4.4

Created with Sketch.
58 reviews
84%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 months ago

I’m a newbie at eyeliner, have tried some over the years but it’s been too hard to get it to look ok so I haven’t used it much. But! This eyeliner is easy to use, looks good and matte! It stays on and doesn’t bleed or anything. Great value! Will definitely buy again. I don’t have anything negative to say.

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue



5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

As someone who wears liquid eyeliner pretty much every day, it's really important that I use an affordable, very black, and very matte liner that is not prone to creasing. I had been a loyal buyer of the Wet n Wild Megaliner Liquid Liner for 3-4 years, but my last three have been...off. I only assume they reformulated them, because those three were far less black then they used to be, the product in the tube dried up more quickly, and they creased more than they used to. Since I love NYX, I gave the Matte Liquid Eyeliner a try. I briefly considered the NYX Epic Ink since I'd heard rave reviews, but decided it against it because I don't normally like liquid liners that come in pens without a jar of liner that it dips into. The Matte Liquid liner comes in a very skinny tube that is completely straight up and down compared to other liners like my old favorite and the Revlon Colorstay. This gives the illusion of having more actual product. The brush handle is quite long and took some getting used to; it is longer than most liner handles I've dealt with, and this can make getting a very thin line somewhat trickier, but is great for getting a flick or cat eye at the end, I've noticed. The brush tip is soft and flexible, with no fraying since I've gotten it. It absorbs a good amount of product and the product does not clump on the bristles like I've noticed with others. The product is VERY black! This is important for me in a liquid liner. It is a pleasing inky black. I would recommend another color, however, if you do not like dramatically black liners. It does dry down pretty quickly compared to most liquid eyeliners, and dries down to a very matte finish. Although it's not waterproof, it does not go anywhere. It does not crease on my very oily lids, which is great! However, this does make it harder to correct mistakes during application. Typically a Q-tip soaked in micellar water would suffice for my past eyeliner mistakes, but this one takes more (like a makeup wipe) to remove. I would say with this it's important to focus more on precision during application, which isn't too hard anyway. Removing it with the rest of the makeup is not bad though. I am very happy with this because it gives me very dark and matte eyeliner. I usually do pretty thick liner, normally winged, and this makes it easy to do so. It is slightly hard to do a very thin line but it is definitely possible.

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

The packaging and price? Awesome. The performance? No. And I LOVE Nyx products. However I have dry skin. Because this is a matte formula, I think it would work well for oily skin. But this crumbled and flaked off on me within 3 hours. I love the long cap and thin brush so it’s very easy to make perfect lines. I’m keeping the brush part to use with gel liner, and will try the Epic Ink by Nyx next.

About reviewer (78 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I bought this eyeliner as a cheaper alternative to the ones I had been using and also because I was interested in the brush tip for creating thinner lines than I could do with felt tip pen liners. At $7.49 for a single liner and a tiny brush tip this fit the bill. Initially when I opened the liner the brush was at a slight angle, but it eventually correct itself and straightened out. I found it very easy to use even when it was slightly angled, but straighter is definitely easier. One of the perks of the brush tip is that you can wipe off excess product in the bottle/tube, which gives you a degree of control with a liquid liner that you don't get from other types of liquid eyeliner. However after a few months of use the build up of excess you have taken off can lead to clumps in the tube. The brush tip and the ability to remove excess product helps make thin lines, which is exactly how I like to do my eyeliner. The liner help up very well long term, although it can flake off at the outer corner if you rub it or wear it for an excessive amount of time. I also found that if I touched the inner corner a small amount could come off. Nothing that isn't easily touched up. My biggest complaint is that getting the liner on the lashes at the tips or even in the middle can make them stick together. This makes applying mascara a nightmare, so you have to be careful about that. The cons aside, I really like this eyeliner and it has become my favorite, replacing KVD's tattoo liner and the Stila liner that I used to use every day. I would recommend this as a cheap, effective liner.

About reviewer (329 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I like the formula. It dries super fast and is very black and matte. It also stay in place for HOURS. But it is a bit hard to draw a good cat-eye with it and i usually don't have any issues doing it. I'm a big liquid eyeliner fan, been doing it for 15 years + hence the 4 stars. if you do straight, thin lines, you should be ok :)

About reviewer (330 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Great product :) Matte finish and stayed longer than I expected. I have slightly oily lids and most eyeliners smudges or disappears after several hours

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Love this! Long lasting and rarely smudges.

About reviewer (18 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is a very good formula, long-lasting black matte that goes on opaque. I personally find the brush a bit too flimsy, I prefer a firmer sponge tip. But with a careful hand I can get really nice results, I just need to apply with patience.

About reviewer (269 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is awesome. It's hard to get off. Awesome eyeliner to sleep in n wear the next day.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOther, Medium

HairBlond

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

The NYX matte liner is definitely matte and very black which I like. The brush which is not too flimsy yet not too stiff, makes it easy to do a wing. You can also make a thin or thick line with the brush too. The staying power is awesome. I usually apply my makeup at 10am and don't remove till 11 PM or so and it doesn't fade or smudge. To remove, I use the store version of Neutrogena and it removes it with no problem. The only gripe I have with it is the amount you get for your money. The amount you get isn't anything near other liquid liners like the L'Oreal one. You're paying more $ per ml compared to other liners. But when it's on sale, that issue is totally gone. So I'd recommend you get it when it's on sale and stock up. I would definitely repurchase and already have backups of it.

About reviewer (23 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Olive, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown