3.5

Created with Sketch.
15 reviews
60%
would repurchase
4.5/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

High in alcohol, damaged my skin. One day I will learn to read labels first. But it may work to mix with iT CC because that one is actually a little greasy for me. Or I can probably use it up as long as I don't wear it on consecutive days. Whatever i end up doing with it, I won't be buying this junk again.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinOther

HairOther

EyesOther



3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

I feel I should love this product because of all the positive reviews on youtube but for some reason it didn’t work on my skin and I wanted to make it work! I have combo oily/normal sometimes dry skin texture. Firstly the shade range is crappy and had the hardest time finding the right shade as there were no testers available in the drugstore I purchased the product. So I ended buying two shades that were a little too light for my skin (could also be due to the SPF). Secondly, after applying the darker of the two I was trying to blend it and the foundation looked like it was sitting on my skin instead of blending into it. Thirdly, it did not give full coverage so I would say more sheer to medium. Fourthly, when I set it with powder it made the foundation looked cakey and powdery. Then after a few hours it started separating around the side of my nose and it made my skin itch. This foundation was suppose to be a dupe for the IT Cosmetics CC cream but I think the CC cream applied and blended better, despite the hefty price tag. Also, here in Australia it has SPF 40 instead of 50. Unless they increase the shade range and made it SPF 50 like the rest of the world, it’s a hard pass for me.

About reviewer (63 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBlack, Kinky, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

Shade used: #310 Warm Honey (I am an NC42 in MAC if this helps anybody.) Urban Cover is a foundation of many claims. Full coverage: Total lie, lol. This is a light to medium coverage foundation. I prefer it that way. But it definitely doesn't cover up everything on my face. For example, I still have to use concealer on my zits afterwards. Lightweight: Yep! It feels very weightless on my face. SPF50: It does indeed have SP50 in it. But cosmetics don't protect you from the sun the way a proper suncream does- they are spread quite thinly across your face and don't cover every area. Not great sun protection but better than nothing. Anti-Pollution: I still don't understand what this means, and whether it is waffle or not. But the ad campaigns I have seen seem to assume I don't really care exactly what it means and will just accept the claim. Nobody else seems to know what it means either. Attempts to market the foundation as revolutionary aside, I quite like it. It has a very fresh, dewy finish (though I have combo skin and need a quick forehead powder to avoid being too shiny). It has a solid shade range but even as somebody with a warm undertone, my shade looked... quite orange on application. Less so once I let it set and dry, however. I would recommend it, overall, but I'm sure there's closer to perfection out there, and all the claims are nothing to get too excited about.

About reviewer (32 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBlack, Curly, Coarse

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

I was excited to try this product, it's ok for everyday use not for special occasions. This foundation is NOT full coverage. It lightly covered my light hyperpigmentation and acne scars. They were visible but better. It made my eyes watery and irritated so keep away from the eye area. I wore it about 6 hours and was still on. My skin did look better but not perfect. Honestly getting sick of Maybelline's false claims and lower quality products.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

Great product for me! Bought this as a dupe/cheaper alternative to IT Cosmetics CC+ SPF 50, which also works for me.This maybelline one is not as full coverage as IT Cosmetics, but I could build it up to a nice natural medium by applying it with a wet sponge and doing a patting/daping motion.For me personally the shade options for this maybelline product are great too - the lightest shades are actually light enough for my very pale compexion. Also I found the wear on this product to be good. I didn't use a primer under but set it with setting powder and an alcohol free setting spray and it lasted well for a few hours (just wore off around the nose - which happens to be with every foundation lol - that is what touch-up foundation powder is for).

About reviewer (39 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

I bought this on a whim right before the start of summer, right after seeing a review of it by Ruth Crilly. I almost never buy drug store foundtations for the only reason that I can't test it. This one had a few testers available in the darker shades so I tested as best as I could and was surprised it was a good fit. I wear Cadiz in NARS Sheer Glow and Cool Golden in Bobbi Brown, Toffee ended up being my shade. This goes on well to my combination skin and you really don't need much.I tend to buff my foundations in a lot so that it becomes one with my skin. Staying power is good and it does not change color. My only issue is that it's very flat, I used Laura Mercier radiant bronze primer and that does bring life to it, but this is where you see it's not high end. That said, I plan on using this until it finishes so already that says something. EDITED to say that I would re-purchase this. You need to use the slightest amount of this to get the perfect finish. It wears well and your skin looks like skin.

About reviewer (46 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBlack


3.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

so shiny and slick & it was only hours before it became this way. Tried nude beige and buff beige and neither were a great match. Foundation goes on lighter than what shows in the tube so hard to pick colors. Buff beige was decidely orange in tube but wasn't that orange on my skin. Loved the needle nose tube. Perfect application too. Just do not like finish.

