4.3

Created with Sketch.
16 reviews
56%
would repurchase
4.4/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 months ago

I bought the two mini trios to try Pat's formula and I'm glad I did. Partly because I rately get to use up an entire lipstick and partly because I got the chance to test different colors since they're not sold in my country. Elson is a beautiful deep cool statement red Obsessed is a hot orangey red Full Panic is the prettiest fuchsia pink 1995 is a light nude pink with maybe a hit of gray Omi is a medium brownish pink Flesh 3 is a reddish brown that I surprisingly like a lot I'm impressed that despite not being colors I'd personally choose thay have something really unique in undertones and pigmentation is rather extreme. They don't feel heavy on the lips and a little goes a long way. They last all day too despite some transfer occurring. My minor critique - apart from price and availability - is that because of all this pigment they might gather on the lines of the lips. I'm happy with my purchase but probably won't need the full size bullets anytime soon.

About reviewer (951 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Curly, Medium

EyesGreen



4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

It ia definitely light weight and some what lasting but it is still too dry for humid Singapore. Prety strange isn't it. I bought Candy Flip and my strong pink lips still cannot make it look pink. Its more coral than pink. Overall ita builky in packaging. I may try the luxe version but too many dark tones.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I bought the LUST: Mini MatteTrance™ Lipstick Trio in Skin Show, which is a set of three mini lipsticks in the shades Omi, 1995, and Flesh 3. I think $38 is a bit too much to spend for one lipstick but I think paying $25 for a set of minis is more my speed, as I rarely finish up lipsticks anyway. I'm happy to report that I genuinely love all of the lipsticks and that if I had a higher salary I would probably splurge on more colors. My Asian skin tone is medium to tan with a golden undertone (NC30-35) and I have full lips that show lines if I don't use lip balm or drink enough water throughout the day. There's not a single bad color on me in this set. Descriptions below: 1995 is THE perfect pink nude on me, a color I've been trying to nail but never quite accomplished with my golden undertones. Omi is a dusty pink rose, a bit dark for everyday wear, but still very stunning - if you like NARS Audacious Anita, this one is a pretty close dupe. Flesh 3 is a dark red-brown color that doesn't have (to my untrained eyes) any berry or purple undertones. I find it a little gothy on me but in a good way. Like high fashion campaign, grungy eyeliner, dark lipstick vibes. My boyfriend thinks this shade really complements me as I wear thick glasses which causes my eyes to recede somewhat and the vibrancy is neutralized by bringing my lips to prominence. BTW if you are looking for a lip liner to match this shade, NYX Cabaret is a dead on match. The formula is powdery and to me has no moisture at all. If I don't prep my lips correctly and put on the lipstick with nothing underneath, the formula will suck up a lot of moisture from my lips and it won't look very nice. Conversely, if you put lip balm on and immediately swipe on this lipstick too quickly it'll smear and it won't last. So the trick is before makeup application, put on a solid lip balm first, let it sink in and do its magic, and then put this lipstick on. It's a bit high maintenance but I find its completely worth it because the colors are absolutely stunning and it WILL last a long time if you do proper prep. It's pigmented, matte, and true to color... It's not for everyone but lipstick aficionados will appreciate the formula for what it is. The lipstick packaging is really cute for a mini; I think the lips on the bullet make me feel more glam when I apply it. I don't really like the sequins in the bag very much but I think that it reflects Pat McGrath's aesthetic - luxurious and opulent! All in all, I'm VERY glad I had the opportunity to try this lipstick set because it really is a fantastic formula at an incredible price point. If I made more money I would totally buy more shades. :-)

About reviewer (130 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Pat McGrath's creative is fantastic--the colors are exactly what I want, the MatteTrance formula is excellent and while a bit drying, goes with the territory for a true, richly pigmented matte formula. The real problem is quality control. My first tube had a weird film on it. When it was replaced by Sephora, the second tube broke off on the second use. I just ordered some of the minis from Sephora and again, it broke off and ended up on the floor. I would love to support the brand but for a lipstick that costs $38, would not repurchase until they get it together.

