5.0

Created with Sketch.
8 reviews
100%
would repurchase
4.6/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

I have tried a lot of brush cleaning products and methods, from home made & premixed sprays to soaps (but not any specialty soap like beauty blender solid) and this cleans a brush faster and more thoroughly than them all. But #@%$ is it $$$ - I got the set shown above from beautylish and it didn’t break the bank but is a splurge enough that I won’t use it all the time. I plan to use it to quick clean a few of my favorite brushes and will use other methods to clean as needed. And yes - it smells like orange, but it is pleasant and dissipates quickly. The jar is nice, I put enough in there to cover the plastic screen and then it’s dip, swirl, and wipe. The spray bottle is handy for spot cleaning big brushes because I have a few powder brushes that can soak up 1-2 ounces of liquid and dipping them dry will use up the spirit too fast.

About reviewer (315 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue



5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Huge rave on this. Wow!! I am so glad I bought this. It is so so quick and brushes come out really clean. I never want to be without it. It is gentle on the brush and yet the brush come out amazingly clean. I love the jar that comes with it. It makes it so you don’t dip in in too far. Great idea and great product. I bought mine at beautylish.com. They always give great service. Did I mention that it’s a great price too.

About reviewer (263 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

Goodness me! This stuff is ridiculously good. I soaked my foundation brush in the remnants of my MAC brush cleaner. Wiped it off. Brush still discoloured, but I'm used to that. Opened my new purchase of Parian Spirit and poured a little into the bottom of a glass. Dunked the same foundation brush in just to see if it made a difference. The spirit instantly turned foundation-y. Left it a minute, took it out, rinsed it and voila! Just like a new brush. And it smells like an orange orchard in my bathroom. I am actually gobsmacked at how well this worked with zero effort.

About reviewer (24 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Medium

HairBrown

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Cleans and dries makeup brushes within minutes. Best. Ever.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Tan

HairBlack

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This is at the top of my makeup hall of fame list. The best brush cleaner I have ever used, and I clean my brushes frequently. I order the large bottle through Amazon and put into a smaller mist/spray bottle. Come brush cleaning time, I spray the end of the brush and wipe on a microfiber cloth. Dries almost immediately, smells great (orange), and prevents the problems that can accompany wet cleansing. Switching makeup colors is quick and easy. I absolutely love it. Cinema Secrets is also good, but this is my favorite.

About reviewer (166 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Parian Spirit Brush Cleaner works fast. It has a pleasant citrus scent and brushes dry quickly afterward, which makes this solvent a backstage favorite. It's suitable for both synthetic and natural hair brushes. Parian Spirit comes in large bottles and small travel spray bottles, and you can even buy Parian Spirit wipes. Spray bottles are great for misting brushes and wiping them on a towel until the makeup is gone. The brush will be ready to use again right away. This is a relief when you suddenly realize you've already used all of your crease brushes but you need a fresh one for a different shade of powder shadow. However, Parian Spirit can dissolve glue, so I don't soak my brushes in it. While it's handy to have something that gets rid of eyelash adhesive, you don't want anything to compromise the glue inside the ferrule of the brush. So when misting the brush isn't sufficient to clean it, I dip the bristles into a small amount of Parian Spirit in a shallow container and swish it to dislodge dried foundation from bristles, and blot with a microfiber towel. (Some people rinse with a little water and some don't. It's up to you.) Once the brush is clean, I hang it upside down to dry in a Benjabelle Brush Tree, which can be disassembled and folded flat for travel. Drying the brushes upside down helps keep fluid out of the ferrules, too. I recently had a travel spray of Cinema Secrets Brush Cleaner that had a frustratingly stubborn pump. I love that brush cleaner, too, but the pump was leaky and kept getting stuck, and it was my refillable four-ounce spray bottle of Parian Spirit that saved the day. They must have used a better quality bottle. I was first introduced to Parian Spirit when I was studying theater and it's something I highly recommend. I've bought it multiple times over the years. I've bought gallons of my beloved Cinema Secrets Brush Cleaner as well, but it has a blue tint that can show up on white goat hair brushes, so I always have to be extra careful with it. Parian Spirit is colorless and won't leave visible residue on white bristles. I used to get this from stores that specialized in theater supplies and professional makeup but Beautylish sells a handy introductory kit for $23 that includes an eight-ounce bottle of Parian Spirit as well as a two-ounce spray and a jar with a plastic mesh liner. They also sell the Parian Spirit wipes in a set of twenty-four individual packets for $17. The wipes are great if you want to take some brush cleaner with you on a trip. INGREDIENTS: Isoparaffinic, Hydrocarbon, D-limonene, Ethanol

About reviewer (827 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This, is it. The search for a good brush cleaner is over. I've been using Mac, Essence and Sephora brush cleaners for the past 5 years. I wasn't 100% happy. Last month I bought a little set of Parian Spirit, a large bottle, a small spray bottle and a jar with a sifter. I been using it mostly for spot cleaning and it's just perfect, the cleaning power, the scent (freshly peeled oranges <3, the fact that you can buy it in large quantity and get a much better product than Mac's brush cleaner for half the price) AND brushes are dry immediately after cleaning. If brushes are extremely dirty you pour some liquid into the jar and move them back and forth a couple of times, it gets everything out. Now I don't like to often shampoo my brushes. Its a hassle and ultimately damages them if water comes into the ferule (learned that the hard way). When I do wash them I use baby shampoo and olive oil like most people. It generally gets everything out but I have this one extremely dense foundation brush which even after 5 latherings still had that foundation tint on it. I thought it would be perfect to test the Parian spirit. I sprayed a Kleenex tissue with Parian and wiped the brush clean, amazing...the amount of foundation it removed from the brush that was shampooed 5 times... This stuff is magic!

About reviewer (43 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairRed, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I have used soap, shampoo, MAC brush cleaner, and Clinique brush cleaner for years. Lately I've been using solid beauty blender bar soap. And it works fine, they all do. It is a it labor intensive, uses a LOT of water and I have prune hands by the end. I got this and the jar from Beautylish recently. Holy cow this works well and fast. You just put the brush straight in (cleaner in the jar and brush in the jar) and swirl it around, dry off the excess with a towel and you are done. It dissolves stuff out of your brushes so fast and easy including foundation and eyeliner. I did use a lot of product this first time, but I think I will be able to use less product next time as I am more familiar with the product. Bigger brushes seem to soak up a LOT of the product so I'm going to play around with that and see if I can use less. But even using a lot of product, I think it's sooo worth it. Edit: 10/20/16 sooo....I love this for small brushes. It's amazing. But I think you should be careful with ELF and synthetic brushes-I think they must be plastic or something because this literally MELTED the bristles. Also it jacked up my flat top sigma brush-it wasn't flat after I washed it with this and a bunch of bristles fell out (It's never shed a day in its life). I wash my large brushes and super cheap brushes with soap and my smaller brushes with this. It did fine with Real Techniques, MAC, and all sigma but the F80. This stuff is serious business.

About reviewer (541 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Neutral

HairRed, Wavy, Other

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us