About reviewer (1595 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

SHADE: natural beige SKIN TYPE: normal to oily PROS - lightweight - blends like a dream - medium to full coverage CONS - scent COMMENTS: Maybe it’s my primer or how I set my makeup, but for this to stay intact and barely get oily in 100 degree weather? I was not expecting this at all. It starts off looking quite dewy, so I didn’t have much hope for it. This stuff stayed put after blotting several times throughout the day and sweating. Mind you, I’m oily in the summer too. It held up better than my matte foundations. Oh, the blending! It felt so much like applying L’Oréal’s Fresh Wear. So effortless and lightweight with a beautiful finish. These drugstore brands have improved so much. Will repurchase.

About reviewer (556 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Olive, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

I picked this foundation up mainly because of the SPF50 in it- I am lazy with my sunscreen application (aka I never apply it... I know, I'm sorry) so if I can kill two birds with one stone, I'm all in. Plus I've had previous luck with Maybelline foundations, the matte+poreless fit me is a HG of mine. The finish of this foundation is slightly more glowy and dewy than that of the matte+poreless. It has a very distinct suncreen smell but I personally don't mind it as it fondly reminds me of sunny beach weather. I LOVE squeezy tube packaging and this foundation has the perfect consistency for it, not too runny and not too thick. This foundation is super buildable in coverage and looks great once it sets, very skin-like and natural whilst still having plenty coverage. I dot around my face directly and blend out with a dense brush. I found that my sponge soaked up too much product. I have oily skin and this *does not* make me look like a greasy mess by the end of the day. Also due to the sunscreen not being titanium dioxide/zinc oxide, flashback is not something you have to worry about with this foundation. Tried and true, looks really nice in flash photography.

About reviewer (52 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Olive, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

My HG is Revlon ColorStay and have used it for decades, but I like to try other products as well. I'm not a fan of It Cosmetics CC cream, it just didn't work for me. The product is nice, but after a few hours it would wear off and I'm a greasy mess. I saw this was similar so I thought I'd give it a shot. Color selection isn't huge here, and I'm tough to match at my age. I'm 51 with too many decades of Southern California sun damage on my chest, so it's constantly red and appears sunburned (it's not, use sunscreen!). The best I can do is to warm up my face and add bronzer. I'm also of Celtic descent, so this throws me into the light-medium range. In winter I can get away with classic ivory in most Maybelle formulas, but not summer. I opted for Natural Beige. Again, it's not a good match because of sun damage but it's not awful. I applied a small dab to the back of my hand and just applied with my fingers, no sponge or brush. A little goes a long way with this foundation and it blended beautifully streak free. Solid medium coverage, even better than my Revlon. It set quickly and didn't feel tacky. I still dusted with Coty AirSpun powder and it looked good. Added a quick swipe of bronzer and blush, and used a banana powder for highlight instead of my usual shimmer just because this is a test run. I probably could have skipped the powder but I wear glasses and it's not really an option or my frames stick to my nose. No primer, no moisturizer for this test run. It is matte. Not a good look at 51, so i set with a dewy finish setting spray. That helped add some glow. I don't feel product on my face overall, but it does have that warmth that a typical foundation has, but one I don't experience with ColorStay. It's not bad though. It seems to be sitting on my skin well, it didn't emphasize any large pores for me, but actually set in nicely in my problem areas. I thought I'd give this a go since I like simple and quick products for summer, without having to have layers of stuff on my face. This fits that bill. How it performs for a full day at work or in a Los Angeles heatwave remains to be seen, and I'll update then. But first impression is this is a nice affordable and less greasy alternative to It Cosmetics CC cream. I'd like to see Maybelline try a glowy version of this like It's other cc cream for those of us that don't want a full matte foundation. And with a little of this going a long way, it's a great value for the price. I think I paid $11 at Walmart. **Update** it didn't perform well on July 4th party, but it wasn't awful. Just wore off. Today was back to work, so I prepped with Nutrogena's Hydro Boost moisturizer and no primer. Applied a small dab on my hand and applied with a damp sponge. It applies evenly and incredibly easy with a perfect finish. Added a bit of concealer and set with powder. Set all of that with Ulta Dewy finish setting spray. I worked for six hours at my office, it was still wearing nicely and zero shine. It did start to settle in the crater of frown lines between my brows, but it wasn't the greasy mess I've experienced with other products (I'm looking at you, It Cosmetics). Came home, napped for an hour, then ran errands. Survived a 7.1 quake, and it's still on now at 11 pm. I'm really enjoying this foundation. Performs as well as my Revlon and comparable price point.

About reviewer (30 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel