3.3

Created with Sketch.
26 reviews
50%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 months ago

I’ve used bar shampoos before, though they were olive oil based, and they worked nicely. I think I used the Lush Trichomania bar shampoo several years ago, and remember liking it for the first month or so, then finding it didn’t work so well long term. This honey shampoo bar came in a gift basket I won in a raffle, and though I try to steer away from most skin products with fragrance, I don’t worry so much about using them on my hair. This bar lathered extremely well for a bar shampoo, but left my fine textured hair feeling coated and dry, hard to comb, and as if I was badly in need of deep conditioning. The ingredients are far from natural, as insinuated....like most of the stuff in that store, it’s all strong fragrance and harsh, stripping detergents. The scent wasn’t bad, but after conditioning, I didn’t notice any scent lingering in my hair. I have tried plenty of Lush products...never went back for more of any of them, except the Rose macaroon bubble bar thing, which I bought a few times for a friend who likes them. I really don’t bother to even go in the store anymore, unless one of my teen nieces drags me in. My first big turn off was when we were offered samples, and I saw the sales person getting the samples from the testers, which is extremely disturbing. Such terms as staph infection, e.coli, MRSA, and other assorted antibiotic resistant infections come to mind. I don’t care if it’s free, I am not going to take home, to use on my face and body, product that everyone in the mall that day has dipped their dirty fingers into. Noooo thanks. Anyway, no, I won’t be buying this shampoo bar again. I won’t be buying anything from Lush.

About reviewer (391 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal

HairBlond

EyesBrown



1.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

Makes my hair look dull, and lots of dried out, tangly split ends prone to breakage. Irritated my scalp and I doesn't get hair clean and light like regular shampoo. The bar melts and gets used up super quick so its not cost effective. Contains SLS which I think was wrecking my hair. If you have very fine, wavy/curly hair I would not recommend.

About reviewer (1239 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

So the idea of bottle-less shampoos has been very trendy lately, so when I ran out of shampoo, I was excited to give this a try. For reference, I have straight, untreated, Asian hair that reaches down to my bum. I should also mention, that I do not like silicone heavy hair products that give your hair that slippery feeling. I tend to get dry scalp, so I told the sales associate I needed something that was somewhat moisturizing but not too heavy (since I have straight hair). She recommended this one to me since it is good for sensitive scalps and its made with honey which is a humectant (traps and seals in moisture). It is important to know that this shampoo has SLS so if you have an issue with this ingredient, steer away. So considering it is an SLS shampoo, I knew it would foam up a lot, which it does. About 3 swipes across my head, and it is enough to lather up my whole head of hair. I always do a double wash, the first wash is to rinse off any hair products/dirt, and the second wash to get my actual hair clean. The shampoo does wash out mostly clean, while still leaving a little bit of something so your hair does not feel parched, but it does not reduce volume. I wash my hair once every 3 days or so, and by the third day, the residue starts to become noticeable and a bit heavy. With continued use, I do notice that I do still get some flaky scalp, so I just switch to my flaky-scalp shampoo. I always use conditioner (because of the length it is a MUST)(I am using the purple conditioner from LUSH) so I can't say if this shampoo is moisturizing enough on its own. The SA warned me to store it upright, and to keep it away from water when not in use. It is a very soft soap, and melts quite easily. I followed her advice and I have no problems. As with most LUSH products, this shampoo is heavily scented. The scent will fill up the entire room and more. Luckily, once its washed out, the smell does not linger in my hair for too long. I've been using mine almost exclusively for a month and a half now, and it's only been lightly used, so I'm confident this should last me at least another 3 months. I'm satisfied with the results, and I will purchase another one that is more deep-cleaning for the days when this shampoo feels a little too heavy. I would recommend this product. They have many types, they offer samples, and they have a generous return policy (so I've heard).

About reviewer (169 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I bought this bar to try something different, which set me back $16.50. Was offered a tin for it but wasn't really keen on having to spend any extra. It smelled good and was fun to lather in, but when I tried to wash it out. my hair was super tangly and felt rubbery and I ended up pulling a bunch of my hair out with it. Using this bar my hair feels really soft the first day (but takes longer to style), but after that the ends get really dried out and it looks dull. I wanted to like this but it was a rip off. The bar only lasted me about 5 washes before it crumbled into nothing. I had it sitting with my soap bar which was fine, but for some reason this shampoo bar wasn't so maybe it would have been better in a tin but who knows. And although it does smell good, the scent never stayed in my hair when most shampoos usually would a little better. Wouldn't really recommend this to anyone, I think there are so many other products out there which are kinder to your hair, cheaper, and just more efficient.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This smells like honey, vanilla and toffee goodness - probably one of the best scents I’ve ever smelled in my life! I have concerns that this shampoo is mostly SLS - how can that be good for hair? I used it this shampoo a few times (it was a sample) and didn’t notice drying effects, though. What I did notice is that my hair was bouncy, perfectly clean, and smelled amazing.

About reviewer (271 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair, Neutral

HairRed, Straight, Medium

EyesHazel


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

Bought this for travel and while I do love the portability and the gorgeous smell, it's not a solid shampoo I would rush out and repurchase, The honey content means this metls VERY quickly in hot temperatures (in my case the Mexican heat). It lathers well but does contain SLS which may be a con for some; I personally found it made my fine hair fall flat and get greasy again quite fast. It does double duty as a great body wash though (it feels more moisturising than Lush's honey I washed the kids soap, which I hated because it was so stripping). Overall, I still bring this whenever I travel and will use it up, but would buy Lush's Seanik again next time.

About reviewer (96 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I LOVE THIS! Awesome in a travel container (also from Lush at a separate cost). Smells good enough to eat and cleanses the hair thoroughly whilst also moisturising hair lightly enough whilst still needing a but of conditioner. Foams nicely. Thumbs up!

About reviewer (52 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I got this as for travelling so I would eliminate shampoo spillage. I'd say it worked as a run of the mill shampoo, it did the job of cleaning my hair but I don't find it super special. It lathers nicely, smells GREAT but leaves your hair with that stripped feeling so conditioner is a must and I find it fades my hair color faster than most shampoos. Since I mainly bought this for as a travel alternative I would buy it again if it ran out.

About reviewer (86 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Terrible stuff.. I bought this shampoo bar super keen to try it out and wash my hair with natural products (the vibe I got out of the LUSH store) only to randomly check the ingredients once I got home.. FIRST INGREDIENT = Sodium Lauryl Sulfate.. Thus, when jumping into the shower I proceeded with caution and used very little product but since is lathers very well (due to the SLS) I was able to spread the little bit of product, out. Result was that my roots are quite dry, especially considering the LITTLE AMOUNT of product that I used, it is essentially SLS crap and fragrance, nothing new, nothing very natural about it. It smells delicious but it doesn't last anyway. Definitely not worth more than maybe 3$ for a shampoo of that poor quality. Super disappointed :(

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Love the scent. Lathers nice. Too heavy for fine hair. I also had a bad reaction of cystic acne along my jaw and neck. Stopped when I stopped using this. The soap HIWTK is fine. Don't understand why I had a reaction to this...

About reviewer (517 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairSilver, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel