3.5

Created with Sketch.
78 reviews
54%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range
$32.00 on Sephora
Shop Now

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

I got this as a sample and then went and bought the full size primer water. I use this as a setting spray on my over-50 skin. I have combination skin and this does not cause my skin to break out. I definitely notice a difference when I use this to set my powder and my eye shadow. Yes, I use this on my eye area. I close my eyes and give them a quick spritz with this because I notice it keeps the eye shadow from looking crepey on my aging eye area.

About reviewer (3096 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairOther, Straight, Fine

EyesOther



1.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

I got a little bottle as a sample from Sephora a couple of months ago and use it every now and then. I’m about 3/4 through the small bottle. To me, this is just glorified water. I tried this out before makeup, after makeup, both, and I didn’t see any discernible difference every time. Since then, I just use it to spray on my RT makeup sponge to dampen it before applying foundation, because it’s easier than going to the bathroom. I found it didn’t prolong my makeup or make application smoother. As to hydration, I can’t comment on it since I don’t have dry skin. I saw literally no change whatsoever in my makeup or skin whenever I use this. I suppose while it didn’t do anything positive, it also didn’t do anything negative. Didn’t break me out, didn’t aggravate my skin, nor did it worsen my makeup in any way. Judging by the other good reviews, it could just be that this primer water just didn’t suit my skin type (I have oily, sometimes dehydrated skin prone to acne, and though I wear an oil-controlling primer with some highlighter and bronzer every day, I only wear sheer to medium coverage foundation on the weekends). So I suppose if you have/do any of the above, I wouldn’t recommend the primer water for you.

About reviewer (121 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Oily, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBlack


3.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

I used this solely as a setting spray and I think that's why it kind of fell flat for me. It did a decent job of "melting down" my powder products but did nothing for the longevity of my makeup. It leaves a dewy finish and has a good spray mechanism -- mist, not spritz -- but there ends my praise for it. Glad I got this at a hefty discount.

About reviewer (161 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairRed, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

This is fine, but I definitely don't think it's worth the price. Granted, I haven't tried using it as a "primer" because that seems ridiculous to me. How is water in spray form supposed to prime your skin? Maybe if it was at least hydrating for dry girls, or oil absorbing for oily girls, or magically filled in your pores for the large pore ladies.... But this is pretty much just water, with a couple weird ingredients thrown in. I bought it to use as a finishing spray, and that's how I use it. And it's fine. But no more than any other cheaper spray I've ever used. And I much prefer any of the Pixi mists over this, because they actually feel nice and hydrating on the skin, have good ingredients, and leave a glow to the skin. This reminds me almost exactly of the Vichy or Avene "water in a can" sprays...except those are spray cans and nice to hose yourself down with on a hot summer day, and this is just misting yourself with very expensive water. I would buy it again if it were cheap...but it isn't

About reviewer (322 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrown

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I haven't tried this as a traditional primer, instead use it as a setting spray. I still have oily skin at my age along with fine lines and wrinkles and pores and broken capillaries - but I don't like to look "made up." Powder foundations look chalky and dry and after trying what seems like every liquid foundation in the universe, I haven't found one compatible with my skin. Enter Primer Water. After applying my powder foundation and everything but mascara, I spritz this on and my chalky powder foundation absolutely transforms. I've tried other setting sprays, simple sprayed on water and they either feel like shellac or cause my foundation to "separate" for lack of a better word. This stuff is magic and works just as well following a mid-day blotting paper touch up. My skin looks dewy and plump and my foundation looks like skin. As with all of Smashbox, it's a bit spendy, but I will not stray unless a legit dupe comes along.

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is a very light primer. But I prefer a lotion based or gel based one that does the job better. This primer doesn’t hold makeup very well, if I perspire a little around the nose and use a tissue to lightly absorb, the foundation moves. Also I hate waiting for the primer to dry on my face. It’s expensive but lasts you very Long. Won’t repurchase

About reviewer (209 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Relaxed, Medium

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

This works great for dry sensitive skin! I tried this on a whim and I love it! I have almost finished a full size bottle - it cost 37 dollars but it has lasted 6mths with daily use and I spritz at least 4 or 5 pumps on my face each time. Plus I still have about 2 oz. Left in the bottle. So I would say it's a good value. I have used it over stick foundation, powder foundation, and tinted moisturizers and it works great over all of them. Sometimes I walk in the bathroom and just spritz some on my face to refresh my makeup throughout the day. I do of course close my eyes while spraying but it has not caused any eye or under eye irritation. I have very sensitive skin and eyes and have had zero reaction to this product. It really seals my makeup in place and helps it stay all day. When using a powder foundation (which I rarely ever do!) I use my dry beauty blender to press this spray into my skin helping peach fuzz lay flat and not hold powder. I will definitely continue using this primer spray. I have dry, sensitive, aging skin for reference.

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I honestly didn’t think I’d like this but I do. It’s light and still effective. The only other Smashbox primer I’ve liked so far is the Primerizer, all of the other primers they have do not suit my skin at all. The primer water feels light and refreshing and leaves a soft finish on the skin, not sticky or tacky which I personally do not enjoy. Is it better than Too Faced HangoveRX 3-in-1 Replenishing Primer & Setting Spray? No, but it’s not any less effective either, and it can also be used to refresh or set makeup in addition to priming the skin. Both products are nearly identical in price but differ in fragrance. I didn’t notice a scent with the Smashbox primer however TF’s version does smell like coconut. I prefer both of these to say a MAC Fix+ type product, but that’s just a personal preference.

About reviewer (951 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Like other reviewers, I used this more as a setting spray than a primer. It's not the "hairspray for your face" kind of spray but just something to set powder, bring everything together, etc. (I viewed it like Mac Fix+). It's fine for that purpose. I don't really like the scent when first applied but it dissipates quickly. The mist is good -- not too strong and not too fine that you have to spray a ton. The price is the main killer for me -- $32 (over $8/oz.) is not worth it for a product I don't love!

About reviewer (90 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I wanted to make my make up last as I'm not one to do frequent touch ups. However with all the layers of skincare and sunscreen I figured the last thing I needed on my skin was a layer of primer. So I was intrigued when I saw this water based spray, more so as I live in the humid tropics. Unfortunately it did nothing for me as a primer. It was better as a setting spray but even then I get much better results with UD's All Nighter. And I wanted a pick me up I preferred using Caudalie's Beauty Elixir. The only plus point for me was that as it's a water based spray it will last ages.

About reviewer (235 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Curly, Coarse

EyesBrown





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.