About reviewer (72 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

What would you expect from Pat McGrath? She's practically beauty royalty, right up there with the craft of Kabuki, Egyptian eyeliner and Kevyn Aucoin. I've read that's she's a perfectionist but also very practical.Considering her reputation and how long she's been in the industry, she wouldn't put her name to a product if it wasn't going to be glorious and this certainly is. To this woman and her clientele nude isn't just nude and red isn't flat. Her company's focus isn't just eyeshadow and trends like many of her contemporaries choose to do. Lips are just as important if not the ultimate weapon of seduction itself. I consider lipstick a defining and impactful tool of female beauty. The right one is earth shattering. Ms. McGrath's goal with her lipstick is to reinterpret what she feels are the perfect lipstick colors. So don't expect novelty, expect quality and dimmension. The formula of this is conditioning and just great. Like a good oil painting stick. No one should feel left out here, unless you're a makeup newbie, as these could prove too rich. I took my time testing these lovelies, as I seldom shell out for HE makeup. I'm not a makeup artist, I rather spend my money on experiences, and honestly I'm not impressed by expensive beauty for its own sake unless it works. Without further ado, my review of some shades... FLESH 3: A deep rosey, maroon brown. I say it's the most beautiful brown for neutral toned women, particularly dark autumns. It's romantic, classy, but not boring. If you love bold lips like I do and want something more "natural" without losing face, this is a real winner. ELSON 2: I chose this as an experimental shade not for complexion complement. It's a bright orange red. NYX Amsterdam is a perfect dupe, though the NYX formula is sheerer and not as luxurious as this. Too warm for me but it would be glorious on Springs and Autumn's as a statement red lip. FORBIDDEN LOVE:A shade of classic, French inspired red. By that I mean a bit blue, but more pink and red. As such, the shade makes a statement while bringing out a fresh pink glow to the skin. NYX Monte Carlo is a perfect dupe. My favorite shade of red. VENDETTA: A deep, sexy burgundy red. Lush, ripe and sweet all at the same time. NYX Cherry Skies is a great dupe. ELSON: This is the red to end all reds. I haven't found a dupe. Actually, Kiss's Matte Lipstick (black casing) in Kiss Red is spot on, but what makes ELSON fierce is the formula of the lipstick. The Kiss one, though beautiful, ends up "flat". I have a billion red lipsticks, after all it is my signature look, but ELSON took the spirit and surprise that makes red lips so special all for itself. It's like a red ribbon on a gift. It tickles your tummy, pulls at your heart strings, and fills you with giddy exitement. This would look resplendent on everyone, truthfully. This is the red you wear when you want people to notice. Alexis Colby would have worn it on Dynasty. This is what you wear when you want to leave everyone breathless and inspire a small stroke. No one will forget or forgive you for being so incredible, except your bank account and Mama when you catch the billionaire du jour. McMENAMY: Y'all ever had sex so good you'd sell your soul to the devil for a repeat performance? Let someone string you along like a harp and find he'd hit your notes just right? Where your orgasms were as epic as category 5 hurricane or high magnitude earthquake or losing oxygen on Everest or witnessing a Voodoo "exorcism" on the local hussy, bloody chicken and all? Or do you remember the feeling you had when Violet Chacki came out in the futuristic blue gown for a crowning ceremony and made Bob the queen staggeringly irrelevant? Or Lady Olenna's speech to Jaime Lannister just before her death? Well if those feelings were a color, it would be this I think. It's browned, burgundy plum. The color of an old fine Port wine. This is what Diahann Carroll should have worn in Dynasty to counteract Alexis. Beautiful on everyone I think but on the money if you're dark. Again, the formula makes it lethally sexy. It looks alive and a bit ominous. On the fair it reminds me of Michelle Williams' Louis Vuitton campaign. I will be honest here, I already had a lipstick with this color before purchasing this, Makeup Academy's Damsen.This makes me look like the Twilight vampire version of myself: It makes my contrasting darkness perfection. It brings out a garnet like quality to my eyes and makes them look exotic. I look and feel powerfuI. My man eating color ;). If you don't fear color, love your lips, and are willing to splurge, try these. Just pick one I think. One reminiscing your favorite, preferably your signature.These are pretty pigmented but they're easy to work with. Fingers to mold the pigments to your lip contour and if you really want to amp it up, neutralize your natural lip color with concealer before applying. Also, amazing as cream blush! Even the packaging is chic. It reminds me of the cheekiness of Lulu Guinness' designs.Highly recommend these. I'll only use these on special occasions, way too $$. I ain't rich or have a sugar daddy sadly lol. With my old Estee Lauder compact and this, I feel like I've made it big. If only for one night sometimes.

About reviewer (198 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Medium Brown, Neutral

HairBrown, Kinky, Coarse

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Matte Trance lipstick is probably the best matte lipstick out there. The formula feels great on the lips, the color layers well and is long wearing for a lipstick. My first lipstick was Vendetta and it is a very beautiful dark red. From that, my collection now includes the shades in her holiday collection. The nudes are beautiful as well as the pinks. Again, I do recommend the use of a lip liner and an exfoliated lip because it will enhance flakes on the lips, but I found that the the formula still glides on the lips. Another thing I love about this lipstick is the packaging it comes in. It is heavy, magnetic and the lips are super cute. Overall, this was a good purchase for me and I highly recommend this lipstick.

About reviewer (67 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Incredibly pigmented, too much so. I love a pigmented l/s but I just couldn't get a smooth finish using these. I even tried applying and then blotting off to achieve a stain, which often works with some lipsticks, but even that didn't do much for me. The packaging is really fun and luxe though.

About reviewer (137 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Very glad to lay my hands on them. Been hearing all the praises and beauties let me tell u that the lipstick is actually ace! The packaging is extremely pretty and the color pay off is brilliant. I have the shades “modern woman” and “flesh 3”. The texture of the lipstick on my lips was not matte matte but velvet matte and m sure this is the desired finish. One coat delivers intense coverage. The shades are so lovely nd m sure deres one “go to” color for every one!

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Although you don't need every single shade from this range, I am convinced there is at least one lipstick here for everyone. Pat has worked with so many brands before, you can tell she's mastered her formulas, because these matte lipsticks are exactly what they claim to be: pigmented, long-lasting, user-friendly, lightweight, opaque. Some shades are a touch drier than others, but if you love a traditional bullet-lipstick, these are totally up your alley. I only bought her bright red shades, because these are the colours I wear often. Elson must be my number one favourite; you can see swatches and other product details in a separate review here (http://www.partyparrotblog.com/single-post/2018/01/07/Worlds-Best-Matte-Lipsticks-Feat-Pat-McGrath) but if you were looking for ONE - this is it. It is going to look perfect on every single person.

About reviewer (553 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I tried the deep burgundy shade. It changed color on me in an uneven way...parts of my lip were bright red after not even an hour. It didn't wear very well and was patchy and drying. It looked like a Revlon matte lipstick I remember trying from back in the day (80s or 90s) when they started with the whole Colorstay thing. At the same time, I found it smearing off everywhere including on my face and on my teeth. I hate to be the sole dissenter here because I know she has a following, but I just didnt like this at all. I wouldn't like it at any price, but at $38 it's a definite no way for me.

About reviewer (209 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOther, Tan, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown