Peter Thomas Roth Professional 3% Retinoid Plus

Peter Thomas Roth Professional 3% Retinoid Plus

4.7

6 reviews

100% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Isononyl Isononanoate, Dimethyl Isosorbide, Dimethiconol, Hydroxypinacolone Retinoate, Ceramide AP, Ceramide EOP, Ceramide EOS, Ceramide NS, Ceramide NP, Sodium Hyaluronate, Sodium PCA, Glycerin, Tocopherol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Caprooyl Phytosphingosine, Caprooyl Sphingosine, Hydroxyphenyl Propamidobenzoic Acid, Ethylhexylglycerin, Ethylhexyl Hydroxystearate, Cholesterol, Water, Pentylene Glycol, Butylene Glycol, Behenic Acid, Hydroxystearic Acid, Ceteareth-25, Polysilicone-11, 4-t-Butylcyclohexanol, Cetyl Alcohol, Phenoxyethanol.

Where to Buy



Start your review


Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've used 0.025 Rx Gel, PTR PM Fusion, PC 1%Retinol Booster and The Ordinary 2% - this beats them all hands down! Feels oily going on but within a couple of minutes sinks in and is dry. In only a week of every night use my skin is smoother and pores are refined. The bottle could be improved to a closed system and wow is it expensive (sign up on the PTR website for a discount though) but I am loving it so far.
EDIT 10/10/17 - returned to Sephora. The amount of silicon was just too much for my poor skin to handle, caused bumpiness, clogged pores, etc.

4 of 4 people found this helpful.



on 8/26/2017 9:06:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Absolutely love this product. I received a deluxe sample and had to buy the full size. My face feels super smooth and soft. I have used retinols since my early 20's. I am now 49 and I'm very happy with my skins condition.

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This serum has been life changing for me. If you live near a Sephora that carries it, please go and get yourself a few samples to try it out. Or just order a bottle. It's truly that amazing.

I have a lot of autoimmune issues and my skin has been dry, bumpy, red, and angry for years now, between being sick and all of my medications. I didn't think that I would ever have great skin again or that the dryness and pain would ever go away.

The first time that I used this retinoid serum, it literally got rid of all of the bumps and dryness on my face. After two months of use, I'm not even getting a hint of hormonal acne around my period anymore, and my skin is never dry, and it actually glows. I had beautiful skin when I was in my teens (I'm 29 now) and my skin looks like it did when I was 15 years old. The fine lines that were starting to bother me on my forehead and around my mouth are even gone now. Somehow this has completely fixed every problem that I had with my skin. I did not think that was possible, but it is amazing.

I never thought that I'd really see such good results from a skincare product, but this stuff has saved my skin. Almost everything irritates my skin, but I haven't experienced even a second of irritation with this. It is like splashing a soothing dry oil on my face, and it sinks in immediately and just leaves me glowing. I put my cetaphil moisturizer on top and that's it. I wash my face 3 times a day and use this every time underneath my moisturizer, and it's been a godsend.

This product has been a miracle worker for me and really has helped me to get confidence in my appearance back, and my skin doesn't hurt anymore. That is worth every penny. I hope that more people try this and it works for them, because I never want PTR to stop making it.

11 of 11 people found this helpful.


on 7/6/2017 2:21:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I'm on my second bottle of this and absolutely love it. I have very tough skin that is used to .1% retin-a, but when my insurance changed & I couldn't get it anymore, I decided to try this. It works much better than the rx retin-a. The formula is weightless, doesn't clog pores, and doesn't cause the dryness & tightness I would sometimes experience with the retin-a. My skin looks so great with this it just makes me happy. I wake to refreshed, rested, smooth, even toned skin. (It should be noted that I also use Nia24 every day under sunscreen and that has done wonders for evening skin tone and removing/keeping my melasma at bay so I can't really comment on if this would, by itself, even skin tone.) 4 drops in the palm of my hand, rub hands together, and press into the worse areas first (forehead, around mouth, cheeks, neck, chest), then the rest of my face, right up to the lower lashes. The only place I avoid is eyelids. I use Olay's sleeping mask every morning when I wake up until I take a shower to relieve any tightness or sensitivity I occasionally get. I do stop using it for 5 full days a month...4 days prior to waxing appointment (wax will definitely lift your skin when using this), and 1 full day after and haven't had any problems. This is a very gentle formula and I really believe everyone except the most sensitive/reactive skin types could build up to using it full time. I've thrown out all other night time treatments since the results with this have been so friggin good so the $82 I spend on this every 6 months is totally reasonable. I do wish it came in a closed bottle type system since I'm a klutz and tend to known stuff over, but that is my only (minor) complaint. You can get it at both Sephora & from PTR website.

8 of 8 people found this helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Lovvvvve this retenoid treatment so much. This transformed my skin!

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

[Update 1/13/2016: Still using Rx tretinoin but miss how lovely this stuff is and still can't decide which is better. Continues to be an HG OTC retinoid and one that I continue to highly recommend along with the 1.5% retinol serum from PTR.]

[Update 11/02/2015: I finally graduated to generic Retin A (AKA tretinoin/retinoic acid) almost a month ago. Daily, 0.05%. Two things: 1. my transition was easy peasy — no flaking or irritation (which suggests to me that this product is the real deal in terms of potency and conditioning my skin for Rx) and 2. I honestly can't decide which one works better in terms of overall outcome, but I can definitely state that this is the far more elegant and delightful product to use. Still remains my favorite new skincare product of 2015 :).]

[Update 9/11/2015: I've now been using this stuff for about a month. My skin loves it and it's a genuine pleasure to apply each evening. Despite the high percentage (3%) of the main active, I continue to experience zero irritation or other ill effects.]

I've noticed subtle textural improvements to my skin already, including the smoothing out of a smile line that recently formed on the right side of my face as well as an expression line on my forehead. Overall, my already healthy skin feels softer and even healthier. Yes, the effects are subtle, but at this point, they appear to be genuine and I wish I had thought to take before and after pics! :)]

First, a couple of important heads ups!

1. This is currently exclusive to Sephora. Also, the product information on Sephora's website is incorrect. The product image shows a bottle with a standard dropper; this actually has a bottle with a much fancier dropper and a slightly different label (I uploaded a pic from the PTR website and the bottle style is incorrect but the label is correct). The name of the product is also incorrect. It is listed as Professional 3% Retinol Plus; it should be Professional 3% RETINOID Plus [UPDATE: 9.07.2015; it is now listed correctly as RETINOID Plus], an important distinction as it actually uses a newer retinoid as the main active. However, the list of ingredients is correct (I double-checked against my box). [UPDATE: 9.07.2015: the list of ingredients mysteriously disappeared from the Sephora listing]

2. This contains a very high percentage of the main active, microencapsulated Hydroxypinacolone Retinoate (3%). While it's supposed to be less irritating than retinol and PTR also has a very good track record (IMO) of formulating products to be as comfortable to use/non-irritating as possible, if you have sensitive skin or are not used to using retinoids of any kind, I'd ask Sephora to prepare a sample if you're interested in trying it out before splurging for a full bottle.

With all of that out of the way, this is turning out to be my favorite new skincare product of 2015 so far. I've been using it for close to a week now, which is far too little time to expect significant results (even Rx products purportedly take several months to see real results), so this is just a first impression kinda review and should be considered in that context.

First of all, if you've used the original PTR 1.5% Retinol Fusion PM serum before, the bottle is a nice upgrade. It's still technically a dropper bottle, but more more technically sophisticated. You just press the button at the top once (it will click), which sucks up exactly the right amount of product to cover your face (not a whole tube full, but about 1/4-1/3 of the tube). Pretty nifty!

Texturally, it's easily the most cosmetically elegant serum I've tried. It's neither drying nor greasy, but results in a *just right* feeling on my skin. I think that it would be suitable for any skin type, dry, oily or combo (for the record, my skin is mostly normal, very resistant and not sensitive to much of anything — my main concern is general anti-aging). I use it daily right after my shower and even though it's a serum, I don't feel the need to apply moisturizer afterwords. My skin feels that great with a few drops of this stuff on it!

Having used it for nearly a week, I haven't experienced any irritation, peeling or flakiness (thankfully, no retinoid has ever caused issues but because this has such a high percentage of the main active, I was somewhat concerned initially).

FYI, while many of the ingredients looked a little unfamiliar, I googled each and every one of them to understand what I was putting on my skin and basically, there's a lot of good stuff in there, including skin barrier-repairing ones, soothing ones, vitamin C and E, and things to help the stuff penetrate the skin, among other things. They claim that the formula provides "significant reduction in irritation, stinging, burning, itching, and tightness, thus increasing tolerability to active ingredients" and I'm inclined to believe it.

The one and only drawback for me is that there's not a great deal of information about the main active (same one used in Sunday Riley's Luna Sleeping Oil, BTW), though everything I have learned is promising and very intriguing. Only time will tell how effective this is, but so far I love the stuff. Will update periodically.

57 of 57 people found this helpful.


Back to Top