28/2006 7:19:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I can see why certain fragrance lovers would love this classic scent. It has a nice violet note, but for me, the note is smothered in greenness. I cannot do that much green. I need more purple.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.



Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Devon Violets is a pretty, soft violet fragrance. It is sweet, somewhat powdery, and a bit musty on the drydown. I bought a huge bottle (4 oz.) from the Devon website, and while I am not disappointed (as I bought it unsniffed), I don't think it holds a candle to the lush, green, deep loveliness that is Violetta di Parma.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 1/24/2006 1:34:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Truer to real violets, to my nose, than any other violet scent I've tried. Just violet--more of a pure, solo violet than Violetta di Parma or even Violettes de Toulouse. Deep, complex, with a hint of green, neither powdery nor sugary, with no weird synthetic notes (although there is a shampoo-like hint of soap at first). Ladylike if worn lightly (I agree with GlamDiva that it's "classy"), almost hypnotic in large doses. Lasts all day in warm weather; not so long in cold, but it's still a treat in winter, when other violet scents would disappear on my skin. I don't know if violets differ very much from here to there, so for reference, "my" violets are New England violets that grow near pine trees!

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 9/1/2005 8:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

A beautiful, clear violet fragrance that's similar to Borsari's VdP, just more present (but not perfumey). It's really quite beautiful: what more can you say about a true violet fragrance? Lasting power is not so great. This is the only violet scent aside from VdP and Caron's VP that I want to own. I've tried and liked many violets, but never found anything else that was worth a purchase.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 11/16/2005 6:45:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I've been tempted by violet fragrances, because I love Apres l'Ondee. But apparently I only like the note as part of a larger composition. This was just too sweet. It was less sweet and soapy than Violetta di Parma. (I started typing Viletta, interestingly). EDIT: Well, I've learned to like violet, and DV is a very good one. It's simpler than Violetta di Parma (just violet and green notes, no woods), and has bad lasting power on me, so I don't rate it quite as highly.


on 11/16/2005 8:58:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love Devon Violets, partly because it smells sweet and beautiful, and partly because it has helped me pick out violet notes in other fragrances. You see, I don't think I've ever smelled a living violet flower before. I remember giving an African violet plant to an elementary school teacher as a gift over 20 years ago, and that's about the extent of my violet experience. Apparently people just don't grow them in Missouri (where I grew up). Now that I've worn Devon Violets, I can wear other fragrances and recognize the violet. Maybe I should try growing the real thing now that I'm in Seattle, home of the almost-British climate.


on 3/3/2004 3:14:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love Love Love this fragrance. Always have, always will. The only true violet I have ever worn. I can sniff my long empty bottle and be transported back in time. This would last all day, be completely different, non cloying and just all-around wonderful.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 1/30/2004 10:22:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Absolutely classic - probably my first perfume! This scent has captured the true elusive violet and with a tiny sniff I am immediately transported to my carefree summers in Devon and can actually see my aunt's house and garden again, long years past. Ahh, nostalgia. A critical staple for violet lovers.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1424 Reviews
Gabrielle
Gabrielle
17 Reviews
Black Opium
Black Opium
81 Reviews
Angel
Angel
1876 Reviews
Hypnotic Poison
Hypnotic Poison
664 Reviews
Back to Top